Sweet Tots & Hot Sauce


It’s a match made in heaven isn’t it? A little while ago I discovered the blog Heart, Sole & Cereal and this girl is obsessed with sweet potatoes with eggs and sriracha for breakfast. As we all know I suck at baking a sweet potato. I typically end up eating them hard. So since seeing this blog I have had a hankering for this lovely sweet potato and hot sauce combo. So here are two recipes that combine the two!

Sausage with Kale and Smashed Hot Sweet Potatoes
Ingredients:
1 sausage – I used a Harris Teeter sweet sausage from the butcher, the ingredient list was just meat and spices, brilliant!
1/4 of a giant sweet potato – whatever you want works
Sliced red onion
Bunch of kale, stems removed and town into bite sized pieces
Garlic
Salt
Pepper
Small pat of butter
Franks Red Hot – I used the thick dipping version, feel free to use whatever you want
Process:
I decided to take a panorama picture of the corner of my kitchen to show the multitasking I was pulling off, pretty neat eh? To start bring a small pot of lightly salted water to boil and a small deep saucepan with water to a boil. Add the sausage to the shallow pan and your equally cubed pieces of sweet potato to the small pot. Let these go for about about 5 – 10 minutes. Poke the potatoes and get them to your preferred doneness and roll the sausage over a few times. FYI – I leave the skin on because on love the skin, make your own choice. When your potatoes are close to done and your sausage is looking pretty cooked through – I’d guess at about the 10 minute mark – add onions, a little EVOO, salt, and pepper to a third medium saute pan. Cook onion until they are nice and golden. Take the potatoes out of the pot and put them in a small food processor, quickly add the kale to the water you were boiling the tots in! In the blender add in some hot sauce and a little butter, you can totally omit the butter. Pulse a few times and leave the top on to keep it warm. Now we want to drain the kale and add it to the saute pan with the onions and add in some minced garlic. Dump the water out of the pan for the sausage and put sausage back in to brown it up a bit. Plate it up and enjoy!
photo 1(11) photo 2(11)These potatoes were perfect!! I could not have been happier. An hour or two after dinner I got a hankering for a little dessert. In a small bowl I mixed 1/4 cup of almond flour, a little coconut flour, a dab of coconut oil, maple syrup, sea salt, and unsweetened coconut flakes. Voila! I give you easy-peasy ready-to-eat coconut “cookie dough”. It hit the spot perfectly. photo 3(8)I hung out around the house doing laundry, cleaning, catching up on shows, and blogging last night, until 10pm rolled around and I got ready and headed out for a 10:30pm soccer game. SO LATE!!! Only 4 girls ended up coming to the game so we played with 1 in goal and 3 in the field vs a full roster with subs… It was 4 against 6 or 7, I can’t remember how many they had but there were so many more of them than us! Our indoor league games are made up of 2 25 minutes halves. At half time we were tied 2-2. We all slightly felt like we were going to die and I was cursing myself for running in the afternoon. If you have never played indoor soccer it is basically sprinting. Livestrong.com describes indoor soccer like this “a game that can be described as sprint interval training while chasing a ball” and apparently a 150lb woman can torch 685  calories in an hour. Needless to say I was exhausted! The game ended up with a score of 5-3 I believe. We lost but we definitely out played the other team, their number of people was a huge advantage and in the end won them the game. I finally got home, showered, and to bed just after 12:30am… My alarm went off at 6:00am so I could have a Skype date with one of my BFFs who is currently doing to grad school in Singapore. How cool right? She plans these crazy trips for all her breaks and is just traveling all over, while I talk about my desk job… Once 6:45am rolled around I signed off and headed into the kitchen for some breakfast. I decided to stay with the sweet potato theme and semi recreated my old beloved “Breakfast of Champions” that I lived off of for a good portion of the summer months.

Sweet Tot and Egg Breakfast Towers
Ingredients:
2 slices of a sweet potato
2 eggs
1/2 an avocado
Hot Sauce – I used Franks thick
Process:
Take slices of sweet potato and microwave for 60 seconds. Flip and cook for another 15 seconds. Heat up a saute pan over medium high heat, spray with non stick spray. Cook some over easy eggs seasoned to your taste. I went for the Wildtree Seafood Seasoning again. Slice up half an avocado. Add an egg to each sweet potato wheel, then some avocado, and finally a hefty helping of hot sauce! Swoon – this was soooooo yummy, I also had a banana to round out the meal.
photo 4(7) photo 5(4) photo(4)

Q: What is your go to breakfast?
Q: If you had all the time in the world in the mornings what would you make for breakfast? (This took me all of 5 minutes to make, this is not a lengthy meal!)

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. I have actually never thought of having a sweet potato for breakfast.. probably cause I go more towards sweet in the morning haha but it looks good!

  2. The sweet potato plus egg and avocado combination looks ridiculously good. I just stocked up on sweet potatoes at the market yesterday, sounds like I need to try this!

  3. Ohhhh you meant a recipe…I totally came here thinking I was going to see something else 😉

  4. oh my gosh those breakfast towers look SO good!!

Trackbacks

  1. Slow Run, TSO, More Noms « Food & Fitness
  2. Living Rugged « Food & Fitness
  3. Training Run Dos « Food & Fitness
  4. Super Slumber & Summer Meals « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

