Versatile Vegetables


Last week grocery shopping I bought way too much food. I didn’t take into account the meals I was eating out for birthdays and restaurant week so I ended up freezing a bunch of meat and then was left with a TON of vegetables. I knew they would go bad unless I cooked them so on Sunday I cooked up a huge batch of vegetables and I have been eating them as a side dish / as the main dish / mixing them in with everything. It just goes to show that a little prep work can make week night meals a snap!

For the massive pot of cook ahead vegetables I used: 1 zucchini squash, 1 yellow summer squash, 8oz sliced white mushrooms, 1/2 sweet yellow onion, 1 roma tomato, 1 head of broccoli, and a ton of kale! I cooked it all in EVOO, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. This is my go to spicing in general for cooking. I knew that I would be able to eat the vegetables as is or easily mix them in with something else and change the flavor need be. photo 3(38)The first meal that came out of this glorious vegetable pot was a honey and soy sauce saute. I removed all but one serving size of vegetables from the pan, added in some soy sauce, honey, a little bit of ginger, and some shrimp. I cooked everything until the sauce was well combined and the shrimp nice and pink. I serving in a bowl style dish and topped the whole thing off with some green onion. I cut up the rest of the green onion I had (about 3 stalks) and added it to the cooked vegetable tupperware for the fridge.photo 4(28)Next up for the vegetables was as a side dish with some steak. I explained how to cook steak indoors in this post. I went off that idea but cut the oven time in half (1 min a side) because the steak was very thin. I seasoned the steak with McCormick Montreal Griller spice. I love that stuff, I rarely use it but when I do I truly enjoy it! I topped the steak with a tomato and olive tapenade and went on my merry way. I believe some hot sauce got added to the vegetables once I started eating as well. Everything in better with hot sauce.photo 1(46)The vegetables most recent debut was in breakfast this morning. I thought I’d deviate from the standard eggs, sweet potato, and hot sauce combo. You can only take so many pictures of the same thing. Don’t get me wrong I still love that breakfast, my appetite just wasn’t there for a full egg and potato breakfast. So for this masterpiece I used 3 eggs, some almond milk, a heaping serving of precooked vegetables, some salt, garlic powder, and smoked paprika. I cooked everything in a non stick pan with a little olive oil non stick spray and topped it with some avocado, YUM! And yes, in case you are wondering I did add some hot sauce half way through. I am such a sucker.photo 3(39)In fitness news I lifted weights for the first time today in oh 14 days. I only know that because I put all my work outs on DailyMile.com (be my friend!). My lifting session looked like this:BootyBusterIt was followed by an easy 2.2 mile run and then it was time to hit the showers. The work out & the run had me pushing an hour for lunch and I hustled in the locker room and went from sweaty to office ready in 10 minutes. I was quite proud of myself. Running near my office always poses an issue when it comes to the Thursday speed work outs. I would rather in outside but with cars and lights and all that jazz I know that I will actually have a chance of following the correct pace if I am indoors. I am still battling myself about if I am going to do tomorrows run on a treadmill or outside yet. I also just joined a site called Earndit and when you log your miles via different apps or a Garmin you get these points for free stuff. It’s different than Gym Pact because you don’t do anything with money. I figure I am already working out so I might as well try to get free stuff right? The site won’t let you add treadmill miles (unless you have a food ped, which I don’t) so I’m tempted to try outside. We will see. I am so close to getting some Element Bars that I want to get the points ASAP!!

Week 6: 27.2 Miles

Mon Feb 11 Rest / XT
Rest
Tue Feb 12 Easy Run Dist: 5 Mi @ 8:44 DONE
Wed Feb 13 Easy Run
Dist: 2.2 Mi @ 8:41 & Lower Body Lift DONE
Thu Feb 14 Easy Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm, 3×1600 in 7:58 w/ 800 jogs; Cool
Fri Feb 15 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @ 10:00
Sat Feb 16 Rest / XT
Sun Feb 17 Easy Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:00

Afternoon Questions

Q: When was the last time you lifted? What did you do?
Q: Do you ever find yourself cooking a ton of vegetables to save them from going bad?
Q: If you do pace runs do you do them inside or outside? What is the best way to make sure you hit the right speeds if you are outside?

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 replies

  1. My gym has 4 machines for lifting and no free weights. It’s been a WHILE since I had a nice lift… though I have been doing strength but it could be MUCH better!

  2. Since you are stressing your V’s (versatile vegetables), I will wish you a happy V-Day. Yes, I have made up a bunch of veges so they don’t go bad but, I did it as soup. I am going to try to add puree pumpkin next time to see if it thickens it up. I have no clue if it will but, I like my soup a bit thicker. I did some arm exercises yesterday. I didn’t think I was doing much but, today I have that good sore feeling. Have a nice day and don’t eat too many chocolates.

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

