Valentines Day!


Happy Valentines Day! What are you guys up to? Big plans out on the town or staying in?? We are just going to head to the grocery store together and pick up whatever looks good and make a nice dinner! I have a little surprise up my sleeve for him but it will have to wait until tomorrow to share it! I made sure to eat light today so that I can save room for any chocolate that ends up in my radar later. (*strange fun fact, my appetite lately has been pathetic, this never happens so I’m running with it for now) I know I know I’m supposed to be 100% paleo this month but I cancelled that goal. I’m actually oddly enough feeling myself want to be less restrictive. In my day to day I only cook paleo food and left to my own devices I will stick to paleo. Maybe it’s the whole convenience thing? Being on the go and feeling stressed out about meal options. I don’t know. I don’t think there will be a huge change in my diet but I do see myself mentally being easier on myself. I have found a really good groove where I’m pretty much paleo during the week and then on the weekends I will occasionally have something non paleo if I feel like it. I can’t pin point any specific food that I want I think it’s just the idea of eating a diet that has a name for it. I want to eat the Megan Diet.

The Megan Diet doesn’t include many grains and you want to know why? I just don’t really care for rice and pasta, there are a million other things I’d rather eat. Quinoa? I think that will make an appearance, I like it quite a bit, plus technically it is a seed, but on the Megan Diet it truly doesn’t matter. It will also not have much dairy in it the reason behind that is I’m a quasi lactard. Being around me after consuming dairy is not pleasant for any one. I definitely see brie and dark chocolate in my future, not making a regular appearance by any means but always an option. Beans I can live with or with out, I will probably not bother much with them just because I’d rather eat other things. I like sweet potatoes better than regular so that will stay the same. What else… I think tofu will make an appearance back in my life. I really enjoy getting vegetarian and vegan meals when I’m out and I love all the seitan and tofu options. That’s all I can think of for now, but hey that is my Valentines Day present to me! I just came up with this whole Megan Diet while writing this post so it’s really just as new to me as to you. Moving on…

I had a speed work out on the book today. I did a mile warm up, 3×1600 @ 7:54, w/ 800 jogs @ 8:49, and a mile cool down. The Price is Right got me through that one. I didn’t feel like I was going to die so much of the running but of the staring at my self running and the fact that I felt like the fan above me was blowing hot muggy air instead of cool and refreshing air. I read a post recently on  Hungry Runner Girl that you should be averaging 180 strides a minute so when I was feeling like things were dragging I’d start staring at my feet in the mirror in front of me and counting up to 90 on my right foot and then I would start over again. Totally mindless and definitely got me through what probably could have been a pretty draining work out had I not managed to entertain myself with counting and the telly. I took a few of her other tips of “how to get through a speed work out” and tried to apply them. Just thinking okay only half a mile left, that’s like from the Dunkin Donuts down to the gym door, you got this, you have ran this so much fast, moveeee. By the time I got through talking to myself the interval was over and I was able to go back to a comfy pace, rinse and repeat!

If you follow me on DailyMile you will have already seen me chat about this BUT I think it’s important enough to blast on the ole blog too. I got to the gym at 11:15am changed with lightening speed, ran (50 min), lightening speed stretching (I know I know, bad, but I just didn’t have time) and was in the locker room hopping in the shower at 12:15pm, THEN I showered, dried my hair, tossed on some tinted moisturizer, AND was in the elevator heading back up to my office by… 12:26pm. That’s right folks – from sweaty to office ready in 11 minutes. If there was an award for rock star gym turn around I would get it. My face was still a bit red when I returned to my desk so I put the fan on for a minute and voila! My hair looks better now than it did pre gym! SCORE.

Week 6: 27.2 Miles

Mon Feb 11 Rest / XT
Rest
Tue Feb 12 Easy Run Dist: 5 Mi @ 8:44 DONE
Wed Feb 13 Easy Run
Dist: 2.2 Mi @ 8:41 & Lower Body Lift DONE
Thu Feb 14 Easy Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm, 3×1600 in 7:54 w/ 800 jogs; Cool DONE
Fri Feb 15 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @ 10:00
Sat Feb 16 Rest / XT
Sun Feb 17 Easy Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:00

Oh and last but not least I found an AMAZING picture on Cupcakes n’ Crunches that I had to share with you guys. I laughed out loud, then proceeded to send it to multiple people because it made me smile and EVERYONE deserves to smile.Funny-labs

Afternoon Questions

Q: What are you doing tonight?
Q: What is your turn around time from sweaty to presentable?
Q: Tell me about your eating habits, do you follow a particular diet with a name or do you do your own thing? What is your own thing?

Categories: Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 replies

  1. Figuring out what you want to eat and what you don’t is sometimes hard, but I think you are pretty much on the ball! It’s nice not having to be too restrictive, and I think your plan to be paleo during the week and not on the weekends is GREAT! I know I am dabbling in certain foods right now – trying to figure out what my body likes best and what it doesn’t so its tough sometimes!

    hahahahaha! That dog picture is freaking hilarious. Love that kind of stuff. HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!

    • Happy Valentines Day to you too lovey!!! And yes finding what works for you both mentally and physically takes time I think and realizing you don’t need to “fit” in to anything but you!

  2. Hahaha those dogs. And I love that you’re realizing you don’t need to be 100% paleo. You have to do what works for you and I don’t think fad diets are the way to go. The Megan Diet sounds way better.

    • Agreed. I feel like one of the downfalls of being part of the healthy living community is hearing about all the different kinds of diets you can be eating and feeling like you need to identify. I think Megan = paleo w/ benefits : )

  3. My turn around time can be QUICK because I don’t usually take that long to “get ready.” Tonight I am staying in the my cats!! The man has to work (booo) and lives over an hour away, so we are celebrating this weekend! Have a great dinner!

  4. The Megan diet! Thats awesome way to create your own style of eating! I like it 🙂

  5. Loving your approach to the Megan Diet! We all have foods we love and can’t live without, and others that we’re truly not that crazy about and giving up isn’t a problem. I eat cheese and yogurt daily and can’t live without them, but gluten bread/muffins and other flour products, I don’t miss too much anymore. Love those dogs, I’ve seen it before too funny!

  6. Dave is taking me to Seasons 52 (my favorite restaurant) tonight. We ALWAYS stay in on Valentines Day so I was surprised when he texted me and told me to be ready for dinner out tonight. If we’re being honest, I’m a little disappointed. I was really looking forward to veggie fried quinoa at home in my PJs, but I’m being a good sport and going with a smile on my face. I’m like, the funnest girlfriend ever, right?? haha

    P.S. that picture of the dogs made me laugh out loud AGAIN when I saw it in this post. Never gets old.

  7. There’s definitely nothing wrong with a nice home cooked meal and staying in! My bf is still at work, but we’re probably going to go out to dinner and then also have a quiet night in afterward. It’s tough when holidays fall in the middle of crazy work weeks like this one!

  8. That is some impressive turnaround after the gym! And can’t wait to hear about your surprise 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Last Things Thursday: Valentines Edition « Fitness, Food and Photography
  2. Curry After My Heart « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

