Exhaustion


I don’t really talk about my sleeping habits much because it’s not in the scope of Food & Fitness that I typically try to stay to (puppies count though). Any who  I am a terrible sleeper, I am lucky if I sleep for more than 4 hours with out waking up and then it takes me a while to get back to bed. I have gotten used to it so I am pretty good at functioning on just a little bit of sleep. Well yesterday at work my energy level was at 0 and then when my alarm went off at 6:15 this morning I realized that I would not be able to function unless I kept sleeping. I called in to work and told them I would be staying home and then I slept until 10am. This is HUGE for me. Never ever happens.

So I woke up, made some paleo pancakes with figs.I love how 2 eggs, a banana, and whatever else you want to flavor the pancakes with makes so many pancakes! So delicious! I went with coconut flakes, pumpkin pie spice, and figs for this batch. photo 1I then proceeded out to the porch and continued to sleep on and off until 3pm. Arlington was sitting at a wonderful 55 degrees today so with the sun on me I fell right asleep.photo 4Once I woke up I felt amazing and knew that I needed to get out there and run. I had three miles on the books for today and ended up doing 5. I wore a heart rate monitor for the first time today running and am planning on starting to use it more frequently. There is a ton you can learn about through a heart rate monitor and I plan on utilizing mine from now on! In other news I was featured in a guest post on a friends blog and you should probably check it out. The title is “No Excuses Play Like a Champion“, while you are over there take some time to look around Kayla’s blog. She has some killer work outs and she is currently prego and still kicking ass and taking names. It’s pretty impressive.

Week 6: 27 Miles

Mon Feb 11 Rest / XT
Rest
Tue Feb 12 Easy Run Dist: 5 Mi @ 8:44 DONE
Wed Feb 13 Easy Run
Dist: 2 Mi @ 10:00
Thu Feb 14 Easy Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm, 3×1600 in 7:58 w/ 800 jogs; Cool
Fri Feb 15 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @ 10:00
Sat Feb 16 Rest / XT
 
Sun Feb 17 Easy Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:00

Morning Questions

Q: When is the last time you needed a mental health day?
Q: Where you able to get outside in this incredible weather today?
Q: How many hours a night do you sleep? I normally try to get to bed by 10-12 and I wake up at 6:15. I wake up 3 – 4 times a night though!

Oh I also made a side by side of Sasha as a little puppy and as a big puppy. Feast your eyes on her cuteness!sasha

Categories: Half Marathon Training, Random Musings

20 replies

  1. Omg…stopppp with the puppy! I want a German shepherd bad enough already! 😉 nah keep them coming because I can admire since a baby will be enough to take care of. Bee tee dubs, pancakes look killer! I’m also jealous that you have sun on your bare skin. If Dorothy can click her heels and go to Kansas, why can’t I click my flip flops and go somewhere sunny?! (pinterest steal)

  2. Awe the puppy is so cute! My puppy loves to chew on anything she can get her paws on!

  3. I slept 3 hours last night. That might be a new record for me. I’m someone who always needs 8 hours but that looks like a very productive day. I was LOVING this weather today. Who wouldn’t, when it’s warm enough to tan on your deck? 😉

    • 3 hours! Ugh. Last night I actually tried to pay attention to how often I woke up and it was about every 2 hours if not more frequently, I need to do something about that. I feel good today but I normally end up with a crash and burn day every month or two.

  4. sounds like you had been draining your battery for a while and it caught up with you. I struggle with terrible sleep as well. Hairtrigger insomnia. Have you tried Melatonin? works like a charm for me. I dont like to recommend supplements right off the bat, but normally my sleep is so fragile and this smooths it out pretty well.

  5. I’m so jeeeaaaaloooouuuus that you did some sunbathing! I should have stayed in Arlington!!! Also, way to kick some butt with your run!

  6. SO many things can affect your sleep. Take it for someone who used to be a chronic insomniac for more than 20 years that I have tried it all (temazepan, melatonin, relaxation therapy, psychology… yada yada…), and in the end it boiled down to only a few key things…

    First, rethink your hydration because chances are that you are drinking far less than your body really needs, and if you are in a chronic state of mild dehydration (as unfortunately so many people are), your sleep will get seriously messed up, and avoid drinking anything an hour before bed so you don’t trigger a need to wake in the night.

    Next, look at where your head is at. If you find you are dealing with a brainstorm of thoughts, you may need to teach yourself to let go of the majority of thoughts and allow only the more important thoughts to bubble to the surface. This is where meditation can help. If many of those thoughts are negative, learn to recognise when the negative thoughts are taking up to much of your time and learn to put them aside for a while and find positives to dwell on instead.

    Third is a bizarre yet simple fix. If you are watching TV or sitting at the computer, using a tablet or mobile phone, or anything with a screen that has a predominantly blue or white light just before bed, you are training your brain to fight it’s natural urge to sleep by triggering the suppression of the natural release of melatonin. If this is the case, get into the habit of putting away any of your electronic devices at least an hour or two before bed to give your eyes and your brain a chance to prepare your body for sleep naturally.

    Lastly, deep diaphragmatic breathing for 2-5 minutes just before you go to sleep helps to slow your metabolism down and makes deep lasting sleep easier to achieve… and is also a basis for the meditation I mentioned earlier.

    For me though, the biggest change was in fixing my daily water intake. At the moment, I drink 39ml per Kg of bodyweight, plus an extra 600ml before and after every workout. In the 6 months since I started doing this, I have had a great night’s sleep every night.

    I hope that helps. Love your blog! 🙂

    • Thank you for all the advice!! I am definitely bad about drinking too much water late at night! I also end up screwing around on my phone / computer / watching tv prior to sleeping so I may need to have an earlier “unplug” time and start reading.

  7. Great job recognizing that you needed a day to sleep, relax, and get your energy back. I can’t imagine what it’s like to not sleep very well, I sleep like a rock! I was late this morning because every time my alarm went off I hit snooze and immediately fell back into a sound sleep hahaha

  8. Awwww, Sasha’s so cute! Great job on the workouts this week. That’s a lotta’ miles!

  9. Ahh.. sounds like a perfect day! I wear a heart rate monitor every time I run.. my heart rate has always been pretty high (In the 180’s) and I’m confused by it since I (think?) I have a pretty good cardio fitness level.

    Anyway, I can’t survive with a minute less than 8 hours of sleep. It’s really annoying 😦

  10. Sasha is adorable!!
    And I am so jealous that you can lay out in the sun!!! Wisconsin is the WORST.

  11. gaaahhh – heart melting over Sascha!

    And I used to sleep great, but recently my sleep patterns have been out of whack. It is killing my morning workouts because I’m having such a tough time getting out of bed!

    • Ugh! I hope your sleeping comes back to you! I took melatonin last night and only woke up twice so I was pretty jazzed about that. I don’t think I could go back to AM work outs!

Trackbacks

  1. Super Slumber & Summer Meals « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

