Carb free noodle stir fry?? WHAT?!?!


Yes you can believe it. I did it and it was fabulous. I went a little bit Groupon / Livingsocial / Google Offer crazy last week and was greeted with a massive box of 30, yes 30!!, bags of NoOodles. What is a NoOodle do you ask?

Well let me copy and paste and let you know:

Key Ingredient: Glucomannan Flour

The key ingredient in NoOodle™ is glucomannan flour. Glucomannan is a water-soluble dietary fiber from Asia used to make Shirataki noodles (or NoOodle™). Derived from the roots of the Asian Konjac plant, Glucomannan boasts many health and weight loss benefits.

But Megan, Zero Calories?

As we all know, typical pastas and noodles are made of starch, so they have plenty of calories and carbohydrates. But NoOodle™ Noodles are made from high-fiber glucomannan flour, which derives from the roots of the Asian Konjac Plant. Glucomannan flour is the same key ingredient used to make Japanese noodles, or NoOodle™. Like Japanese noodles, NoOodle™ have zero calories because they are made of glucomannan (soluble dietary fiber) and water, which are both calorie-free ingredients. NoOodle™ Noodles & Pasta are Calorie FreeCarb Free, Gluten Free, Soy Free, Casein Free & High in Fiber! Clearly, NoOodle™ is the healthy alternative.

How cool is it that they are actually addressing their FAQs to me! I’m obviously super popular…

Anyways I have a crap ton of NoOodles right now. Each bag is about 2 – 3 real person servings. I think the package says 5 but come on, zero calories? I’m obviously going to eat half the bag if they actually taste good. For starters the noodles come in a little baggie with some water of sorts in it. Well this water smells awful, you dump the noodles into a strainer and run cold water over them for as long as humanly possible. Then you make whatever you plan on adding to your noodles to flavor them. For my dinner I made a stir fry!

Asian NoOodle Veggie Stir Fry

Ingredients:
1 bag of NoOodles
1 green bell pepper
1/2 – 1/4 red onion
Cut green beans
Bunch of sliced green onion
Sesame seeds
Soy Sauce
Fish Sauce
Asian Sesame Sauce
Soy Sauce
Ginger
Salt
Pepper

In a large pan begin sauteing all of the veggies in canola / vegetable oil. I had a little extra asian sesame sauce left over in a bottle so I used up the remainder of that, next went in a healthy dose of soy sauce and a little bit of fish sauce. My roommate suggested I try this out next time I did stir fry but it smelled funny so I didn’t put a ton in 🙂 Also add in ginger – If I had to guess I put in maybe half of a tablespoon? I apologize but I just do not measure! Taste and if you need salt add it in. Add pepper to your liking as well. Cook until it looks like you have a good amount of sauce and the veggies are tender. Next up we are going to add in the rinsed NoOodles and a healthy serving of sesame seeds and mix! I served this up with corn on the cob and an Allagash Tripel Ale. The stir fry tasted awesome, the beer was great and the noodles calorie and carb free. Insane.


Aside from eating and drinking all weekend I did make it out on the hike I had mentioned I was hoping to do at Fountainhead Regional Park. It was a screaming 100 again today so the 10 mile hike ended up being cut short to 2 hours which wound up being 5 miles and I was totally happy with that!

Next up: Tomorrow nights dinner = NoOodles w/ jazzed up marinara and homemade turkey meatballs! I hope you are getting excited because I am!!

Q: What is the latest new food you have tried and you were surprised you quite fancied??

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , ,

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. A day in the life | Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

