Week 1 Reflection


Well it is my one week torn ACL anniversary. I swear this is easily the worst relationship I have ever been in, the ACL does nothing for me. I’m so kind to my knee, I stretch it, I ice it, I keep it elevated, basically I treat my knee like a princess. What does it do in return? A whole lot of nothing. Thanks knee. Thanks.

I had an MRI yesterday to get a better picture of what is happening in there, but I won’t see my doctor until next Wednesday to hear what is going on. Have you ever had an MRI? It had to be one of the weirdest things ever. For starters when it slid me in my bra gave me a hug, that was super weird, and I felt incredibly conscious of my heart beat. It felt crazy slow but also very strong. I just kept thinking “well I am in a huge magnet and I have iron in my blood…” – but any who that is over. My walking is improving every day and it makes me so so happy. I still can’t get my leg 100% straight while standing but I can bend it all over laying down. I can also curl my heel up to 90 degrees while standing so that is super exciting.

I have been working out this week too. I did upper body and ab circuits on Sunday, Tuesday, and Wednesday so far. I will be doing 8 minute abs and possibly some push ups tonight. Then it is early to bed and an early rise! I am going to Seattle tomorrow! I am sooooo excited. We have tons of plans and there will be lots of walking. I have a knee brace for in case for some extra stability. Easy peasy.

Oh I have also been eating. A lot less mind you but eating. I find myself gravitating towards vegetables and less meat. I have  a feeling I will slip back into a heavy vegetables, not so much meat diet during my recovery. I know that protein is good for me and I won’t be skimping but I just can’t eat as much as I was when I was running my face off.

photo 1(9)

2 eggs, mustard greens, 1/2 tomato, and hot sauce.

photo 2(10)

Kale, red bell pepper, orange bell pepper, avocado, shredded crock buffalo chicken, and some oil and vinegar.

photo 3(9)

Sweet potato fries, sauteed baby bok choy, zucchini, and onion, and a steak.

photo 4(6)

Veggie burger with sauteed baby bok choy, sweet potato, onion, and zucchini (different spices than the last one).

photo 5(4)

And here are all the furbabies in my apartment coexisting with out hissing and trying to kill each other (Jax = orange, black = pip, white = squeak). It makes me so happy! Oh and holding my mirror up… Insanity obviously.

Q: What’s your favorite color?
Q: Favorite season?
Q: Favorite vegetable of the moment?
Categories: ACL Injury

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

19 replies

  1. Yay for progress! MRIs are freaky. I had one last year on my knee and I remember shivering because the room was so cold and then I got really bored and it was just not a good time. Note to self: try not to get injured because it will suck. I think that in the past when I’ve been injured, I end up naturally craving different foods than normal so I don’t necessarily make a conscious effort to change things. Just do what works for you and you’ll be healed before you know it 🙂

  2. Happy anniversary…
    I had a xray on my knee and never heard anything about it! No news is good news right?!
    Your meals look amazing, as always!!
    My favorite veggie is currently mushrooms!!

    • I LOVE mushrooms!! I ran out of brown bags though to store them in and keep forgetting to buy them. So when I do buy mushrooms I realize I have to eat them ASAP or they will get yucky.

  3. Oh my gosh. That food looks so awesome.

    Q: What’s your favorite color? Blue.
    Q: Favorite season? Spring.
    Q: Favorite vegetable of the moment? Asparagus.

    -H (iamlyons.com)

    • I’m with you on blue and spring being awesome, I just can’t get on the asparagus band wagon! I eat it because the BF loves the stuff but I don’t know if I have bought it for myself before.

  4. Weird that they let you in with your bra on. My wife used to be an MRI tech (Ultrasound Tech now) and she would tell me about some of the things people neglect to tell them about having any sort of metal. She would say underwires or clasps caught a lot of ladies off guard. You would not believe how many people have metal shrapnel in the bodies and the weirdest one is bits of metal in your eye…I guess quite a few people get metal stuck in the eye. I have had a few MRI’s on my shoulders and they made me lay in a position that made my shoulder hurt the most and then I couldn’t move or else they would have to do it again.

    • OMG in their eyes!! How horrible!! I have 2 cartilage piercings I can’t take out so they covered my ears up with gauze, tape, and then giant headphones! I actually told them about my ears and my bra and they were like oh that should be fine. The bra didn’t hurt or anything like that, it was just weird to feel it move for a second. Sorry your MRIs hurt! Mine didn’t thankfully.

  5. No MRI’s for me, sounds bizarre! Glad it’s all so far so good though! Yay I love fur baby pictures bahaha.

  6. First off way to keep up with working out! Second off awesome progress!! P.S. Squeak looks exactly like my kitty!! Have a great trip!

  7. Enjoy your trip, lady!!! Hope the knee feels magnificent the whole time! 🙂

    • Thanks! My knee was a trooper! We did a 3 mile walk around a lake on Sunday and it was happy as a clam!! This whole getting better before it gets worse thing is a total tease! Hope you race this weekend went well!

  8. Arugula is my favorite vegetable. So crisp, so herby! Have a good weekend!

  9. My MRI was a longgg time ago but I am pretty sure I was allowed to wear some clothing? I dunno. SO glad you are able to do a bit of walking – such a long process! Have fun in Seattle, sooooo unbelievably depressed I can’t come now 😦 Ferries suck.

  10. I am so sorry that you are going through all of this, but you have a great attitude and I love that you are still working out! 🙂

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

