Home


Home
Hold on, to me as we go
As we roll down this unfamiliar road
And although this wave is stringing us along
Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

What happened in Boston was a tragedy. I am the absolute opposite of an emotional person so when I heard that there was an explosion from a coworker I didn’t really process what he was talking about. When I got home and hopped online I realized what was going on. I immediately reached out to all of my friends in Boston and after a brief panic of no response got a call from a friend in Cambridge letting me know that the cell service in Boston was terrible and while it was understandable to worry the delay in a response didn’t mean the worst. I am happy to report that all of my friends and people I know are safe and I couldn’t be more grateful.

Something that this event did shed light on is that I really do consider myself a runner now. I may not be a competitive runner but I am a runner. I wake up with the sun on the weekends and go run for a few hours and it is easily my favorite part of every weekend. It makes me sad that a race was the target of an attack but I know that as a community we will be okay. Even broader than the running community is the athletic community. I can guarantee that if something like this happened at the Crossfit games or ANY sporting event we would all feel it. It’s an attack on something we love. I believe that this event will only make us stronger and make us love a little harder. It is not so easy to steal the passion and fire from such a fierce community.

I am happy to call myself one of the pack and I am glad that I have a home with all of you.

To all of you who competed in this race your victories are still a victory and congratulations to your great accomplishment and for all of your hard work paying off.

Categories: Running

Tags:

11 replies

  1. You are definitely a runner and an inspirational one at that! So glad to hear that your friends are safe!

  2. Absolutely well put. You are a runner and no one can ever tell you otherwise.

  3. Runners unite!! What a great post. I am feeling so filled with joy seeing how our country and especially the fitness community is coming together for this tragedy.

  4. A beautiful post….. this was such a heartache for runners and non-runners. Gahhhhhhh

  5. ❤ Amazing post. Such a tragedy what happened yesterday, but it is also incredible to see how we, runners and non-runners, unite at such a horrific time.

  6. Thank you so much for posting this song… I needed it.

  7. i need to hear more inspirational posts like this one. Althought I am not a professional runner by anymeans, its my happiness, i love running and it breaks my heart that some evil decided to target this event

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

