Cherry Blossom Expo Anyone?


Dear Fellow Cherry Blossom Runners,

I know a few of you are running the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler on Sunday. Who wants to go to the expo on Saturday? I was thinking of going early (it is open 9am – 5pm) and I think going with some of you would be super fun… Some people who I think may be running and I definitely want to read this post are Alex, Sarah, and I feel like there were a few more that I heard were running but my memory is failing me. Boogers, I was really jazzed to type up this public service announcement and wish I could remember some of the other folks. Oh well, Alex and Sarah are freaking awesome. So yes ladies if you want to go let me know! AND if YOU yes YOU are in the DC area and want to hit up the expo with me I am game. I always go to these things alone and with friends would be way cooler.

Love, Megan.

Anyways… Moving on. If you happened to read yesterdays post then you know I had too much fun this weekend. I feel 10x better today than yesterday, which is a huge relief. Today started out beautifully. I woke up at 5am and did 8 minute abs, I’m not sure why but it seemed like a good idea. I then made my way to the kitchen and made some eggs. I was killing a little bit of time before checking to see if I had hot water (my apartment has been a real B lately). You see a made a deal with myself, if there was hot water I would just shower and get to work early, if there was not I would hit the gym before showering there and heading to work. Well there was no hot water, sigh. So I packed up and headed out to the gym. I did a quick three miles on the treadmill and then did 3 sets of 10 push ups and 20 sit ups (I’m still in awe I can do push ups, I literally used to be able to do 1/2 of 1 and that is all).The guy on the treadmill next to me didn’t look like he was falling off the treadmill like Joe Cool above BUT he was sweating more than this dude. When I hopped on the treadmill he was at mile 5 and justifiably sweaty BUT he was so stinky. I mean I know I can smell sometimes at the gym but its normally if I wear a shirt that was dirty to begin with in a pinch. The dude smelled like mildew and I had to force myself not to jump ship and try out a different machine. Needless to say my run became a progressive one and the easy run was out the window.

It is amazing how starting the day with a work out can make you feel so much better. I am actually looking forward to hitting the gym at 11am to go lift (the work out this morning was a make up from yesterday). OH I am also happy to report NO ARCH PAIN today!! I have my fingers crossed that this feeling good kick will stay through out training the next 10 weeks. I always end up with race hangovers and my motivation tanks. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Comment!

Q: Do you ever have race hang overs?
Q: Been next to a stinky sweat monster? What did you do?
Q: If you had no hot water would you attempt a cold shower in the morning or hunt down an alternative?
Q: Are you going to the expo with me?
Categories: Half Marathon Trail Training

Tags: , , , ,

19 replies

  1. Yes!! Let’s do it! Does Saturday afternoon work for you?? Email me at ourpersonalrecords@gmail.com and we can make a plan!

  2. I wish I was running Cherry Blossom 😦 I’ll be in DC on Sunday with a friend but I won’t be running. Sad day. I hope you find someone to go to the expo with!

  3. Um yes. Sometimes the stinkiest people are beside me and I gag. I often will go do something else and come back if it’s bad enough…pathetic, right?

    • I think it’s normal. The only reason I didn’t stop was bc I was on a time crunch. I also thought he may get super sad if I just moved over a treadmill, like hey friend sorry but you stink.

  4. OMG ewww, I cannot handle stinky people. I feel like I am breathing in their stank and it’s going to infect my lungs!! BOO to cold showers, I would use maybe a wash cloth and hit the “important parts” haha a sponge bath sorta! I WISH I could go to the expo with you!

    • It seriously felt like I was being smothered by a stinky wet blanket. Not my cup of tea…

      If I didn’t have access to the gym showers I’d do exactly what you said and then do my hair by just dipping my head under the faucet. While wearing a snow suit obviously.

  5. I’ll be there Saturday! Except I’m not sure what time yet, I’ll let you know!

  6. Yay! Glad your feeling better and had a great run this morning. Ugh, sweaty smelly people on the treadmill next to you are the WORST. This one guy at my college gym was so bad…if I saw him in there I’d leave and run outside, no matter what the weather looked like haha.

  7. I never used to be able to do push-ups…and then I started trying and did them consistently and now I’ve done 20 in a row.

    And if there was no hot water…I’d probably just not shower.

  8. glad I discoverd your blog!! I am going to the Expo Saturday. Probably around 11. 🙂

  9. I generally do have race hangovers… on halfs or anything longer. Actually, after my marathon I literally felt DRUNK and lopsided… so that was a new one. I also kept eating all day but never felt full.

    Stinky ppl stinky…. but I am totally that person on the treadmill that farts and DOES NOT CARE. Like I just let them out and keep running and I can feel the eyes around me burning into my body and I’m just like ‘I don’t care, I farted, do de dum.’

    So- I am probably the stinky sweat monster you speak of. Sooooorrrrray.

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

