Curry After My Heart


Note: Make sure you make it to the bottom of this post, there is a little chocolate heaven recipe down there!

Oddly enough one of the the things I missed most when I was a much stricter version of paleo than I am now, was tofu. I love how easy it is to cook and how it can add protein to any meal and just suck up whatever flavors you give it. Being an ex vegetarian I really LOVE vegetarian and vegan restaurants, the food combos that these cooks up up with just blow my mind.tofu and vegetablesSo once I decided the Megan Diet was a better fit for me than full on paleo I jumped for joy when I was at Costco and saw how cheap tofu was there (not that it’s really ever expensive but you know, a deal is a deal!) Shortly after that I was at Trader Joe’s with my roommate and I found a fancy little curry shaker and knew that the time for curry was right around the corner.wokI found a great basic curry recipe that I changed up to suit my tastes and preferences and what ended up coming out of the wok was liquid gold. When I realized how much delicious sauce there was I had to make something to absorb it so I quickly made some couscous. I would have preferred quinoa but couscous takes 5 minutes and dinner was ready! I actually only had couscous on hand because my parents bought me some while I was home over Thanksgiving. Right before I really went with the paleo lifestyle, needless to say it has just been taking up room in my panty! If you eat rice I think that would be a good vessel for making sure you don’t miss any sauce.sauce in wokI ended up with about a weeks worth of dinners out of this so I recommend sharing or just fully committing to curry for the week. That’s what I’m doing! Between this recipe and my collard green noodles and pulled buffalo chicken I am all set for meals this week!

Tofu & Vegetable Curry Liquid Gold

1 can full fat coconut milk
1/2 can water
1 tsp better than bouillon (I did less sodium chicken – sub for a vegetable and this recipe is vegan)
2+ tbsp curry powder or paste
2 tbsp coconut sugar
2 tsp soy sauce
8 oz sliced mushrooms
6 brussels sprouts
1/2 onion, sliced
4 small carrots, sliced thin
1 package extra firm tofu (19oz, or sub in a meat protein to make this recipe totally paleo)
coconut oil
sea salt

Cut up vegetables and tofu into relatively equal sized pieces. In a large wok over medium heat melt a spoonful of coconut oil, once melted add in all vegetables and tofu. Season with as much or little curry powder as you want (you will be using 2 tbsp for the sauce shortly, I just sprinkled the curry powder until the vegetables had a little color). Cook until vegetables start to turn a little brown, set vegetables and tofu aside in a bowl. Add to the wok half of the can of coconut milk, bring to a quick boil and add in curry powder and mix quickly until completely dissolved. Add in the remaining coconut milk, vegetable / tofu mix, water, better than bouillon, coconut sugar, and soy sauce. Mix well and allow to simmer for 10ish minutes. Serve as is or over something to absorb the liquid! I added sea salt to my dish once it was plated, I think it really brings out the flavors and suggest you do the same! I used a measuring cup to scoop the curry (I left my soup ladle at my cousins house, sigh, the measuring cup is pretty handy though) and did two heaping 1/2 cup scoops. From the looks of the container I would say this will make about 6 servingsbowlIn other news… Since going mostly I haven’t been able to make overnight oats for numerous reasons. I saw this idea of a chia overnight breakfast bowl over at Luv What You Do and figured I would give it a whirl. I hate bringing eggs over to the bfs house because I’m always anxious they will break in my lunch bag! This was a quick and easy way to bring breakfast and not have to worry about it cracking!

Chocolate Chia Protein Bowl

1 banana
2 tbsp ground mixed nuts (original called for flax, I didn’t have any)
2 tbsp chia seads
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp hemp force chocolate protein powder (or any protein powder)
1+ cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
dash of cinnamon

This recipe couldn’t be easier… mash the banana and mix everything else in, store in the fridge overnight, and enjoy in the morning! I am pretty sure this whole recipe can be classified as vegan AND paleo… who would of thunk it… I adore chocolate and being able to eat a GIANT bowl of it in the AM with no guilt is like heaven. And a quick shout out / thank you to SkinnyRunner for the Hemp Force – I never win things and I won a giveaway she was holding for it! How cool is that : ) breakfast

Talk to me!

Q: Do you make curry at home? Do you have a favorite recipe? What about protein for curry?
Q: Do you do any over night breakfasts? What is your favorite?
Q: Ever tried hemp protein?
Q: What is the last new thing you cooked?

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , ,

8 replies

  1. Uhm… HELLOOOOO! I’m coming over for dinner.

    Hey, but really… I’m gonna be in DC March 22-24. Wanna run/eat a lot on the morning of the 24th?

  2. But of course!!! Email me and I’ll give you my number and we can plan! If we go out early and attempt to map out something coherent we could land at maza 14 for unlimited tapas and booze…

  3. YUM!!! I love this recipe, sooo trying this. Oh and jealous of the above convo about the meet up with Brennan!

  4. Yummm that sounds so good!!! I actually have so coconut on hand that a friend gave me so I might have to try this tonight!

    Stay safe in the snow!

  5. I just started making curry and I love it! So good!
    Your breakfast looks fantastic. Awesome idea to add in the chocolate and protein powder! I love how easy this brekkie is AND how filling before a long run!

Trackbacks

  1. Banana + Chocolate + Chia | Luv What You Do

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

