A Full Plate


Speaking from personal experience life can be either filled to the brim or feel a little empty and lonely. I am lucky to say that right now I am all around happy and have really started to take control of my life and it is working out wonderfully so far. Moving can be scary and I remember when I first moved to DC the only people I knew were my boyfriend and the guys he lived with because they went to our high school. So whenever it was “boys night” it meant I was sitting home alone hating life and wondering how in the world I was going to make friends. Fast forward a few years, two apartments, some roommates, and really growing up, I now have some of the coolest people in my inner circle. Why am I talking about this? Because it’s roommate hunting season right now! My roommate and I are parting ways after almost 2 years of living together. Amelia is awesome and we are splitting on totally happy terms just trying out new stuff. I am staying in our apartment and finding a roommate to fill the extra room. Per usual all of my friends lease terms are totally different from mine so I have turned to Craigslist. I feel like some people are Craigslist haters but honestly I love it for finding roommates.

RobinOne of my good friends down here was actually from a failed attempt at living together from Craigslist. She emailed me after I had already moved and I was feeling super ballsy and said “Ah I already have a roommate but you seem like a super cool girl and seeing as we are both new to the area we should be friends!!” A few weeks later we went on a blind date to a Maroon 5 concert and it has been love every since. Isn’t it funny how things like that work?

Robin and I were able to introduce each other to some people we both knew and for the first year or so of living here we had a happy little foursome of girls that we were always hanging out with. Both of us have a lot more friends now and one of the original four moved to NYC recently but basically I have Craigslist to thank for some of my really early friends in DC. Amelia is awesome also and since living together our cats have become best friends, she has introduced me to some awesome bands and festivals, gotten me to take random road trips to see bands she was in love with, and I may be joining her this year for Bonnaroo. Pretty sweet situation right?

The point of this rant is that I have four girls coming to look at my apartment in the next two days! I am really excited to meet all of them because I love meeting new people and I figure even though I can’t live with all of them who knows I may get some new friends out of this! I am of course excited to find a new roommate too.

Gym Goodies

Yesterday was a quick 2 mile run on the treadmill @ 6.5. After that I met up with the boy and did some weight slinging. Our work out went a little something like this:

4 x burn out: assisted pull-ups (15,15,10,10)
3 x 6: dead lift to bent over row @ 95lbs
3 x 10: decline reverse crunch / left lift*
*Lay on an inverted sit up bench with your butts at the bottom and head up at the top. With your legs out parallel to the ground raise them up until vertical then raise your butt / hips as high as you can (like how you would get close to doing the plow position in yoga) then lower them down to parallel and repeat!

The dead lift to bent over row was really tough for me. The dead lift was easy and I can do a lot more weight than that but for the row I felt SO weak. My lower body to upper body strength ratio is like 10-1. I can squat, press, or whatever a decent amount of weight. But when it comes to doing stuff with my arms there is a heck of a lot of room for improvement. I let out of a few obnoxious noises while doing those sets but oh well, peeps are just gonna have to deal.

I woke up today thinking I had a 3 mile run and was excited to lift again but then I realized it was Thursday, which means its speed work day. Ugh. Today’s work out is a 1 mile warm up, 4 miles @ 8:30, and a 1 mile cool down. OH HAPPY DAY. Hopefully there is something decent on the telly to keep me occupied.

Screen shot 2012-04-10 at 8.04.41 AMOh one random fun fact – I just decided to run the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler again this year. Last year I ran under less than ideal conditions (aka I drank my face off with my little brother the night before) so I should be able to set a new PR. My current PR for 10 miles is 1:28, which is a pace of 8:48. I’d like to see that time be less than 1:25, we’ll see! I will definitely wear some better shoes, clothes, not drink, and get a good nights sleep before this race. Plus I run this route now so I am familiar with it. AND I actually run double digit miles every week now so 10 miles should be a breeze, getting it done quickly though is an entirely different story. Is it weird thinking about this is making me kind of anxious, I am training for real for the first time ever, what if my times in races aren’t better than last year? What if I think I’m too fast and burn out… oh the possibilities. UGH.

Eats

My dinner last night was a bit goofy but I did try to cook up some more brussel sprouts! I started out with a mixed green salad with some EVOO and soy sauce. I added some chia seeds and some soy sauce meatballs for a little protein. In a 350 degree oven I put some brussel sprouts leaves and quartered sprouts in for about 10-15 minutes. They were coated with EVOO, balsamic, salt, and pepper. I was impatient because I was so hungry (I stayed at work until 5:45 last night!!! not cool when you get in around 7am) so not every one was crispy when they came out, but it still tasted great. I wasn’t at home so I couldn’t put my sprout scraps in the freezer for homemade stock so I gave them to Sasha. She was a happy camper.sprouts

Talk To Me

Q: Do you run the same races more than once? Does it stress you out at all to try and beat your last time? This is my first repeat race (considering this is only my second year racing it’s no surprise ha!)
Q: Have you found a roommate on Craigslist before? How did it turn out?
Q: Have you signed up for any races last minute lately? I am also signing up for the April Tough Mudder, registration goes up after today so I should probably get on that.
Q: Are you running today? How far?
Q: Feelings on speed work?
*If you didn’t check it out yesterday you should head over to Fitblogger and check out my featured post! How to Fake It Until You Make It! Thanks for the comments so far guys!

Categories: Half Marathon Training, Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I love the story about how you met one of your best friends in DC! I can totally relate, my roommate-soulmate Andrea and I met through Craigslist! I was trying to lease out a room in my place, but then the apartment was no longer available so I told her I was gonna have to apartment hunt instead, and she was like well do you still want to meet for coffee or something? I haven’t met that many cool people maybe we could apartment hunt together? The rest is history! haha

  2. That roommate story is really awesome!!! I hope that happens to me one day. If I have to live in a new city, I might as well make some friends- internet or not 🙂

    • I’m slightly ridiculous when it comes to making friends. I have been known to strike up conversations with girls at bars and will ask for their numbers if they seem like cool chics, I have no shame. I have a 100% success rate, rico suaveeeee. Also if you get to a city chances are you will join some sort of group or team and I am the first one to start cherry picking friends.

  3. Umm I’m going to have to learn how to make friends like you do!!! Maybe I should go on craigslist just to find friends in my area… lol

    • All you gotta do is go to a bar, get a little drunk and loose, and start talking to chics. They are far more receptive than you would imagine. Then at the end of the night be like OMG this was a blast lets do it again and ask for a number!

  4. Ahhhh I wish I could run the Cherry Blossom!!! Maybe next year?! I’m gonna be in DC for the Nike women’s race… maybe we could become besties?

  5. I used to do the Race for the Cure every year when in Pittsburgh and I am doing the DC color run for the second time this year! Also, my sister had a good roommate experience from craigslist, too! Just avoid the Craigslist killer and you’ll be fine 🙂

  6. “I let out of a few obnoxious noises while doing those sets but oh well, peeps are just gonna have to deal.”

    That just struck me as HILARIOUS – I literally laughed out loud! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Showing Off My Hard Work « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

