Bestie Bday Weekend


I can’t believe it is Monday already, the weekend flew by! On Friday I hit the gym around 3 to do an easy 3 mile run. I set the treadmill to 6 and cruised watching Ellen. It was such a wonderful easy run and the Calvin Klein super bowl model was on the show and ended up down to his panties so I had a great time. I walked an extra half mile because I wanted to finish watching the show. Excellent!

I met up with the boy after for happy hour and then we headed out to dinner in the city. We went to a restaurant called “The Prime Rib” that was crazy fancy. Boys had to be in dress coats, oh lala. It was restaurant week so we will able to enjoy ourselves and have a meal that would normally have cost us about 3x as much!sashaSaturday was puppy training bright and early. Sasha was really well behaved this weekend and we were both proud puppy parents. We stayed for an hour or so after class and Sasha had playtime with her brother Burey and they completely tuckered each other out. When we got home we watched Pitch Perfect (LOVE this movie) and then I headed home to tackle my laundry list of chores!pitch perfectI finished earlier than expected and realized I was feeling really good and that I should go for a run. I set out with the intention of covering 4 miles (aka my scheduled Sunday run) but ended up feeling amazing and just kept going. I left my Garmin at work so I had to use an app to track distance and it was oddly nice not be able to check my pace. I felt like I was moving pretty good and then the voice on the app informed me that I was done with mile 1 and my pace was 8:27. I thought to myself “oh nice, that was pretty quick, gosh my legs feel great”, then the lady voice came on again “distance – 2 miles, pace 8:10”, at that point I was like all like “oh say whatttt”, then she came back on again “distance – 3 miles, pace 7:41”. Now I was all like “OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG, I wonder if I can keep this whole negative split thing going, let’s try”. “Distance – 4 miles, pace 7:25”, “Distance – 5 miles, pace 7:18”, at this point I was freaking out, I felt like a total badass and knew that I would have to haul UPHILL for the 2nd half of the final mile to have an prayer of keeping up with this little run. Then finally the lady voice chimed in “Distance – 6 miles, pace 7:13”. HOLY SHNITZEL. Yea that just happened. I ran 6 miles, 4 of which were sub 8 min miles, who am I??? You can just call me Hollie or Sarah if you want, its NBD… : P For in case you are having trouble wrapping your mind around this let me show you a picture to just reiterate how stoked out of my phanny pack I am.runningPretty crazy right? Definitely the highlight of my weekend. I was now running a bit late for a bday party though so I quickly got ready and headed out the door to throw a surprise bday party for my really good friend Naomi. Her reaction when she came through the door was on of the best scenes of my life. She literally ran in place / screamed / did the running man / who knows but there was a lot of vertical movement. So much fun!naomi Sunday I woke up bright and early and headed over to the boys to hang out before heading to brunch for a continuation of Naomi’s bday. We walked to and from brunch and round trip it was 3.2 miles. It felt great to move because I wore heels on Saturday (that literally never happens) and my legs were DYING. We took Sasha to the dog park after brunch and had a great afternoon just hanging outside! Finally to finish off an absolutely wonderful weekend we went and saw identify theft! GREAT MOVIE.

This week for training I was only scheduled to run 19 miles and I ended up going a weeee bit over. Hey, I’m not complaining.

Week 5: 28 Miles

Mon Feb 4 Rest / XT
Dist: 3 Mile @ 9:00 DONE
Tue Feb 5 Easy Run Dist: 4 Mi @ 8:31 & Soccer DONE
Wed Feb 6 Easy Run
Dist: 4.03 Mi @ 8:31 DONE
Thu Feb 7 Easy Run
Dist: 4.22 Mi @ 9:02 DONE
Fri Feb 8 Easy Run Dist: 3.57 Mi @ 10:00 DONE
Sat Feb 9 Rest / XT
Dist: 6 Mi @ 7:42 DONE
Sun Feb 10 Easy Run Dist: 3.2 Mi @ 18:45 DONE

Finally, on the books this week is a pretty scary looking Thursday work out but other than that totally doable!

Week 6: 25 Miles

Mon Feb 11 Rest / XT
Tue Feb 12 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:00
Wed Feb 13 Easy Run
Dist:Β 2 Mi @ 10:00
Thu Feb 14 Easy Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm, 3×1600 in 7:58 w/ 800 jogs; Cool
Fri Feb 15 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @ 10:00
Sat Feb 16 Rest / XT
Β 
Sun Feb 17 Easy Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:00

Morning Questions

Q: What run sticks out to you as your most “holy crap I’m a runner”?
Q: Did any of your friends have bdays this weekend? 3 of mine did!
Q: Did you do anything fun this weekend?

Categories: Half Marathon Training, Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 replies

  1. Oh girl, you are FAR past me πŸ˜‰ I am not that fast at all on my runs!! I’ve always wanted to try the prime rib! I hope it was tasty πŸ™‚ And your run. Oh man those days that feel awesome are just that: awesome. You are SO READY for this half next month!

  2. LOL, nice work! That is such a machine run and I know how happy you must be. It’s always great when runs really surprise you like that and knock your socks right off!

    • I went out after and it was all I could talk about. None of my friends are runners so they were like ohh cooool. It actually made me think about how much I love blogging because now I have friends that get excited about weird shit with me!

  3. Busy weekend with the surprise party and the workouts! Love those pooch pics too πŸ™‚

  4. Four sub 8 minute miles? That’s AWESOME good for you!! πŸ™‚

    • Thank youuuuu!!! I’m sort of nervous to go run now ha! I feel like after a run like that (and wearing heals Saturday – my shins are on fire right now) I am bound to have a dreadful one.

  5. Holy Smokes!!! Good for you, that’s actually so amazing!!! rockin’ your runs lately.. wish I could say the same. You’re going to blow your half out of the waterrrrrrr!!!!!!!

    • Heck yes, I want that half to be my bitch. In my excitement I think I agreed to sign up for another Tough Mudder in March. Confidence can be a funny beast sometimes haha. Thank you!!!!!!!!

  6. HOLY SHIT! I had to say it..but WOW! Your splits are amazing, and my god you have gotten fast these past few months!! BEASSSTT! I am so stoked for your race. GREAT JOB! No friends birthdays, but MY birthday is this week..WHOOP WHOOP!

    • Its fricken cray crayyyy. While I was running I was just like this can’t be happening, I am not that fast, maybe I am that fast, am I getting faster, what the french is happening, is the wind helping, wait i said that on the way out, maybe the wind is sideways… It was pretty excitingggg. Thanks for the caps and excitement, makes me super happppy.

  7. WOW, great job on your splits – that’s absolutely INSANE! You’re a running beast and I’m completely jealous. I struggle running 3 miles at a 10 minute pace! Out of curiosity, which app were you using?

  8. Awesome weekend! That sounds like a ton of fun and great job on the run πŸ™‚

  9. Sasha is beyond cute! Whenever I think of dog training I think of Marley and Me- such a funny movie:)

  10. You are fast!!! Great job! Your dog is adorableeeee omg the ears lol too cute πŸ™‚ I guess this past weekend was a big birthday weekend… 3 people in my office had birthdays lol

  11. Girl, those SPLITS. And those pictures from the party are so fun! πŸ™‚

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

