Few Days of Eats


This week has seen some good work outs and some delicious food. I only posted up one recipe this week (I’m horrible I’m sorry) so I figured I’d do a little photo dump of all the pictures I snapped of food this week. First up – free food!! The boy’s apartment complex was throwing a goodbye party for one of the leasing office staff and it was catered by Astor Mediterranean. I love this place! I actually went on Monday for lunch for my 6 month with my new company! Unlimited kabobs?? YES PLEASE.photo 2(37)Next up we have some cookies! I made a different paleo cookie recipe from my own last week and I was craving my recipe (and so was the boy) so we made a batch with some homemade chocolate and added in a bit of honey as well, so yummmmy!photo 5(15)This here is the weirdest lunch combo I’ve ever had. On the left is half of a sweet potato, some avocado, and homemade bbq sauce. On the right is some garam masala coconut broth with veggies and shrimp. I told you it was weird!photo 1(40)Next up is some bananaya! About 1 frozen banana, 4 figs, some homemade chocolate, a little bit of honey, and enough almond milk to make the bananas turn into icecream, blend it all up and perfecto! YUM.photo 4(25)This series is a little project I did last night! I spent 2 weeks stock piling vegetable scraps and filled up this giant ziplock bag with them. The intention – homemade vegetable stock!photo 3(33)I put all the vegetables in a giant pot.photo 4(24)I covered them with cold water (12 cups did it for the amount I had) then I added in a little bit of sea salt, some black peppercorns, and some crushed red pepper flakes. I brought the entire put up to a boil, reduced the heat to medium/low, and let it simmer for an hour. photo 5(16)I then strained the whole lot and ended up with 11 cups of vegetable stock!! Make sure when you strain to push all the water out of the vegetables!photo 1(41)Finally for dinner last night I did a steak with some sauteed veggies. To cook a perfect steak with out a grill you do the following: Place a cast iron skillet in the oven and turn the broiler on high. In a small bowl mix oil of choice, salt, pepper, and smoked paprika. Slather the steak. Turn your stove on high and remove the HOT skillet from the oven and put on the stove. BE VERY CAREFUL YOU WILL BURN YOURSELF IF YOU DON”T USE A GLOVE. Okay – for medium rare: cook steak for 30 seconds, flip with tongs, another 30 seconds, in the over for 2 minutes, flip, another 2 minutes, and remove the steak to rest. Do not leave the steak in the pan to rest, do this on a cutting board or small plate.photo 2(38)I sauteed a bunch of kale, mushrooms, onions, and summer squash to go with the steak. To make things pretty and super flavorful I added a little bit of green onion! I’m, not sure if you have noticed but I am now using the new plates my mom got me for Christmas!! She saw a post I did about how when I’m at their house my meals always look better because they have nicer plates, so she gifted me some new ones! I love them!!!photo(13)This weekend is going to be a busy one. I am taking the boy out to a fancy dinner tonight for DC Restaurant Week (I’m such a stud aren’t I? He is a lucky man), the rest of the weekend will be devoted to training with Sasha, some birthday shenanigans for one of my besties, running, and a nice brunch! I am going to have to do a TON of cooking on Sunday to prevent a bunch of produce from going bad, I would put money on a crock pot creation or some vegetable soup! It is VERY rare that I eat out 4 meals in one week so my fridge is bursting with produce begging to be made!

Since this is a runningish blog as well I will say that I am aiming to run 4 miles today, may do 3 like the training plan suggest if the rain keeps dripping and I end up on the dreadmill. Then on Sunday I am hoping to do between 4 and 8 miles depending on how the legs feel, that’s it!! Hope every one has a fantastical weekend!!

Morning Questions

Q: Does your city have restaurant week? Are you taking advantage?
Q: Link me to some great eats you have had / made this week!
Q: Any great ideas for a crock pot or soup for the following vegetables? Broccoli, kale, zucchini, carrots, onion… standard I know… what about pumpkin??

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

23 replies

  1. I missed restaurant week in bmore. Oh well, there’s always next year. those paleo cookies look like the bomb.com! I have a little sugar addiction that could use a kick in the butt. But they look too good to avoid!

    • I made them giant this time around so the cooking time had to be upped! The dough though is OMG heavenly. I prefer just the dough honestly! Chocolate made out of coconut oil melts easily so it is basically like you are eating cookie dough with soft chocolate, HEAVEN.

  2. Your kabobs look so delicious, my mouth is now watering at my desk at work! That was a great idea to make your own veggie stock. Philly does have restaurant week but I’m not exactly sure when. They also have beer week too and I am I not ashamed to admit that I get just as excited about that time!

  3. I am drooling over those kabobs. I’ve been craving meat lately, which is so unlike me! I totally wish my area had restaurant week!!

  4. That’s so awesome that you made your own veggie broth! I actually never thought of doing that lol looks simple

    • It is! The stuff I saved was just stuff I would have thrown out! I heard you can put prunes and beats too to change the flavor. Onion butts, carrot scraps, celery bases, and kale stems made up the bulk of mine. I would have added a bay leaf if I had it too!

      I’m started a bg for shrimp shells too to make seafood stock! So thrifty!!

  5. I think you should just quit your day job and become a chef! No lie all your meals look so good!

  6. I really need to see if my area, or somewhere around me has restaurant week!! I have never participated. I always eat weird random meals. I combine the weirdest flavors and everyone always thinks I’m crazy, but I can never settle on just one thing!

  7. I’m really interested in your homemade “ice cream” – I’ve tried a frozen banana base before and all I could taste was the banana. Was yours more subtle?

    • If you put honey or maple syrup in it changes the taste. I like the frozen banana and when you have the figs and chocolate I honesty don’t notice the banana taste. I’m also relatively lactose intolerant so I haven’t had real ice cream in awhile!

      • I bought extra bananas with groceries this weekend but I forgot the figs. 😦 I’m going back to pick them up – I’m determined to have delicious Paleo-friendly ice cream without an ice cream machine!

  8. Ohh those cookies look delish!! I want to make them during the storm this weekend.. can I use whole wheat flour instead of almond meal? Just used the last of my almond meal 😦

    PS. All your meals look amazing.. so jealous!

  9. Oh, these recipes look amazing!

    I’m feeling a little under the weather tonight and my mom brought over some homemade potato soup and chicken noodle soup. Hands down, the best meal I’ve had all week. There isn’t anything better than a warm bowl of comforting soup when you’re feeling sick!

  10. Oooo…I would totally never think to pair BBQ sauce with a baked sweet potato. I am loving that idea! 🙂

  11. Great idea for the stock! how long does it last once you make it? i should start doing this, good quality stock is a bit pricey

Trackbacks

  1. Versatile Vegetables « Food & Fitness
  2. A Full Plate « Food & Fitness
  3. Post ACL Workouts and Eats « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

