At Home Indian


Do you guys remember the book Indian in the Cupboard? I loved it! Growing up I went to daycare / summer camp over summer because both of my parents worked and I remember we used to build “fairy houses” and Indian in the Cupboard had me convinced that fairies must be real too. We would always go to this awesome park and have picnics and run around and then some of us ladies would build, with little sticks and what not, homes for fairies in the roots of trees. You know the exposed ones that make the perfect sized caves for a fairy. We would of course leave food and something girly so the fairies would feel at home. I can’t be the only one out there who did this…

Moving on… I was inspired by a recipe I saw on PBFingers yesterday so I decided to give it my own twist and it turned out delicious!

Garam Masala Coconut Shrimp

1/4 large yellow onion
1 large carrot
1/2 crown broccoli
mushrooms
3 servings of shrimp (depend on the size you use)**
1 can light coconut milk
1 can reduced sodium chicken broth
coconut oil
garam masala
garlic powder
sea salt

Chop the onion, carrot, and broccoli into equal sized pieces. In a medium sized pot over medium/low heat saute the onion and carrot in coconut oil. Sprinkle with garam masala and garlic powder. Once the onions start to get a little brown add in the broccoli, mushrooms, coconut milk, chicken broth, and a hefty amount more of garam masala and garlic powder. Simmer on low for about 10-15 minutes. Add in your shrimpies and cook until bright orange! This makes 3 servings. **NOTE – if you are using frozen shrimp remember to run under cold and remove casing, if shrimp are fresh just remember to remove casing. It is not fun to do this after it is hot and all you want to do is eat dinner!garamOn a completely random note I took some funny pictures yesterday I wanted to share. My roommate and I live in a highrise and one of the joys of a high rise is that to take the recycling out you need to go down to the basement level and heave everything into the giant green dumpsters. Easier said than done. Between Amelia and I we get packages from Amazon about 2x a week if not more in many cases. We are great bargain hunters and can’t say no to a good deal. I like to pretend I am the man of the house because Ameila is a solid 5″ (maybe more) shorter than I am so I like to show off with how much I can carry at once. I am a master of carrying a million grocery bags (this is for myself, no one else) and quite pride myself on my ability to haul out massive piles of cardboard boxes in one trip to the dumpster. I had to get myself in the picture so you could understand the height of my most recent haul. Don’t worry, I have already checked, strong man competitions do indeed branch out into grocery bag and recycling carrying and I have already signed up.recycleI decided to take out the recycling and go to the grocery store instead of running after work (aka procrastination). I finally dragged myself up to the apartment dreadmill hallway around 10pm after the Bachelor finished. Are you confused by my use of the word hallway? Let this picture explain it for you.gymWeird right? On the books for the day is a quick 4 mile run and then soccer tonight. I want to also say thank you to every one yesterday who was so kind and telling me that the scale is B and that it was a fluke. Making it upstairs to the treadmill that late at night was definitely motivated by the scale from the AM! Whatever works right?

Morning Questions

Q: What is the latest you will work out in a day?
Q: Did you used to make fairy houses?
Q: Tell me about an odd activity you have done at summer camp!

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 replies

  1. I loved that movie haha I used to think the Borrowers were real and whenever stuff went missing I’d blame them. My Priest from India actually gave me coconut milk.. it must be a common thing there

  2. I never got into that movie, but there were plenty of pretend forts and hideaways when I was younger. I was the kid that WANTED to go to the after school programs and summer program, but my mom was able to be home so I couldn’t hah.

  3. That recipe looks great! Thank you for sharing. And I do not know how you can run in that hallway! I would feel claustrophobic.

  4. I totally remember Indian in the Cupboard! Great post! 😉

  5. Ummmm this recipe looks amazing!! I NEED to try it!

  6. Yummy! That looks really good. I have some shrimp in the freezer and always keep coconut milk in the pantry. That’s a great weeknight meal.

  7. I don’t like shrimp but I might have to try this and get over my fear of sea food! Looks delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Few Days of Eats « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

