Impromptu Half Marathon, Eats, & Feb Challenge


Friday I went to the Avicii concert with a few friends and it was the first time I had any booze in a month! We started the night at a tapas restaurant for some happy hour dinner and sangria specials. Everything was delicious. After dinner we headed to a friends house for some pre-concert beverages and hang time. The actual concert was awesome and we had a good time dancing around. The bathroom mobs lines were less than desirable and a total time suck. The metro was of course having maintenance work done so it took some trickery, shuttle buses, and finally the metro to make it home.aviciiSaturday morning Sasha had training per usual. My body post booze was begging for some junk food (as was the boys) so we feasted on some drive thru (gross). We then proceeded to nap for a few hours, eat MORE gross drive thru (lets not talk about it), and then I headed home for the evening to catch up on some TV shows and get some sleep in hopes that I would still be able to run on Sunday with out dying. I also made some pretty amazing healthy “ice cream”. The only things in this little dessert are frozen bananas, some figs, homemade chocolate, and unsweetened almond milk.Sunday I embarked on a planned 12 mile run with a route and everything. I am not sure why I thought I would be able to successfully follow the route though because I am directionally impaired. I ALWAYS run out and backs because a loop route leaves room for getting lost, heck I can get lost on out and back routes too. I couldn’t find the bridge back to Virginia from the District and started to get a little panicky because I was going to brunch for a friends bday and knew if I kept running for too long there was no way I’d make it on time. I eventually found the bridge and ended up making it home in 13.1 miles. My total time was 1:57! That is 2 minutes slower than my actually half marathon race from last year. The goal for the half in March is 1:50 and I definitely think that is going to be possible now. I felt great at the end and at no point felt like I was pushing that hard. If I were trying AND in a race environment I have no doubt I could speed that up to where I want to be. The temperature when I set out to run was hanging at a cool “Feels like 22F” and the ground was quite icy. Yuck. I decided to try out a new running outfit to keep warm and it was a great success. I thought it would be fun to document the layers so I made this really high quality “how to bundle up like a boss” photo collage. My outfit, from inner layer to outer layer, included: Tall soccer socks (my legs felt awesome and I am wonder if it was because the socks are tight and working like compression sleeves, I plan to keep wearing them), mid thigh running shorts, sports bra, dry fit tank, full length leggings, long sleeve turtle neck (this is actually polo not running clothing but I never wear it and it worked perfectly), running jacket, head band, cotton gloves, and finally wind resistant gloves. I was snug as a bug and stayed perfectly warm and dry the entire run! I was hot towards the end but that is bound to happen.photo 2(31)After the run I quickly showered and headed into the city for my friends birthday brunch. Not too many pictures were taken but I of course put them into a nice little app on my phone and created a collage (after seeing the app collages vs picmonkey I think I like picmonkey better).photo 1(34)Sunday was quite the busy day, after running and brunching I had to head to the grocery store to buy a few things and cook some noms for our super bowl party. I made soy sauce meatballs and paleo chocolate chip cookies. I went with Alyssa’s cookie recipe and I thought they tasted pretty yummy. I am on the fence with how I feel about the homemade chocolate in the cookies because it just melted and looked like brown soup. Still tasted good!superbowlThat sums up my weekend and week 4 of training for the DC Rock n Roll Half!

Week 4: 26.1 Miles

Mon Jan 28 Rest / XT
60 Min Yoga DONE
Tue Jan 29 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 8:58, Core, & Soccer DONE
Wed Jan 30 Rest / XT 1 mile @ 9, Upper Body DONE
Thu Jan 31 Tempo Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 miles @ 8:25; Cool DONE
Fri Feb 1 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:01 DONE
Sat Feb 2 XT / Rest
Sun Feb 3 Long Run Dist: 13.1 Mi @ 8:55 DONE

Week 5 looks kind of boringgggg. I have a feeling that I will end up running more than what is suggested this week. I had planned on running after work today and probably still will just to get my legs moving after the long run yesterday. I am oddly sad that there is no long run scheduled for the weekend and will probably do a mid-long run anyways. Watch out – I’m a rebel!

Week 5: 19 Miles

Mon Feb 4 Rest / XT
Tue Feb 5 Easy Run Dist: 4 Mi @ 10:00 & Soccer
Wed Feb 6 Easy Run
Dist: 4 Mi @ 10:00
Thu Feb 7 Easy Run
Dist: 4 Mi @ 10:00
Fri Feb 8 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:00
Sat Feb 9 Rest / XT
Sun Feb 10 Easy Run Dist: 4 Mi @ 10:00

This post is getting super long but bare with me. Just a few more things! 1) It is Monday, which means I weighed myself. My scale is claiming that I have magically put on 9lbs since Friday! How exciting is that? I don’t really believe it and am blaming it on water retention caused by drinking, eating crappy food this weekend, and mother nature making her monthly appearance. I am not going to stress out about it because I know it is physically impossible to gain 9lbs of fat or muscle in 2 days. I’m sure by next Monday a normal number will surface. 2) January was a sobriety month and I passed with flying colors, as February rolls into full swing a new challenge has surfaced. Brennan and I are not always the best influences on one another so we decided to a 100% (booze aside – I honestly won’t be drinking much at all) paleo month. Seeing as we don’t live together we are going to check in just to make sure we are both staying on track. We are both looking forward to not having some one try to test our will power. It always happens that one of us will be craving nonsense and eventually wear the other person down to agree (who likes eating alone?!). It will be nice to have a month that we can both focus on clean eating and being good influences on each other! I’m sure by the end of the month Bren will have gained like 10 lbs in muscle and have a banging six pack, while I will probably lose a few lbs but nothing earth shattering. I promise to only give him a high five and not get jealous. For this month I’m going to try to add a little blurb at the end of my morning posts to sum up ALL the food I had just to give an idea of a full paleo day.

Morning Questions

Q: Do you ever do mini challenges? Do you prefer to do them solo or with a friend?
Q: What are your thoughts on my scales rebellion this morning? Has that ever happened to you?
Q: What did you do this weekend? Anything fun? Send me a link if you happened to have recapped!

Categories: Half Marathon Training, Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

23 replies

  1. Congrats on the impromptu half! So jealous! If I do the rock n roll as a training run, I may want to run it with you since you’re a rockstar and I feel like it will be such a good pace! But I’m still trying to find myself a ticket…. soooo…. anyways. Awesome weekend. Awesome goals. Don’t worry about a few pounds because scales are dumb and aren’t accurate. Have a great monday!

    • Ah seriously!! That would be so fun, you are definitely more of a speed monster than I am and I think trying to chase you at the end I could pull off sub 1:50. Let me know if you find a ticket!!!!

  2. Congrats on that time, Megan! Really impressive, esp after Friday night’s concert, etc…you will be even quicker when race time rolls around.

  3. Awesome job with the half! Great that you kept the awesome pace while panicking where to run 🙂 Love your mini goals! And don’t worry about the scale..it happens to me often, and hey you might be gaining muscle..which weighs more

    • If some one could gain that much muscle that quickly I think they would be famous!! BTW the run was a lot of fun and I will probably try to get back out there on Sunday! I sent you my email this weekend so we should figure out something!

  4. Oh em gee those pictures are all so fun! Seriously, though. Drive thru twice in one day…I am impressed 😉 It is not the best for your body but the BEST for those boozy mornings 😉

    Also, girl you are going to KILL your half! 1:57 on a training run…IMPRESSED!

    • Can I tell you how disgusting I felt!! I would have honestly been fine with just the first visit (TB) the second (Wendy) was totally unnecessary and I am going to make my bf throw out all the fast food coupons that show up in the mailbox. So terrible!!!! And thank you mucho, I was pretty stoked with the run and shocked that my body didn’t explode into a million little piece of shitty grade beef.

  5. Don’t forget I own an ice cream maker that is feeling neglected! you should make some for real paleo ice cream 🙂 I get a sample for suggesting this. Hey, you could even use my yogurt maker to make coconut milk yogurt or almond milk yogurt and then turn it in to froyo. You’re welcome!

  6. Look at you, going 100% Paleo! You can definitely do it! I can’t wait to hear about your experience and how it compares to your mostly-Paleo lifestyle.

    • I know! I though about you guys when Bren and I were talking about this. I think the only real difference is going to be no one bringing junk food to the party! For him it will be a little more because he normally eats bread and some sort of grain with lunch / dinner. I definitely know we can do it, a spreadsheet has already been make for documenting purposes!

      • Awesome! I was actually wondering if he already lived a mostly Paleo lifestyle or if this was new for him. As long as he doesn’t show up with any cookie cakes, you guys will be good to go! 😉

  7. Oh man, as if you ran a half marathon this weekend!! That’s so awesome, and I have no doubts that you’ll rock your half! You got the time in your “impromptu half” that I want on my actual half.. maybe I need to drink and go to fast food places before running….? Yes?! 😀

    • You can totally do it!!! I feel like that pace is the sweet spot, there are those crazies with their sub 8 minute miles that I’m just like ha never gunna happen and I feel like our 8 – 9 minutes are the happy “Oh yea I’m athletic but never gunna win anything and I think that’s awesome” kind of pace. I do not recommend taco bell as pre running fuel, that was a fluke : )

  8. AHHH. So jealous of that concert. I’ve actually wanted to go see them for some time now and they came relatively close to me last year but of course I had something going on that weekend. Glad you had a good weekend, don’t let the junk food bother you too much and 13.1 loooveeeee.

  9. I love mini challenges. They push me to eat better and work harder, and then I am able to take what I learn onto the next month. I must say that it is awesome that you have a partner in your house to hold you accountable. That will make your challenge so much more successful!

    Way to rock your long run (and an super exciting weekend)! I want to run a sub 1:50 half this year too. Have a great week and Happy Monday!

  10. I’m not going to lie, I had no idea what that picture was of until I read more heheh:). You are so creative! 🙂

  11. Great job with the run!!! That is seriously an awesome time! And you’re a brave, brave girl lol I should try that kind of layering technique next time I venture out 🙂

  12. MY goodness, my goal is ONE day to get a 2:00 half. Your time is speeeed speedy great job!! I wouldn’t worry about the weight, I think you described it perfectly for why that happened. I have “gained” 5lbs over night because of food and water intake. You need two good shits and you’ll be fine!

Trackbacks

  1. At Home Indian « Food & Fitness
  2. No Excuses, Play Like A Champion {Guest Post} |

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

