Hm, Tomorrow is Feb 1st


Week 4: 25 Miles

Mon Jan 28 Rest / XT
60 Min Yoga DONE
Tue Jan 29 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 8:58, Core, & Soccer DONE
Wed Jan 30 Rest / XT 1 mile @ 9, Upper Body DONE
Thu Jan 31 Tempo Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 miles @ 8:25; Cool DONE
Fri Feb 1 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:01
Sat Feb 2 XT / Rest
Sun Feb 3 Long Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:01

I am rather sore today and I blame that on the last two days of work outs. I have been having fun with the half bosu ball and it makes such a difference doing things like bicep curls, lateral raises, and tricep extensions while balancing on the ball. I also tried out a few different kinds of push ups yesterday. The first was walking my feet up a wall until I was in a handstand, walking them back down, and doing a push up (I mustered up 2 of those!), then I went to pike push ups, which are just a forward bend, walk your hands out until you are in plank, do a push up, walk your feet to your hands, then walk your hands out and so on. I got tired of that and decided to burn out on modified push ups. I did those until I collapsed and called it a day. My chest and shoulders are hurting today! I partially called it a day due to a slight clothing malfunction… photo 1(29)Never mind I can’t match and think that brown, 2 shades of purple, hot pink, white, AND black are a good combo… I wore my new PV.Body Ellie brand capris. They were super comfortable BUT they are brown. I sweat… A lot… certain areas of the pants started to turn darker due to my excessive sweating and I was a little bit uncomfortable so I called it a day. I blame myself not the brand though because I just should have purchased the black ones. These capris may need to be reserved only for yoga. If I sweat through in there at least the lights are low.

On top of some good sweat sessions this week I have obviously been cooking. My favorite thing of the week is by far the chocolate that was made in my kitchen last night. I took the recipe off of Alyssa‘s blog and added some sea salt after I put the mixture in the pan. My roommate and I discovered that a little bit of sunbutter with a little bit of this homemade chocolate is THE BOMB. I used dark cocoa powder instead of regular and wildflower honey. I would probably add more honey next time / cinnamon / something else to mix it up. I LOVE the plain and salted version that I already made, I just think it would be a blast to make some flavored chocolate!PicMonkey CollageWhile I probably could live off of chocolate I don’t know how my body would really handle that. So I have been making some real food as well. I used dill instead of salt on my eggs and loved the different flavor. The picture on the right is some sausage, kale, onions, zucchini, and an entire heart of romaine lettuce. Yes you heard me romaine lettuce. I HATE throwing things out and I had one romaine heart left from last week that needed to get used. I prefer mixed greens for salads so I decided to just throw it into dinner and roll with it. It made my dinner 2x the size it would have been other wise so I was totally fine with it!PicMonkey Collage1 In other news – wrapping up January means that I succeeded in my mouth of no booze! I am actually tempted tonight because of an impromptu invite to a concert. My roommate is going to see Walk the Moon tonight and texted me earlier today to say one of her friends dropped out so I jumped on the ticket. I fell in love with this band when I went to the Firefly Festival last summer. I’m so excited!! It is unfortunate that is not February yet but I will live… I will be going to Avicii tomorrow and drinking then but I am a little nervous about my body handling the booze. I see my alcoholic beverages being washing down by lots of water and being well spaced out. In addition to 2 concerts back to back I also bought tickets to see David Guetta! What is going on with me and all this rave type music?! I am going for a friends birthday – just goes to show that I can handle just about any concert if I am with the right people.

Afternoon Questions

Q: For all you runners / athlete readers – do you drink? A lot, a little, not at all? Just curious!
I’ve turned into a wine lover, I see myself probably have a little on Fridays but the weekdays / Saturday are probably a no go because of running.
Q: Any shows lined up this year??
I’m pretty amazed that between January and March I will have been to 4. So not like me at all!
Q: Homemade chocolate… how soon until you make it?

**Don’t forget to enter to win a tank top from AMRAP!

Categories: Food, Half Marathon Training

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I don’t drink often, but when I do I really throw it down (said in the voice of the Dos Equis guy).

    I dig that crazy shirt you are wearing.

    • Why thank you! It was actually bought with the intent of being a nice shirt (its banana republic I’m pretty sure) but I started to wear it in summer to festivals and it all went down hill!

  2. ZOMG I am BEYOND jealous that you are going to to see Walk the Moon tonight!!! Gah, I cannot wait to read about how it was tomorrow (assuming you’ll post about it!). SO EXCITED FOR YOU! As for that chocolate.. I need to make some, sounds so easy. I am with ya on the black tights for working out..I am a sweat machine as well!!

  3. Wait… but I like that outfit… hahaha Anyways I don’t drink and part of that is because I’m not 21 (okay, let’s be real. I could drink if I wanted to) but I also just don’t want to lose control and I’d rather EAT my calories.

  4. No booze for me. I’m not against it, but I just struggle with the idea these days. I drank a good amount in HS/early college, and I haven’t found the love of wine. Hard alcohol and a run just don’t go together..for me haha. I sweat a lot too, but I have found pants that don’t show the sweat no matter how much I sweat. From JC Penny and Target nonetheless. My American Apparel pants I was given from pv.body are ok too, but there are pants that wont show the sweat!

  5. Oh I drink all right! I also love wine!!!
    Lately have toned it down, my boyfriend is on a 3 month hiatus from beer! So I am sort of following along…sort of!

  6. Ummmm so funny story, I actually like, dated the guitarist from Walk the Moon, for like, a month. He’s not in the band anymore, but it’s still kind of funny. They weren’t super famous when I knew him!

  7. Just want to warn you guys that there’s a lot of uncool happenings over at PV Body! My sister & I both canceled our accounts after getting tons of empty promises and the runaround from them.

    http://sarahfit.com/ugh-sorry-guys-pvbody-change

  8. wow awesome excercise plus healthy meal? can’t go wrong! a glass of red wine though they say it’s good for you. 🙂

  9. What wine is your favorite? Also, I love sphynx pushups but damn they are hard! Or even tricep side lying pushups. Thanks for the motivation to get my sweat on tomorrow!

Trackbacks

  1. Few Days of Eats « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

