Eats and Animal Flow Inspired Workout


I feel like it has been awhile since sharing food pictures and a workout! Don’t worry I am about to cover both.

Breakfast

photo 1(27)1/2 large sweet potato, 2 eggs over easy, and some homemade paleo barbeque sauce.

Workout

Started off with a 3 mile training run @ 8:58 pace and ended with an Animal Flow inspired sweat session. All you need for this is a little bit of space, one heavy weight, and a half bosu ball. By the end you will be a sweaty mess like yours truly! (Can you see the sweat coming off my nose? Yes I know, I’m wildly attractive.)

PicMonkey Collage1) 15 side bend w/ 35lb weight on bosu ball – right side
2) 15 side bend w/ 35lb weight on bosu ball – left side
3) 10 push ups on bosu ball
4) Beast cross over, 10 each side

Repeat 3x

How to: 1&2) flip the bosu ball upside down, squat down and plant your feet on the flat surface, pick up the weight from in front of you and stand up. Slow and in control bend to the side of the hand the weight is in, slowly come back up, Do 15 and switch sides. 3) With the bosu ball upside down grab the handles and do a normal push up. This will super charge the core strength you are using! 4) Starting on your hands and knees inch toes forward about and inch and hover your knees an inch of the ground. Take your right leg and cross under your body to the left so that you left arm comes off the ground and straighten your leg with it hovering an inch off the ground. Return your leg back to the start, never letting your knees touch the ground. Do the same with your left leg and repeat until you have 10 on each side.

Lunch

photo 2(25)photo 3(20)Mixed greens salad with cucumber, tomato, sauteed mushrooms, and baked chicken. Topped with homemade spicy balsamic vinaigrette. For dessert baby piece of Figgy Date Sunny Bar & Mango Bar!

Week 4: 24 Miles

Mon Jan 28 Rest / XT
60 Min Yoga DONE
Tue Jan 29 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 8:58, Core, & Soccer DONE
Wed Jan 30 Rest / XT
Thu Jan 31 Tempo Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 miles @ 8:33; Cool
Fri Feb 1 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:01
Sat Feb 2 XT / Rest
Sun Feb 3 Long Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:01

Soccer tonight is at 8PM, which is the EARLIEST game of the season! I am beyond excited to get home and to bed at a reasonable hour. Who knows I may get to dig into a book that has been sitting at my house for the last 2 weeks all sad and lonely.

Afternoon Questions

Q: What is your favorite kind of work out day?
Q: Do you prefer working out at home or at a gym?
Q: Have you ever played in any adult sport leagues?

Categories: Half Marathon Training

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. My favorite work out day. Running, yoga, and zumba. All in one. Loving life on those days haha your salad looks reallyyyy yummy! Love chicken and lettuce. I don’t know why haha but it always hits the spot.

    • I was just thinking today about how much I enjoy multiple sweat session in a day. Tuesday are the best because I get to run then play soccer and I’m all happy. I don’t know how I would do with a triple threat day so I’ll leave those to you : )

  2. Love the sweaty goodness. 🙂 And BBQ sauce on eggs sounds perfect. Why have I never thought of that?!

    • This was a first for me too! I ran out of hot sauce at my bfs and didn’t want to take the bottle from my house so I thought hm, I need to eat this stuff soon anyways! It was so yum!

  3. That breakfast looks awesome!

    Q: What is your favorite kind of work out day? I love any workout day that requires pulling exercises. I feel that I am a much better puller then I am pusher.
    Q: Do you prefer working out at home or at a gym? GYM GYM GYM!
    Q: Have you ever played in any adult sport leagues? Not yet but I graduate college in May so I can already feel the adult leagues coming on!

    • Very interesting with the pulling vs pushing – I literally do ZERO pulling exercises. I should work on that. Adult leagues are seriously the best. I play with some bad asses, like well known surgeons from GW Hospital and are fricken ninjas on the soccer field.

  4. I would love to join an adult soccer rec league team!! But I have not played soccer since 7th grade!

    • Don’t let that stop you! I played soccer in 4th grade or something like that prior to joining an adult league. Now I do 1 indoor and 2 outdoor seasons a year. People are super nice and I bet you will have a blast!

  5. LOL, if that didn’t sound intense it def looks like it from the photo. Those fig bars also look amazing. I could def go for some for dessert right now as well.

    • They seriously are. I am going to make a bunch this weekend. I have only eaten them as desserts this week ha, no energy for this gal, bring on the figs! (funny enough making these was the first time I’ve ever had a fig, or date for that matter, I had been missing out)

  6. I would like to find a volleyball league for the BOY and I but we don’t belong to a gym so I’m hoping maybe one day. I have a totally random blog related question…How do you do the 4 photos like that. It looks awesome!

  7. I like the gym for classes, but I like outside for running. I played soccer one year at my community college, but after that no mas! Awesome workout!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

