Prepping For Success


I like to think that I am not the only person who can have a less than stellar week in the food department. I mentioned that I chowed on some chocolate cookies and tortilla chips last week, but what I didn’t mention was the two cupcakes I had (you may be thinking oh cupcakes boohoo, but a cupcake from Crumbs is the size of your head) and just the excessiveness in general (multiple pulled pork servings…). I can’t think of anything truly horrible minus the triple threat sweet treats but in general I was just craving junk food all week. Seeing as it is Monday I weighed myself… down .7lbs. Not fabulous but I will take it.

I think that one of the problems I have is that I do not buy enough snacks. This week I made sure to stock up on all of my favorite healthy snacks. I have 7 bananas, 5 oranges, and 4 apples just in the fruit department. On top of those I have 3 Figgy Date Sunny Bars and the majority of the Mango Almond Date Bars (I got the boy to try the first and he was hesitant at first but then asked for 2nds and 3rds… also got a thumbs up from the roomie SO if you are going to choose, make the first bar, they are just fricken unreal). I also went ahead and prepped a ton of food Sunday evening. Taking 30 minutes I was able to bake and slice 3 chicken breasts, 3 tomatoes, 1 giant cucumber, and a mango. I also cooked 8oz’s of mushrooms because we are out of brown bags for storage!Food PrepGreens looked really good this week so I decided that lunch was going to be salads and figured I would make my life easier in the morning by cutting everything up ahead of time. I also whipped up a batch of dressing that went a little something like this –

Spicy Balsamic Vinaigrette
1 part balsamic vinegar
2 part olive oil
1/2 part spicy brown mustard
1/4 part lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste

I think I will be just dandy for lunches this week. Plus with all the fruit and bars I have I definitely will not be craving anything sweet. Well that is the hope at least!

It is officially week 4 of training and runnersworld.com has prescribed the following week of work outs:

Week 4: 24 Miles

Mon Jan 28 Rest / XT
Tue Jan 29 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:01, Core, & Soccer
Wed Jan 30 Rest / XT
Thu Jan 31 Tempo Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 miles @ 8:33; Cool
Fri Feb 1 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:01
Sat Feb 2 XT / Rest
Sun Feb 3 Long Run Dist: 12 Mi @ 10:01

12 miles this week! It doesn’t seem so scary any more, which is good! The 11 milers the last two weekends were completely doable and I know I could continue running another. I am not sure if I will work out today or not. All government offices are closed until 10am because of freezing rain and bad driving conditions so I am not sure if taking a lunch will be possible with the hours I need to make up. Plus my body is crazy sore / achey from running and Animal Flow yesterday. PLUS I woke up at my standard 6am time, ate breakfast, and then remembered that the office was closed so hopped back in bed to watch GIRLS. Now I just want to nap all day, the idea of working out and moving heavy things seems like a total unicorn.

Morning Questions

Q: How do you find the motivation to work out when its grey and gross outside?
Q: Who wants to just stay home and watch movies today?!
Q: Do you prep ahead for meals for the week?

Categories: Half Marathon Training

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 replies

  1. I know what you mean–not having enough snacks on hand at all times can lead to some seriously bad consequences when you’re starving. Kudos to righting the ship this week!

  2. Prepping food for the work week ahead is one of my favorite weekend rituals. I didn’t get around to it this weekend because I leave on Friday so I don’t want a bunch of food in the house, but prepping chicken and veggies and snacks, definitely smart thinking!

  3. I definitely had a bad weekend for sure. Texas Roadhouse Friday, Ihop, pizza and ice cream Saturday, and Mexican food sunday. Not ok hahaha

  4. Nice work. I think my problem is also that I don’t have a lot of snacks. I’m sitting here typing this and it’s 10:30 and I’m starving…great…Glad to hear you getting back on track and .7 is still a loss!

  5. I need to meal prep. If I don’t, I end up eating some things I really should be. Great idea 🙂

  6. Haha, I love your comment about Crumbs cupcakes. I had my first one in December when I visited NYC and ohhhh wow, it was AMAZING!

  7. Ugh tellll mee about it, wanting to stay inside. It’s so depressing outside. And cold. I love your meal prep kit!

  8. I love having veggies prepped and ready to go. I always make grilled chicken for the week on Sundays, too:)

  9. I want a cupcakes the size of my head………

  10. I usually prep some stuff, mostly the night before just because I don’t have a lot of room in my fridge and I think my mom would flip out if I had lots of Tupper wear 😉

  11. Planning healthy meals/snacks in advance is a must for me. If I don’t plan out my meals and purchase healthy snacks I will eat mexican food and frozen pizzas every night.

    And don’t beat yourself up over a bad spurt of eating – everyone does it! Just use that as fuel to eat healthy the next day! Sometimes after I eat a lot of junk, I actually crave healthy foods and it serves as a good reminder of how healthy foods can make me feel so energetic and happy.

    And can we please just stay home the rest of the week and watch movies?? I vote yes.

  12. I love to prep ahead but it just doesn’t always happen. My fav things to prep ahead are overnight oats (love to grab and go in the morning like a zombie) and salads. I also will prep brown rice, lentils, quinoa, and veggies so I can dump them into dishes later in the week.

    • Those are definitely good ones to prep ahead. I’m weird with raw chicken being in the fridge for more than a few hours so I like cooking it all at once. Probably why I rarely have it for dinner any more!

      • When I used to eat chicken or when I make it for Rob I often cook a few at once so I don’t have to touch it more than once! lol I keep his frozen though because I try to buy it on sale.

  13. Way to go on all that prep work! I’m sure it will make a big difference in your week. I love to make hummus and chopped veggies ahead of time and tons of veggie soups. If it’s gray and cloudy, I remind myself that it could be raining with snow and that I am lucky to be able to run outdoors.

  14. For me, snacking is super important. If I don’t have an afternoon snack at work, I will literally binge when I get home. It’s not a pretty site. Maybe a cereal box has been emptied that way 😉 haha but don’t beat yourself up over it! Just jump right back on track 🙂

  15. Nice blog! And I love your website layout. For me prepping food is day by day, usually the night before. My workouts vary daily, planning the next day’s workout after I leave the gym from that days killer session. Then I match my food according to how my bodies feeling.

    And for those rainy gross days, I watch the Rocky IV clip of him training in the Russian snow and log cabin. Then I throw on my worn out sweat pants and beat up shirt and hit the gym “Rocky” style! For me, its all in the clothes lol 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Eats and Animal Flow Inspired Workout « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

