Paleo Pulled Pork


Paleo Pulled  Pork

2.50 lb pork loin center cut roast – boneless
1 large sweet yellow onion – sliced
3.5 cups beef broth
2 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp salt
½ tsp habanero sea salt
black pepper

This recipe really can not get any easier. Take your piece of pork and put it in the crock pot, cover with the onions and all the spices, add in the broth, and cook on low for 8-12 hours. Mine cooked for a little over 7 and it was still great. I just made the mistake of putting it in at 4pm and I was tired so shortly after 11pm it came out. IMG_4635photo 1(23)After the time is up take two forks to the pot and shred up the pork. I typically try to be careful not to scratch the crock pot, if you love yours do the same!photo 2(21)With a large slotted spoon transfer all of the pork and onions to a large tupper ware. Put the remaining liquid into a separate container.photo 4(12)This stuff tastes like gold. DO NOT THROW IT OUT. So far I have been eating the pulled pork as tacos with homemade sweet and tangy bbq or served over some paleo bread and covered with this golden delicious juice. **Hint – once the juice makes its way to the fridge and cools off all of the fat will harden and float to the top, it will also be bright orange, use a spoon or a itty bitty strainer to scoop off the excess fat. photo 3(16)

Random Fun Facts

Back in October I treated myself to some new training gear, including running shoes. I LOVE these shoes – Nike Relentless II, so I went and bought them in purple and they arrived the next day with free shipping (Zappos – I love you). I have only put about 300 miles on the pink ones but I can feel them wearing out so I wanted to add another shoe into the rotation, they are also only $65, which is a treat in the world of running kicks.photo 5(7)I decided not to go to yoga last night and I think it was a good decision, instead I watched Hart of Dixie (another guilty pleasure) and let the bod relax. A good night on the couch mixed in with doing some laundry is just what the Dr ordered! I have no clue what I am going to do at the gym today, my abs are BURNING from the gym yesterday. I didn’t bother sharing what I did because I didn’t think it was that great but I am realizing I was totally wrong… So a down and dirty sub 10 minute ab work out:

20 sit ups on ball 
20 sit ups with right twist on ball 
20 sit ups with left twist on ball 
20 push ups 
x2

Week 3: 24 Miles

Mon Jan 21 Rest
Rest
Tue Jan 22 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 9:00, Core, & Soccer DONE
Wed Jan 23 XT Crossfit / Stretching / Abs
Thu Jan 24 Tempo Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 miles @ 8:34; Cool
Fri Jan 25 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:03
Sat Jan 26 XT / Rest
Sun Jan 27 Long Run Dist: 11 Mi @ 10:03

Morning Questions

Q: How many pairs of shoes do you rotate? What is your favorite pair right now?
Q: What was your last online purchase? – Aside from shoes I bought a bunch of coconut oil and dates!

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

20 replies

  1. I love so many things about this post! I plan on cooking a pork shoulder this weekend (a little differently than you did) but I think I’m going to try your BBQ sauce! Can’t wait.

    I love your running sneakers! I’m definitely going to go check those out – I can’t believe they’re only $65!

    And lastly, Hart of Dixie is one of my guilty pleasures too. Although I don’t think I would admit that to many people haha.

  2. The pulled pork looks delicious. I gotta try making that, I’m kind of afraid to buy pork? Do you get it at the meat counter? And I just got my new running shoes a little bit ago, I’m thinking I should track how many miles I put on these and make sure I buy a new pair when I need to. I waited WAY too long last time, don’t want to do that again!

    • I am glad you asked this actually, this was my first time ever buying pork. You can get them at the counter or you can get them (at least in my grocery store) by where you would get ground beef / burgers / steaks. I picked out the lone ranger of the pork loin, I hear people to shoulders too but I have yet to spot one in my grocery store. You can also use pork chops!

  3. I love your shoes! 65 dollars only?! Where did you find such a steal!
    My last purchase was a groupon at this salon I really like by me. A haircut, style and manicure for only 25 dollars? Can’t go wrong!

    • They are actually $65 everywhere, Zappos is free shipping (i got mine over night?!?) and has ALLLL the colors, so happy. Nice find! I realized this week I haven’t cut my hair since last March, I would say I am due.

      • Oh goodness I’d say so! I waited like 6 months to get a haircut and the difference afterwards on how healthy my hair was was unreal. I’m def going to hit up zappos when I need new sneaks!

  4. I like using shoulder because it’s more flavorful and cheap. It’s a tougher cut which lends itself to long cooking times. But It’s also fattier, which is probably why it’s rarely recommended for diets.

    And yes, Zappos ROCKS!!

    • I can not find these mythical pork shoulders I keep hearing about!! I also get nervous staring into the meat section for too long because because people try to ask me if I need help and when I ask for what I want and it rings up being expensive I have to slyly place it in a refrigerated area when no one is looking so I don’t have to buy it…

  5. I’m supposed to go get new shoes today, but I hate the price tag!! My shoes are almost a year old. FAR over their 400 mile-ish limit. Yikes!

    • 400 miles?! That is really all, good grief. I normally do like 6ish months / when I get blisters I will buy a new pair to rotate in.

      • I switched to a “barefoot” form about 3 years ago, using Vibram Five Fingers for about half my weekly milage, and completely barefoot for the rest. The switch was slow and difficult (35 miles/week to 3, and then built back up over 5 months) but the benefits are astonishing – no injuries since the switch, and ~20% faster (1:55 half-marathon to 1:37 half-marathon). In addition to getting faster, I’ve noticed that my Vibrams get 1500 miles (+/-) per pair now. It’s drastically different from when I used to change my shoes every 3 months!

  6. We just started our strength training and abs at track yesterday and I’m not feeling it yet. I think I need to step up the intensity. This ab workout looks perfect for that 🙂

  7. If you take the crock out and put it in the fridge over night after about 4 hours of cooking, you can scoop the fat out right then. Then put the crock back in and resume cooking for the remainder of the 4 hours. I find that the flavor of the dish is better that way too. Of course, I’ve never done a side-by-side…

    • Thanks for the idea! I would have never thought to do that. It would also be great for those time when you want to go to sleep and just finish the cooking the am!

      • Definitely! And if you’re a planner, you can partially-cook the night before, then set your crock (if you have one of these) to start cooking at 1:00 the next day, and it will be done and ready for dinner! Another option: you can cook the first part in the crock, chill it over night and pick off the fat in the morning, then put the crock in the oven and program the oven to be done for dinner (make sure your crock-lid doesn’t have a plastic handle…).

  8. Sometimes a night off is exactly what your mind and body need! that recipe looks awesome! I will definitely have to try it!

    My favorite running shoes are my Brooks Pure Cadence but in the witner i rotate in the Brooks Adrenaline trail shoe for outdoor runs and snow. I love buying new running shoes (I get them ever 4 months or so) and I will be ready for a new pair come spring!

Trackbacks

  1. 15 Minutes In H-E Double Hockey Stick « Food & Fitness
  2. I Almost Thought Friday Would Never Come « Food & Fitness
  3. CrockPot Challenge « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

