North Face Endurance Challenge


After a little deliberation and pawning off the decision to a ultra marathon runner buddy I am happy to say that yours truly is signed up for the DC North Face Endurance Challenge on June 9th!! This race offers a few different distance, starting at a 5k all the way up to a 50 miler, I decided that sticking to wanting to do a half marathon every quarter this year I should do the 13.1 distance. I signed up for this at 6am this morning, so very little in the way of doubting myself. It is like ripping off a band aid! Better to do it quick, no need to psych myself out and think “I don’t know if I can do this” so I just did it. Now it will be a waste of money if I don’t run so you can bet your bottom I will be there.

Eats

Moving on – I was pretty excited to share a crock pot pulled pork recipe with you guys today BUT I forgot to email the recipe to myself this morning, looks like you will have to wait until tomorrow. It is fricken delicious and tastes so good with the barbecue sauce I made yesterday. The pulled pork was not ready to be shredded until 11:30pm last night so I cooked up some random things for dinner, nothing exciting so I didn’t take any pictures. I did however make a yummy dessert.photo 1(19)

1 banana sliced up with a drizzle of wild flower honey, a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice, and a bit of unsweetened coconut flakes. YUM! This paired perfectly while I watched The Bachelor last night!

Per usual breakfast was sweet potato, eggs, and avocado… I am curious when I will get sick of this meal, I don’t see that time coming in the near future.photo 2(18)

Week 3: 24 Miles

Mon Jan 21 Rest
Rest
Tue Jan 22 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:03, Core, & Soccer
Wed Jan 23 XT Crossfit / Stretching / Abs
Thu Jan 24 Tempo Run
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 miles @ 8:34; Cool
Fri Jan 25 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 10:03
Sat Jan 26 XT / Rest
Sun Jan 27 Long Run Dist: 11 Mi @ 10:03

Not working yesterday threw me off a little and I didn’t get around to working out. I had planned on it but by the time I had finished cooking it was dark out so I remained a couch potato for the day. I didn’t take a rest day last week though so it’s all good. I plan on doing the 3 miles on the treadmill today because it is freaking cold out. Soccer tonight is in a gym instead of the bubble we sometimes play in and that is great news because the bubble can be quite cold. I can see my relationship with the dreadmill growing because of this whole sub 30 degree thing that is going on, not cool winter, not cool.

Q: What is your temp point for bringing a run inside?
Q: Is any one signed up for this North Face race?? I love friends…

PS – I made a Facebook page, it is pretty boring right now but I promise I will make it cool soon. You should definitely like it : ) There is a box to your right OR you can click here.

Categories: Half Marathon Trail Training

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 replies

  1. Wow, I totally would’ve never thought to use pumpkin pie spice on top of a banana for extra flavoring! Genius.

  2. Good morning!
    Just “liked” your new FB page! Congrats on getting it started. FYI…your link above (“there is a box to your right or you can click here”) is broken. Congrats on taking the plunge this morning and signing up for your Endurance Challenge!

  3. Congrats on signing up! It really is like ripping off a band-aid sometimes, you just gotta do it! You’ll rock it, I am sure. I have started eating breakfasts inspired by you (eggs & veg and NO wheat!) and I am feeling fuller longer, more energy in the mornings and I have you to thank for it!! 🙂

    • Wooo!! Happy belly! Glad to hear it : ) It’s funny because the breakfast I eat is something I found on a blog too… and even if you look at my blog once a week you can quickly see I eat the same thing every morning. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it!

  4. Congrats! That sounds like so much fun!!! I’m going to like your page now 🙂

  5. Wahooo that is so exciting that you signed up for the race 🙂 And you have another like on facebook!

  6. I’m with you on the band aid analogy. I have to just DO it or I will convince myself not to!! Awesome job.

  7. I’ve actually heard of the North Face challenge and it seems awesome. Can’t wait to see how you do!

  8. Anything below 30 I start to question if it’s a really good idea running outside. I also think about how windy it is though because wind chills are nasty!

  9. Yay for signing up for another race! You’re totally right, once you’ve paid, it’s not like you’re not gonna run, so it forces you to work for it. Can’t wait to see the crockpot recipe later, I’m getting ready to bust mine out again. Would you believe I actually like running in the cold? Wearing a jacket and gloves and a headband. It’s kind of fun and makes me feel like a “real” runner. I’d probably draw the line at anything below 20 degrees.

  10. Congrats on your race. So exciting! I love the 13.1 distance! I don’t have an actualy temp that means I won’t go outside but I definitely hit the indoor track today. It is REALLY COLD! The benefit of the track is that i was motivated to do an interval run. I can’t move right now, but it was a great workout.

    Ps looking forward to seeing your pulled pork recipe. You know how i love that crockpot!

  11. Signing up at 6 a.m. is a great idea I love it! You are gonna rock that half!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

