Long Weekend Recipe Round Up – Paleo Style


I just love long weekends, they are the best. Saturday I kept busy with Sasha and hiking, Sunday I tackled my longest run to date and went and saw Ellie Goulding (she was amazing BTW), and today I became the paleo version of Martha Stewart. Before any eating went on I hopped on the scale because it is Monday and I chose today to be the weekly weigh in day for my 2013 “get hs skinny” goal. Well great news, although I have been eating chocolate on a daily basis I lost another 1.9 lbs this week, which brings the total of the year to 4.5 lbs in 3 weeks, fine by me! After seeing I was victorious I celebrated by creating a giant (healthy) breakfast feast. IMG_4628

Breakfast was made up of: 3oz top sirloin, 1 over easy egg, 1/3 large avocado, 3 strips of homemade bacon, and some sweet potato “hash”. The bacon was a gift from the boy’s boss and was delicious, a little salty for my taste but once I paired it up with everything else in one forkful it was perfect! The hash is just grated sweet potato and onion cooked with a little butter and salt and papper.

Once I got home I got to work on getting some pork into the slow cooker for pulled pork and decided to start crafting my own paleo friendly barbecue sauce. To say the kitchen turned into a bit of a mess would be an understatement… IMG_4636 IMG_4637

My computer was safely on the stove as I wrote down everything I put into the barbecue sauce in hopes that it turned out delicious so I could share it. Well it was a success. I am beyond happy with this barbecue and excited for the pork to do its thing in the crock so I can make myself some lettuce wrapped pulled pork sliders! I will have to wait until tomorrow though because I didn’t get the pork on until 4pm today and it need to go for abouter 10 hours.

Sweet & Spicy Barbecue Sauce

6 oz can tomato paste
½ cup water
2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon paprika
3 tablespoon wild flower honey
2 tablespoon good maple syrup
1 tablespoon spicy brown mustard
3 tablespoons salsa
½ tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon texas pete hot sauce
1 cup beef broth
*optional – 1 tsp chili powder

Sounds scary I know but chances are you have all of this in your house already! As the recipe title suggests this little gem is sweet and spicy. Whisk all of the ingredients together and bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and stir / cook for 20 – 30 minutes. Do not get cranky if you don’t love the taste before it cooks, it becomes amazing, I promise. The reason I put optional for the chili powder is because I am just not a huge chili powder fan, I used it and decided to omit it from the recipe when I make it again but once the sauce cooked there really wasn’t anything I wanted to change, so use the chili powder if you want to or not, it will be great either way!

In other news I have decided that I do not want to run 4 half marathons this year. I am going to do the half in March, I want to do a TRAIL half marathon in June, ANDDDD I am tentatively saying that I want to find a full marathon for the fall. I told myself I would never want to do a full marathon but after the 10 miler last weekend and the 11 miles yesterday I really do not think that I will have an issue, with the right training(!!!), finishing a marathon. Plus the trail running yesterday was a ton of fun, which is why I want to do a trail race this summer! I did a quick search of September marathons in the DC metro area but haven’t found one yet. The hunt is still on!

Q: What is the most challenging race you have ever done? Was it mentally or physically challenging?
Q: Did you cook anything good the weekend??

Categories: Paleo Recipes, Running

Tags: , , , , , ,

31 replies

  1. Why can’t ever weekend be a long weekend?! The most challenging race I’ve ever done was my first (and only) half marathon that I ran last year! I’m glad I did it though 🙂

  2. I made some great chili this weekend and some PB bonbons. Yum! I’m working on another crockpot recipe right now. It’s way to cold to move…ha ha! I did my first marathon in 2011 and I am looking forward to doing my second this year. It is physically and emotionally challenging but if you train, then I think it is doable!

  3. Oh man, that sauce sounds great! And I am so proud of your weightloss! I’m about 20 pounds for high school weight, but would love to get back down there for my wedding 🙂

    • Thank you!! With realistic goals it seems so much more doable now! I am not holding myself to a specific number at all, I’ll take any drop I can get and I will just keep doing my thing! I think having races spread out all year that are new and challenging will keep me on track! You can do it!

  4. This weekend we made tacos which were pretty awesome. I also did some more unpacking. My weekend was pretty boring compared to yours. The sweet potato hash sounds really good!

  5. I want to try to eat paleo, but i’m just so in love with carbs. #fatgirlproblems hahahaha

    • I think you will be pleasantly surprised, I am not a bread / pasta gal but I LOVE chips and salsa… I eat them probably monthly and love every minute of it and then feel gross and bloated after. I just love never being bloated! I ate that giant breakfast and still felt skinny AKA #WINNING

      • Seriously, I think I’m going to try and eat Paleo 80% of the time. I’m a HUGE pasta/bread girl – not so much chips but bread and pasta is MY LIFE hahaha it would be a HUGE lifestyle change, but I think it would be a good one. I just have to figure out which meats I like since the only meat I really ever eat is chicken….

      • Well I’m obsessed with sausage right now… and currently have a 2 1/2 pork loin in the crock pot for pulled pork… try your crock pot! If you want to seriously chat about how to make paleo realistic and not break the bank email me! I love chatting!!!

  6. My hardest race was defintitely my first and only trail run. Mind you I never did trail running before. It took place at a ski resort so the first 1.5 miles was all steep uphill with nasty rocks. Then I did a completely superman tripping over a branch. It was definitely both a physical and mental challenge!

  7. Congrats on the long run! All your paleo eats look amazing- I so need to make that sweet potato hash:) And I’m jealous you saw Ellie Goulding- she is the best!

    • I was surrounded by some drunko dancing queens and was about to start elbowing people so we snuck out before the encore. It was too bad but it was too crowded for my sanity. She was awesome though!

  8. Whoop whoop on the weight loss!! Slow and steady, that’s the perfect way to do it!! I hate/love trail running. I hate it because it’s hard, and I love it because it’s hard. My hardest race may just have been the only trail race I did. My god it was tough.

  9. Congrats on the weight loss! I’ve got 12 more lbs to go for my own goal! My hardest run was my very first 1/2 marathon last February. I started running at the age of 47 and ran the Disney Princess 1/2 in Orlando. I barely made it across the finish line but I crossed! I wasn’t going for time, just wanted to finish so GOAL ACCOMPLISHED! Since then I have run 5 more 1/2’s and will be running the Disney Princess 1/2 again next month. I am loving 1/2 marathons and can’t wait for the next one! Maybe we’ll run the same 1/2 one day! 🙂

    • Nice job!! When I crossed the finish line for the half I did I felt like I was going to die. Just goes to show how training makes all the difference! Now when I do long runs I’m totally happy after and have the delusion I am going to run a marathon!

      And I am hoping to run into some blog friends one of these days at a race, I think I would probably squeal, jump up and down, and say “I know her!!!”

  10. I’m SO glad you shared a BBQ sauce recipe. I plan on slow cooking a huge pork shoulder this weekend and was looking for the perfect sauce. I’m definitely making this. 🙂

  11. YES! go for the marathon!! I’d love to follow your training efforts for it as ONE DAY (in a million years) I’d love to train for one.

    • I am a little scurred. I am going to finish out the training I have until March 16th but after that I’m not sure how to prep for the trial run / marathon. It should be interesting, especially if the heat is anything like it was last year! BTW in a million years you will be may to old : P

  12. I had to laugh at your laptop on the oven… I do the same thing!!! Limited counter space means getting creative lol

Trackbacks

  1. North Face Endurance Challenge « Food & Fitness
  2. Obligatory Crappy Run « Food & Fitness
  3. Paleo Pulled Pork « Food & Fitness
  4. [Paleo] Pumpkin Bread Bars «
  5. 15 Minutes In H-E Double Hockey Stick « Food & Fitness
  6. Eats and Animal Flow Inspired Workout « Food & Fitness
  7. Recipes On My Radar « Food & Fitness
  8. Few Days of Eats « Food & Fitness
  9. [Paleo] Sweet & Sour BBQ Sauce |

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

