Gosh Darnit


On the agenda for the day was a 2 mile shake out. I have given up trying to run the Tuesday and Friday runs at this 10 min pace nonsense so I ended up with hanging at 6.5 on the dreadmill. The lovely print out is courtesy of The Traveling WOD. I’m currently cursing my idea to do this because I pinched a nerve in either my elbow or my should and my thumb and pointer finger of my left hand are now numb / pins and needles. I pinched a nerve in college that effected the other fingers and I lost all strength and real use of it for almost 2 months! I had to take all my finals on a computer because I couldn’t hold a pen / pencil. I’m slightly terrified and praying to the fitness gods that my hand will regain feeling by the end of the day. A girl can dream right?

This work out was brutal. When I haven’t done handstands before in a work out and they flipping suck. I am not even close to be a sweet crossfitter. I would be that girl hiding in the corner crying because I’m upside down. I didn’t cry but I was definitely swearing. I starting singing “Oh when the saints” in my head (aka quietly out loud) while I was inverted to try to distract myself. I am glad I was able to finish it, this work out did make me feel like a weak little duckling though. Guess I’ll just have to keep practicing.photo(9)

Week 2: 22 Miles

Mon Jan 14 XT
Crossfit / Stretching / Abs DONE
Tue Jan 15 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @ 8:35, Core, & Soccer DONE
Wed Jan 16 XT Crossfit / Stretching / Abs DONE
Thu Jan 17 Speedwork
Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 3×1600 in 8:03 w/800 jogs; Cool DONE
Fri Jan 18 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @ 9:20 & Shoulder / Core Demo DONE
Sat Jan 19 Rest
Sun Jan 20 Long Run Dist: 11 Mi @ 10:05

After doing some blog reading today on landed on a recipe on Maggie’s blog M=1. She calls the gem I fell for Creamy Chicken and Leek Casserole(and yes it is paleo). I plan on making this my own by using chicken and sausage for the meat source and adding in broccoli and possibly some other vegetables. We are hitting up the grocery store after work to get coconut milk and leeks so we will see what looks inspiring! If you have any suggestions to make this recipe even more awesome lemme know. I love to pick other peoples cooking brains!

Q: Any advice on this numb hand situation?

Categories: Workouts

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. I’ve never really pinched a nerve before (knocks on wood) but a lot of my friends have. They’ve told me what apain it can be. I hope you feel better soon and dinner sounds yummy!

  2. I hope you are ok. I have a pinched nerve somewhere in my neck. It’s not fun except when it causes my peck muscles to twitch and I take off my shirt to show my kids…they think I am the Rock (Dwayne Johnson) in some movie when he does they peck pop of love. Any way that is the only time it’s fun because they like it. I hope yours is just temporary.

  3. I recommend seeing a massage therapist and having them work specifically on your arm. I was experiencing numbness in my hand/forearm this past summer and it helped immensely after I got some bodywork done on it. Shortly after, it went away.

  4. Ack I hope you’re okay and feel better soon! Hopefully it’s temporary and feeling back to normal already 🙂 That workout does look brutal — I’m so impressed by your handstanding ability. Handstands, being upside down, really scares me. I love the idea to quietly sing a song as a distraction lol.

  5. That’s crazy about your hand but what it got me thinking was “why are so many bloggers lefties” haha. I don’t know why my mind went straight to that but it’s definitely an interesting question!
    I love your blog! I’m always looking for fitness motivation and inspiration so thank you. Can’t wait to read more 🙂
    SoFitandSoGreen.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Fountainhead Regional Park « Food & Fitness
  2. No Excuses, Play Like A Champion {Guest Post} |

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

