______ & Bacon.


I had you at bacon didn’t I? One of the joys of paleo living is that bacon has zero guilt. Now paleo literature does not tell you to eat bacon on a daily basis or anything but recipes out there definitely use this little nugget to make things taste delicioussssss. Dinner last night was a combined effort of the remaining vegetables and meat from the week. There is no rhyme or reason to what was made, outside of it being on hand. In any event it was delicious.photo 1(18)Vegetable Side: Heat a dollop of EVOO over medium heat. Add about 5oz of sliced mushrooms, some oregano, thyme, and greek seasoning, cook for about 5 minutes. Once the mushrooms look close to done add in a good sized handful of spinach leaves, some minced garlic, and a bit of fresh lemon juice. Cook until the spinach is wilted and serve!photo 2(17) Meat Superstar: Cut into equal sized pieces: 1 large Hot Italian Sausage, 1 chicken breast, and 4 slices of bacon. Add to a medium / large pan over medium heat and cook until the bacon is crispy and the chicken and sausage are cooked through. Adding seasoning is optional here. The bacon and sausage will flavor the chicken perfectly, if you want to add anything else feel free. There WILL be a good amount of fat rendered from the bacon so drain out of the pan or place the meat on a paper towel before you transfer it to a plate. The bacon in this picture got added to the party late so it wasn’t as crispy as I wanted it to be. You won’t make that mistake though, right : )photo 3(14)photo 4(11)

Starchy Vegetable: Preheat oven to 450F. Cut up sweet potato into equal sized fries. I recommend cutting them a bit thinner than this picture. Toss in a bowl with a bit of EVOO, Old Bay, and Greek Seasoning. Spread out fries on a foil lined pan and bake for 10 minutes, toss fries, and cook for another 10 – 15 minutes, until crispy. Keep an eye on them! They go from undercooked, to perfect, to burnt pretty quickly!

In Other News

I spoke with a rep from PV.Body last night and a pair of the new Ellie line capris are on their way to my house! They look flipping adorable. I can’t wait to get them so I can write a proper review! Here is a sneak peak of what they look like! I picked out the espresso & purple pair.Espresso Blue Black

Q: Bacon, love it or hate it?
Q: Do you typically wear dark colored bottoms are can you pull off color?

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I’m more confident in dark bottoms but those electric blue ones totally caught my eye. And don’t hate me, but I can’t stand bacon. The smell, the taste, the grease any of it. Give me a slab of steak any day!

  2. Haha, love the title of this post. Anything with bacon is awesome!

  3. Bacon!!!! That’s all there is to say on that… On the pants, I always wear black or grey but I’m a guy. But I have no problems seeing the blue ones on women. Anyway, another blog I follow has had a couple bad experiences with PV. Check it out – http://www.the-purple-giraffe.com/2013/01/pvbody-bait-switch.html

    • I have been talking to them and the Ellie.com sight will be launched on February 1st. I can’t speak to the problems that other people are having but thus far they have been great with me. As with any company there are going to be the horror stories and the great success stories. When it comes to her discount I did notice that with Firefox the site wasn’t as compatible as with IE and the discount was applied as soon as I switched to IE. Is that annoying, sure, but I did not submit my order until I saw the discount added. As a new company (just started in Sept!) there are bound to be some kinks in the system that need to be worked out. I am looking forward to trying out the Ellie brand and promise to give a 100% honest opinion on the item when I get it! Oh yes, and go bacon : )

  4. I went through a phase when I didn’t care for bacon but now the love is back full force now that I’m married to a bacon enthusiast. I like those capris… I only have black but am interested in exploring some color to add 🙂

  5. Ooo, I dig those purple capris! I love colorful workout gear. By the way, how did you become an ambassador for PV.Body? I’d love to apply!

    Oh, and I LOVE bacon!!

  6. Interesting about the pv body. Glad you like them though. I like bacon but I haven’t actually bought bacon in the last couple of months because of moving around.

  7. Those capris are adorable, I love the strip down the side.

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

