Hungry For Change


I mentioned yesterday that this documentary popped up on my radar recently so last night I parked myself on the couch with my roomie and a gf and we watched it. I thought the movie was pretty interesting, I always find it inspiring to see huge transformations in people. If you have not heard of this documentary it is basically about how the majority of food is pumped with sugar, high fructose corn syrup, MSG, and other man derived super chemicals that make food addicting. It goes into how most people are consuming vastly more calories than nutrients and are essentially starving their body of the things it really needs. I wholeheartedly agree that the food industry produces an array of unhealthy products and markets them as health food. Something that we all need to understand and come to terms with is that the food industry is a business, it’s a place where people make money marketing their product as better than the last. Hungry-for-Change-DVDIn any booming business there is going to be competition for market share. Every company is just out to get its “piece of the pie”. The food industry can be compared to any other industry, such as clothing, cars, make up, and shoes! The unfortunate part of the food industry is that every one has to be a part of it, we all need to eat to survive. The trick is learning how to navigate your super market or farmers market and figuring out what is real food vs not.

One of the things I love most about this healthy living community that I have become a part of is that generally people seem quite knowledgeable about the food they choose to make. I don’t think twice if some one tells me they choose to eat vegetarian, vegan, pescatarian, or paleo. The one thing they all have in common are vegetables, fruit, and healthy fats. I am not going to push the way I choose to eat on any one but myself, I eat the way I do because it works for my body and the true meaning of diet is: “The kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats”, unfortunately a little Google action shows that diet used as a verb is: “Restrict oneself to small amounts or special kinds of food in order to lose weight: “it is difficult to diet in a house full of cupcakes”. Funny how different the verb and noun are!

The biggest advantage we can give ourselves is through education. Taking an interest in what you put in your body is life changing. In my humble opinion the speakers in this documentary are a bit extreme but the foundation was in a good place. I can’t see myself ever purchasing a juicer because it is an expensive piece of equipment and supplying it with enough vegetables to get a good juice is also quite expensive. I am pretty content with the amount of vegetables I buy and consume so something like a juicing fast really doesn’t appeal to me, and it was something that a few of the speakers spoke about, I just can’t get on board with that.

That is a lot of text for just one picture isn’t it? Summing up now… I think this is interesting to watch and if you have Netflix you can get it streaming so check it out. As with all extremists I take everything they say with a grain of salt. Speaking of salt – they do mention how people have gotten so used to everything being heavily salted that we are missing out on some of the natural flavors. I took this one to heart because I am definitely guilty of salting and took a baby step this morning and did not use salt or hot sauce on my egg / avocado / sweet potato breakfast pile.

Now for a quick baking blurb. Last night I was asked to make my yummy paleo cookies so I did. I didn’t have any chocolate in the house and the only available nearby was milk chocolate chips, not ideal but whatever, they were delicious all the same and I am a huge believer in chocolate and everything to do with chocolate. (the people from Hungry for Change would not be happy with this, meh) So we made some cookies last night!photo(7)

I have posted this recipe before but I will spell it out for you quick – here is a link to another version of the recipe. This is good both baked or just as cookie dough, I have done both and am a big fan.
Ingredients
– 1 cup almond flour
– 1/8 + another pinch teaspoon sea salt
– 1/8 tsp baking soda
– 3 tbsp melted coconut oil
– 1/2 of a medium banana, mashed
– 1 tsp vanilla extract
– 1 tbsp almond milk
– handful of unsweetened coconut flakes
– chocolate of choice to your liking
I also like to add a tiny bit (~tsp) of maple syrup / honey
Process
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper, silpat, or in my case tin foil.
2. Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl (except chocolate).
3. Whisk together wet ingredients in a small bowl (except almond milk) – the cold milk will solidify the coconut oil.
4. Add wet to dry and mix together, add in the almond milk and the chocolate. I do this so that the coconut oil does not solidify OR melt the chips.
5. Measure a tbsp and roll in hands into a ball, place on pan and gently press down in the middle to make a semi donut looking shape.
6. Bake for 10-11 minutes until bottoms just start to turn brown.
7. Remove from oven, remove tin foil from pan so the cookies can cool, they will be really soft.

Q: I am planning on making pulled beef / pork over the weekend and am looking for suggestions on homemade paleo friendly sauces to make for it – link up any good ideas you have.
Q: Any suggestions for other good documentaries?

Categories: Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 replies

  1. I love Forks over Knives! I think I need to make these cookies also 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great recipe that I really need to try! Sometimes seeing long lists of ingredients scare me but these don’t seem so bad at all!

  3. The cookies look great! I think I would keep them around as dough, so good!

  4. Glad you liked the movie, and I completely agree. We have to make our own choices and take everything with a grain of salt! Your cookies also look so yummy… yeahhhhh for milk chocolate chips!

  5. Re: your question – in a slow cooker, put 30 ounces of chopped white mushrooms, 3 tablespoons of coconut oil, 3 tablespoons of coconut butter, 2-3 large shredded carrots and let cook for 6-8 hours on low and covered, stir every 45 mins, or so. While it’s cooking, caramelize 2 heads of fennel and 3 large sweet onions (again, cook them in coconut oil). Add the fennel and onions about 30 minutes before serving. It’ll come out great! Thick, and delicious! Add Italian seasoning, rosemary, or garlic as desired to change the flavor to suit your meal (add them at the same time as the onions and fennel), and as always: salt and pepper to taste.

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

