Happy Friday


Cooking Suggestions

I have decided to skip dinner tonight and eat popcorn at the movies instead. I know I know terrible for you, but I love it. My goal is 90% paleo and 100% so if popcorn makes me happy, I am going to eat it. I have decided that I will only do this popcorn splurge every other movie we go to now. We go to a few so this will still allow me to eat popcorn at least twice a month. I WIN! Since I am going to skip the usual dinner than means that I have enough food to last for at least lunch and possibly dinner tomorrow before needing to go grocery shopping. For the record I am not skipping dinner to save on calories or anything remotely like that, I just know that I will be stuffed and not hungry!

Julie @PBFingers decided to do a little “Crock Pot Challenge” and seeing as I’m already obsessed with my crock pot it inspired me to break it out this weekend. I make Chicken Stoup last time with the crock pot and it was awesome. I have decided I want to use chicken breasts again for this round of crock potting. I can’t seem to be inspired by anything else to add in though. Any suggestions? Remember I do eat paleo so no beans! I’m looking for some kick arse vegetables or some fancy liquid combo you use or flavor profile you stand by. If you have an awesome recipes share the link, I would love to read them! My Dad got me a crock pot cook book so I may dig into that for some inspiration as well this next month and a half of crock potting away.

Week 1: 24 Miles

Mon Jan 7 Easy Run / XT
Dist: 3 Mi @8:07 & Upper body mayhem – COMPLETE
Tue Jan 8 Easy Run Dist: 3.5 Mi @9:12 & Soccer  – COMPLETE
Wed Jan 9 Rest / XT 25 walking lunges @ 40lbs, 8 toes to bar X 5 – COMPLETE
Thu Jan 10 Tempo Run Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 Mi @ 8:36; Cool – COMPLETE
Fri Jan 11 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @9:30 & Abs – COMPLETE
Sat Jan 12 Rest / XT
Sun Jan 13 Long Run Dist: 10 Mi @10:06

The gym today was good. I ran the 2 miles with out music and just took my time. For the ab work out I followed it exactly and did it 2x. A coworker joined me on this and I helped her through the first round and ran through it a second time solo. It took 4:30 the 2nd time and I definitely could have gone another one or two rounds but I had to hit the showers and head back to work. There are some awesome core exercises in there that I have never tried before. I particularly LOVED the BOSU standing around the world – “Stand on the flat side of the BOSU with the rounded side facing down. Hold a heavy weight plate, a dumbell, or a medicine ball in your hands, near your chest. Keeping a slight bend in your knees at all times, circle the plate/dumbell/ball up above your head and around in a big circle. Do 10 circles in each direction.” Thanks for a great core routine Angela!

Free Stuff

Don’t forget to enter the AMRAP Refuel Bar giveaway, they are amazing almond paleo energy bars and entry is open until EOD 01/14!

Q: What are your favorites vegetables for a crock pot? What about spices? Or Liquid?

*PS – I updated my about me page today with some new pictures!

Categories: Half Marathon Training, Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 replies

  1. Cinema popcorn is delicious. I refuse to deny myself treats sometimes. I have been eating well since January, but I will be eating pizza later tonight!

  2. I’m obsessed with anything that has chicken and crockpot in the same recipe! And HECK YES for doing your own thing and eating that YUMMY popcorn! 🙂

  3. I love crock pot concoctions. I like veggie broth and then whatever I have on deck!! ANY veggie is fair game. Same with grains.

  4. Yayy can’t wait for the crockpot recipes (I’m obsessed haha). Everything looks great!

  5. No shame on your popcorn decision. I’m obsessed with that stuff! Especially with hot sauce sprinkled on top 🙂

    • I will buy some popcorn for the house and try this combo. It sounds delicious. I think bringing hot sauce to the theater is impractical but ill do a home batch and report back, I’m sure ill love it!

  6. Chili is my fave crockpot recipe but I love doing root veggies too!
    Popcorn is one of my fave foods (and was last night’s dinner). I love it with olive oil and seasoned salt!

  7. OMG movie theater popcorn! Best stuff ever

  8. I love spinach and kale in my meals. Also, I don’t love carrots, but I don’t mind them in soup/crock pot meal!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

