Training Run Dos


It has been about 36 hours since my unfortunate toe mishap in soccer. I am happy to report that while it is a bit sore I think I am going to be A-OK, it appears to be more of a bruise than anything and I had to run a little last night playing with Sasha and my toe didn’t feel like it was going to fall off. Which means that I am going to try and tackle the 6 mile pace run today. My tush on the other hand is DYING from the work out yesterday. There were a total of 125 walking lunges while holding 40lbs in KB weight. OYE. I guess I know a great work out now for toning the tush. I will not be lunging for at least a few more days though!

Week 1: 24 Miles

Mon Jan 7 Easy Run / XT
Dist: 3 Mi @8:07 & Upper body mayhem – COMPLETE
Tue Jan 8 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @10:06 – COMPLETE
Wed Jan 9 Rest / XT 25 walking lunges @ 40lbs, 8 toes to bar X  5 – COMPLETE
Thu Jan 10 Tempo Run Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 Mi @ 8:38; Cool
Fri Jan 11 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @10:06
Sat Jan 12 Rest / XT
Sun Jan 13 Long Run Dist: 10 Mi @10:06

Eats

I didn’t end up throwing all my fresh meat into the freezer Sunday and yesterday I decided that I should just cook it all and portion it out for the next 2 lunches and dinner. I combined 3 Logan’s Andouille Sausage, a 1/4 lb 95% lean ground beef, 1 yellow summer squash, 1/4 green zucchini squash, 1/4 portobello mushroom, 5 kale leaves (not super big), garlic salt, adobo lime seasoning, and some cumin in my most favorite giant saute pan. My dad got it for me for Christmas last year and I’m obsessed with it. You can honestly put a roast in and brown it on the stove and toss in the oven for hours, it is that awesome. photo 1(7)I added in the kale the last few minutes of cooking, didn’t want to burn it! I served myself dinner and then saved the rest in some tupperware. Don’t you just love this lunch box? I had to share it with the world because I just think it is so pretty!photo 2(6)

Reads

After all of my food prepping I headed to the library before going to see the boy and Sasha. My parents are both huge readers and when I was home for Christmas I asked my Dad to grab me a book and he showed up with Whiskey Sour, A Jack Daniels Mystery, by J.A. Konrath. I devoured the book that day and proceeded to read the next 2 books in the series while I was home. Since being back in DC I read the 4th and picked up the 5th yesterday! I typically read through them in oh 2 days… I just can’t help it! If you are looking for a series I definitely recommend it. The books are like being inside an episode of Law and Order / NCIS / Criminal Minds, ahhhmazing. There are 8 in the series so I am over half way done with them! I also decided to pick up “What Alice Forgot” after seeing it mentioned on PBFingers for the monthly book club Julie hosts. photo 3(6) Oh and the Paleo Diet for Athletes! I am already sold on Paleo and love how I feel but I think it will be nice to read a little more about it just for educational purposes. I’m going to need to get a bag pretty soon when I go to the library if I keep up with the rate in which I am reading right now (2 books a week…)!

Breakfast

This morning I whipped up a super quick breakfast of just 3 eggs, 1/2 and avocado, and some hot sauce. I opted out of using sweet potato because I plan on eating again around 10:30 for some pre-run fuel so it wasn’t necessary to keep full all morning!photo 4(5)I am going to go out on a limb here and say I have a slight addiction to hot sauce. It just makes everything taste soooooo much better!

Free Stuff

Don’t forget to enter the AMRAP Refuel Bar giveaway, they are amazing almond paleo energy bars and entry is open until EOD 01/14!

Q: Hot sauce fans – what is your favorite kind of hot sauce?
Q: Readers – any good book suggestions for my next picks?

Categories: Giveaways, Paleo Recipes, Running

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 replies

  1. ooo you’ll have to tell us how you like “What Alice Forgot” I saw that mentioned on her site too!

  2. Franks red hot….yum!

    And that is awesome that you’re set for the week with your food and adorable lunch box 🙂

  3. Nice job this week and I’m glad you are on such a roll. i honestly have no idea my favorite hot sauce, I generally like hot sauce with a bit of garlic in it and I think Franks makes it but I’m not entirely sure.

  4. Eat and Run is whoa good. By Scott Jurek. I love hot sauce! I just use pace cause it tastes good, and add cayenne to add heat haha.

  5. Just finished Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. Amazing ending! Now I’m reading Sarah’s Key because my mom raved about it. So far I’m only 50 pages in but it’s pretty good!

    That’s so funny you’re addicted to hot sauce because now I am too! Best combo? Hot sauce on popcorn. Divine. The only kind I’ve ever tried is good ole Franks.

  6. OMG HOT SAUCE!! I love Cholula and Sriracha. Andrew and I use Sriracha like normal people use ketchup. Thanks for the book recommendations; Andrew loves Criminal Minds, so I’m going to tell him about the Jack Daniels mysteries. I, on the other hand, tend to read smutty romance book I can finish in one day and get angry for how stupid the characters are acting. I don’t hate watch (http://www.buzzfeed.com/richardrushfield/the-year-in-hate-watching), I hate read.

    In the summer when I have smoothies I get all the fruit at farmer’s markets which tends to take some of the cost down. Right now, we’re relying on frozen fruit. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tomato Face « Food & Fitness
  2. Wibbly Wobbles « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

