Injuries Are A Part Of Life


Yesterday was day one of training for the DC Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon on March 16th (If you are running this race or training for it shoot me an email! I am happy to do some training runs / high fives at the race!). On the books was an easy 3 miler. I ended up with a 9:12 average, I tried to go as slow as I found comfortable. I ran 3 miles and ended at the house to let Sasha out and ran another .5 miles back to the office, run 1 done, check!

Week 1: 21 Miles

Tue Jan 8 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @10:06 – COMPLETE
Wed Jan 9 Rest / XT
Thu Jan 10 Tempo Run Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 Mi @ 8:38; Cool
Fri Jan 11 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @10:06
Sat Jan 12 Rest / XT
Sun Jan 13 Long Run Dist: 10 Mi @10:06

In addition to the run I had soccer last night. We had a full team and even a sub! Every one played awesome and we lost by one in the final minute, total bummer but it was a great game, our opponents were easily the best team we have played so far and it was a very fast paced game. I had a slight misfortune during the game though… If you hate feet scroll over the picture. photo 4(4)I won’t do the full size picture because no one really loves feet. This picture doesn’t do my foot justice but I didn’t want to over whelm any one with a close up. What you CAN see is that there is an extra line running through my nail… It’s like a partial break or something with a nice bruise under it and then I have a round bruise growing on the right side of the nail too. IT HURTS. Like putting on shoes kind of hurts and I’m wearing sandals in January at work kind of hurt. I am happy that today is not a running day but I still plan on trying to lift with the boy. I am hoping I can just suck it up and deal with it and finish the rest of the training runs this week.

Moving on from gross. My meals this week are slight variations of the same thing for dinner and lunch. Lunch = ground beef and veggies and dinner = sausage and veggies. Dinner last night also came with a lovely dessert of an apple and some almond butter!photo 2(5) photo 3(5)Dinner managed to hold me over until the game and after soccer I crashed, I probably could have eaten but I didn’t feel like it. I ended up with a HUGE breakfast this morning because I was starving and the remaining portion of the sweet potato I used Monday and Tuesday was a little too big for one serving but not enough for two. So I muscled it down of course and can’t see myself needing any snacks this morning before the gym!photo 5(3)

I have been letting the boy pick the lunch time work outs so I’m not sure what we will be doing today. He has been grabbing them from RuggedCrossfit.com for the most part (click here to see why). The WOD they have posted today looks pretty good so I will suggest it and hopefully we will do it!

5 Rounds For Time
25 Foot Weighted Lunges (1.5,1) with Kettle Bell in each hand
8 Toe To Bars

Don’t forget to enter the AMRAP Refuel Bar giveaway, they are amazing almond paleo energy bars and entry is open until EOD 01/14!

Q: Runner friends – is it okay to run on a bruised toe? Can I do more damage by running on it?

Categories: Half Marathon Training, Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 replies

  1. I don’t know if you want to risk it. It will probably fall off and if you aren’t careful, they can get infected. That being said, if it’s not too bad and you throw a bandaid on it, you should be okay, as long as you deal with the pain.

  2. Ewwww.. we can “ab” it out after work- no foot pressure!

  3. That always happens to my toe nails too (gross I know). I got a pedicure once and the woman couldn’t help but notice and asked if I was a runner…I said I run pretty often why? Apparently your nails are weakened from your toes banging on your sneakers everytime you run, she sees it all the time!

  4. Oh my god do toenails injuries hurt like a mofo. Seriously,I’ve literally not run before because my toe has hurt that much.

  5. Yikes! I have no idea!
    If it doesn’t hurt too bad then I usually go for it, but if you need to rest a few days then cross train!

Trackbacks

  1. Training Run Dos « Food & Fitness
  2. Tomato Face « Food & Fitness
  3. 200 Squats? NBD « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

