Half Marathon Training


I realized today that the DC Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon I signed up for a is only 9 1/2 weeks away. YIKES. I ran 8 miles on November 27th (thank you DailyMile) and aside from that I have not ran more than 6 1/2 miles in any given time : ) Woops. I hopped on RunnersWorld.com and used SmartCoach to make a training plan for me. It claims that following it I should be able to run a 1:51, which would be an average pace of 8:32 and a 4 minute PR from my current half time (Zooma Half Marathon). On the books for the week SmartCoach has me doing the following:

Week 1: 21 Miles

Tue Jan 8 Easy Run Dist: 3 Mi @10:06
Wed Jan 9 Rest / XT
Thu Jan 10 Tempo Run Dist: 6 Mi, inc Warm; 4 Mi @ 8:38; Cool
Fri Jan 11 Easy Run Dist: 2 Mi @10:06
Sat Jan 12 Rest / XT
Sun Jan 13 Long Run Dist: 10 Mi @10:06

I’m not positive if I will actually be able to follow this for a few reasons. Running a 10 min mile doesn’t sound fun… I understand the value of running easier some days and I am definitely the type of person who pretty much has 1 speed. I really don’t vary too much in pace at all, I range between 8:30 and 9:15 pretty habitually. I also think I’d just feel slow! (I am not saying 10 min/miles are slow, this is all relative to me) We will see. I will try to hang at 9 maybe and see how it goes…

I am committed to trying to do this training plan, I have it taped up at work so I make sure to check off the runs and work outs! That 10 miler on Sunday looks daunting to say the least, it will be in the mid 60s on Sunday though so that is awesome.

Don’t forget to enter my AMRAP Refuel Bar giveaway, they are amazing almond paleo protein bars!

Q: Do you use a plan when you train for races? What?

Categories: Half Marathon Training

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

16 replies

  1. Yey I’m excited for RNR USA!! Except yes I agree that the timing came up fast! Good luck on training! We are back to our full fledged training schedule this week..I’m excited!

  2. Taking it easy some days is actually really beneficial. Just keep telling yourself that it’s preparing you for that half marathon and you’ll be able to do it. Ten miles is no joke!

  3. I don’t run any more but have been toying with idea of a half. I did chi marathon a long time ago and used Hal Higdon’s schedule and it worked great. Not sure if there is one for half marathon, but maybe that can be used?

  4. I wish you had signed up for Shamrock half instead. Boo. I was just talking about fitness being a collection of workouts versus just one…many people start from scratch to run a half in that amount of time. You’ll be there really soon.

  5. Ahh! Love the race anticipation! I definitely plan my pre&post workout fuel. It keeps me looking forward to something haha. Mapmyrun is also a great tool I’m starting to love. Have a good Tuesssday!

  6. Heck yes I use a plan! I used Hal Higdons beginners plan for my first half, and right now I am using Hal’s intermediate plan for the half I have next month! Good luck with your training!

  7. Sometimes its definitely good to take it easy but I totally get what you mean about too slow. Sometimes when I’m too slow its just boring. Good luck with your training, sure youll be fine!

    • Thanks! My back actually bothers me a bit if I force myself to go too slow. My posture changes and its more of a bouncy walk than a run or something. I managed with a 9:15 today though so it ended up okay.

  8. Yes, I have to use a plan otherwise I feel like I”m not prepared. I have a half and a full plan that a friend gave me and I just modify them for each race. I am super jealous that you are doing a RnR. I need to find one this year!

  9. I start my training plan in a few weeks for a half marathon in May! I definitely need a plan..as I don’t typically run often and don’t really know how to train myself!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

