AMRAP Refuel Bar Review & Giveaway


I love eating paleo, my body sings me sweet songs of happiness and I feel like I perform better in my daily life. My belly is rarely bloated and I just feel good. That being said, on the go snacks can be tough. Things like jerky, fruit, and nuts are my standard go to items. But on the occasion when you need a good protein / energy bar the options are limited. There are a ton of great recipes for homemade paleo bars out there and I really need to join the bandwagon of making them for sure. I always forget to buy dates at the store though! There are a few options out there for a paleo bar and AMRAP Nutrition is the first brand that comes to mind for me. I have seen and heard the buzz and was thrilled to get the opportunity to try out the bars! Currently they have one bar flavor and it can be described as an “almond honey”. The ingredients for these magical little bars are:

  • Raw Almond Butter
  • Unsweetened Coconut
  • Egg White Protein Powder
  • Raw Sesame Seeds
  • Raw Almond Chunks
  • Raw Honey
  • Ground Cinnamon
  • Sea Salt

AKA all clean, raw, and uncooked ingredients! The bar weighs in at a solid 300 calories so it is a perfect 4th meal or meal substitute in a pinch!
I am not a huge bar fan in general because all the super healthy ones never taste just right. When I got the AMRAP bar I was a little skeptical at first but I was pleasantly surprised. I have no patience, at all, so I ripped open the box when it arrived and tried a bite of it (I was about to make dinner, didn’t need to eat the whole thing) and saved the rest and had 2 of my gfs try it also when they were over the next day. I really like this bar! And so did they! Neither of them eat paleo so it was a huh what are you giving me? But they both thought it was good too.

I ate my first full bar yesterday around 9:45am when my morning hunger kicked in. I eat breakfast around 6 / 6:30 so I typically need a little something pre-work out / lunch to hold me over. This worked great! I ate it with a banana about 90 minute before working out. I could tell that it was working because after my work out I was able to get another hour and a half of work done before digging into lunch. Normally I come up from the gym ravenous.

Aside from a mid morning snack these would be perfect to take hiking. Carrying nuts and fruit can be a mess when hiking and this bar can be eaten quickly and give you all the energy you need! I am really excited to start incorporating the AMRAP Refuel Bar into my diet when I need it!

AMRAP was gracious enough to offer one lucky reader their very own sample of Refuel Bars. There are a few ways you can enter, make sure you leave a comment for each one!!
1) Like AMRAP on Facebook
2) Follow AMRAP on twitter @AMRAPUSA
3) Tweet “Hoping to win Refuel Bars from @AMRAPUSA and @megankellly – http://wp.me/p2aqae-Oo”
4) Follow this blog
*Bonus – tell me what time of the day you would use the Refuel Bar most and why. This giveaway will be open until midnight 1/14.

Categories: Food, Giveaways

Tags: , , , , , , ,

55 replies

  1. And I think this bar would be perfect for me to eat around the 4-5 time frame. When I’m hungry after lunch but still have a workout in the books before dinner time.

  2. I followed AMRAPUSA on Twitter (@LeahMariaKorea)

  3. I tweeted about the giveaway (@LeahMariaKorea)

  4. I would use the refuel bar around 3-4PM – right in between lunch and dinner and a couple hours before my workout.

  5. I’ve been wanting to try these bars!!

  6. Also following your blog (of course) 🙂

  7. I just liked AMRAP on FB

  8. And I started following them on Twitter

  9. I follow your blog on WordPress (I subscribed yesterday :))

  10. Bonus entry! For me, I would have one mid-morning as a snack. For some reason I like to prolong lunch as long as possible, so having a good mid-morning snack to keep me full is always a win with me!

  11. I already follow your blog on google reader. 🙂

  12. I “liked” AMRAP on Facebook.

  13. I’m now following AMRAP on Twitter!

  14. I would use the AMRAP bar as a breakfast or mdmorning snack, I work early in the mornings, so sometimes it’s hard for me to get up and eat. These would be perfect!

  15. Followed you and AMRAPUSA on Twitter, Tweeted, and followed your blog! I would use AMRAP bars when on looooooong hikes here in SoCal 🙂

  16. Followed you and AMRAPUSA on Twitter, tweeted, and signed up to follow your blog (why had I not done that?). I would use AMRAP bars on looooong hikes here in SoCal 🙂

  17. I tend to eat bars most in the morning. I always have breakfast, but sometimes not enough, and then by around 10 or so, I am hungry for a healthy bar!!!! Of course, that doesn’t leave out I’m fond to have them any time of day or night!!!

    I’m liking u on facebook, following u on Twitter and tweeted your message and have signed up for your blog.

  18. It is so hard to find a clean energy bar out there, so I have been making my own. I’ve never seen these before. Will have to go look for them!

  19. I like them on FB as Lle Schreiber!

    livinglearningeating AT gmail DOT com

  20. I follow them on Twitter as @LiveLearnEat

    livinglearningeating AT gmail DOT com

  21. I’d probably use them most in the middle of the day, when I need an energy boost to keep going!

    livinglearningeating AT gmail DOT com

  22. I Folllow them on FB and twitter. Follow this blog and am tweetting you right now! I would eat those around 3-4pm in between lunch and dinner 🙂

  23. I followed @AMRAPUSA on Twitter (@Dan17Mitchell)

  24. Following!:) I would use this bar as an after school snack on the way to riding- I’m always ravenous after school and hate being tempted to junky snack bars! Great review:)

  25. I now follow!! I found you on FCITC… I love your blog already

  26. And I would use the bar in the afternoon… Because as a mom that is when I NEED it the most 😉

  27. Tweeted on twitter Hoping to win Refuel Bars from @AMRAPUSA and @megankellly – http://wp.me/p2aqae-Oo @healthyepiphany

  28. Following amrap on twitter 🙂 @healthyepiphany

Trackbacks

  1. Half Marathon Training « Food & Fitness
  2. Injuries Are A Part Of Life « Food & Fitness
  3. Paleo, Day 2 « It's Hip to be a Square
  4. Training Run Dos « Food & Fitness
  5. Tomato Face « Food & Fitness
  6. Wibbly Wobbles « Food & Fitness
  7. Happy Friday « Food & Fitness
  8. Long Run #1 & Sunday Crock Potting « Food & Fitness
  9. A Winning Post « Food & Fitness
  10. AMRAP Tank Giveaway « Food & Fitness
  11. [Paleo] Mini Banana Pumpkin Muffins «

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

