Crockpotting Obsession


Before I get to the crock pot let’s talk tacos. Who doesn’t love tacos? Even if you are a veggie you can do bean tacos and they are fricken delicious. In the spirit of paleo the boy and I have started using lettuce to wrap up our yummy taco meat. Typically we will use bib / boston lettuce but last night there wasn’t a good selection of it so we went with romaine, they worked well! For the most part I ripped my leafs in half and used them for 2 wraps. I went through 3 leafs : )photo 1(4)So yummy. We did 1.8lbs of 90% lean ground beef. Yes there were left overs, we aren’t that ridiculous. We went easy peasy and used taco seasoning packets : ) I made the meat, the boy cleaned the lettuce, AND he picked out fresh hot salsa because he loves me and knows I like it spicy (he on the other hands prefers medium, so sweet right?). Oh and one of the biggest non paleo things I find myself eating too frequently is chips and salsa. I know I know, corn bad, veggies good but bahumbug. I need a means to shovel salsa into my face and these salty treats are just want I like. Besides I’m paleo with benefits, I feel no remorse. Whilst inhaling some lettuce wrapped beef tacos we watched MIB3 – pretty good in my opinion!

On a tangent something amazing happened during dinner. I bought some doggy bells for the apartment door and every time we take Sasha out the bells ring and the idea is that she will associated the bells with potty time and ring them when she needs to pee. WELL SHE DID IT. I heard some bells, looked up, and there she was sitting patiently at the door. My heart melted, what a smart cookie!! After dinner / the movie I headed home and went right to the kitchen to throw another slow cooker meal in the pot, that paleo chili was just too good to last! I have yet to put chicken in my crock pot so this was an experiment in itself.

Shredded Chicken Stoup

3 celery stalk
1 crown of broccoli
8oz sliced white mushrooms
1 yellow onion
1 chicken thigh quarter, cleaned, boned, skin removed (gross process to do, never again)
2 chicken breast (I went with a large and a small one because my pack of 3 was super lopsided)
2 cups broth (I used beef because I had no chicken)
1 1/2 cups left over beef and mushroom stew broth (I knew I froze this for a reason!)
2 tbsp Tan-Tan Moroccan Seasoning
2 tbsp Tantalizing Thai Rub
1 tbsp smoked paprika
2 tsp garlic salt
**spice measurements are guesses, I just shook until it seemed like enough!

Chop up all the vegetables and add to the slow cooker. Season meat well and cook in a hot pan to create a little crust on the chicken. Meanwhile add all your spices and liquid to the crock pot, mix up well. Add the chicken on top and give another stir and more seasoning if you so choose. Cook on low for 8ish hours. When it is done shred the chicken up with 2 forks, it falls apart so I promise this task is super easy!!photo 2(3) photo 3(3) photo 4(2) photo 5(2)I personally think it is really hard to not want to eat what comes out of the crock pot in the morning so I fried up some eggs and threw them on top of a smallish serving of the stoup! Great breakfast.photo(2)
For Christmas my dad got me the grand daddy of all slow cooker cook books! I am really looking forward to drawing some inspiration from it! I suck at following recipes and typically just use whatever I have on hand so I doubt I’ll truly follow a recipe but I will get some great ideas!

Q: How is your relationship with your slow cooker?
Q: How do you feel about eating non traditional breakfast food for breakfast?

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I am SO excited to move to a place (this weekend) where i can use my crockpot and people will actually be there to eat it! I don’t ever use mine because it’s just been me…

  2. Yum, everything looks delicious! I’m a total crock-potter too. Crockpotting is an awesome hobby to have 😉

  3. That stoup looks very tasty! I had a GREAT relationship with my slow cooker until I dropped the stoneware on the floor and it shattered everywhere 😦 Time to shop for a new one!

  4. My slow cooker and I are BFF…it even gets a permanent spot on the counter : ) Another super easy crockpot meal (that will be dinner tomorrow I think) is chicken breasts (uncooked) and a jar of smoky salsa. Cook until soft and then shred with 2 forks. You can make tacos, sloppy joes, or just eat it over a salad. Amazing and the easiest thing EVER!

    • Oh I like that. I am hoarding this meal and not sharing with any one so it will last me until the weekend. I can definitely see a little crockpotted salsa chicken in my future… Thanks!

  5. Love the egg on top! That’s totally gonna happen the next time I do a taco-inspired soup!

Trackbacks

  1. The 50s Work Out « Food & Fitness
  2. Living Rugged « Food & Fitness
  3. Happy Friday « Food & Fitness
  4. CrockPot Challenge « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

