Mmm Paleo Chili


I have never attempted to make chili before. After what came out of the crock pot this morning though I can guarantee it will not be the last time. This is so delicious, filling, and healthy! Really you can’t go wrong.

My First Paleo Chili

1 1/2 lbs 90% lean ground beef
1 yellow onion, chopped
3 small stalks of celery, chopped
2 small carrots, chopped
8oz package white mushrooms, quartered (about 8 mushrooms)
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 x 14.5 oz. can of your favorite tomatoes, go wild and try one with some flavor
1 tsp. greek seasoning
1 tbsp. dried oregano
1 tbsp. cumin
2 tbsp. chili powder
2 tbsp. dinosour bbq cajun foreplay
A little bit of extra salt, pepper, and garlic powder for cooking the beef

Cooking

Brown ground beef in a large pan and season lightly with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Cook until almost done, there should still be a little pink left. Mix together all of the ingredients into your crock pot. Stir it up good! Cover and cook on low for 8 hours. I put this in around 10:15pm and shut off the crock pot at 6:45am. If you do this then you can enjoy the chili in the morning for breakfast. With an egg. Because we all know everything is better with an over easy egg on it! photo 1(3) photo 3(2) photo 4(1) photo 5(1)Tonight the boy and I have a late night reservation for dinner and we will most likely be toasting the midnight hour back at home! We also haven’t had the opportunity to exchange Christmas gifts so that will be tonight as well. I am not sure if I have told you guys but I am planning on playing sober sally for the month of January. I feel like a tub o’ lard after all the wine in inhaled while visiting my parents. I think it will be good, I hear your body de-bloats a little, I could totally go for some of that : ) I decided this a week or two ago and am actually quite excited, ideally the goal is total paleo and sober sally for January, if I pull that off I think my body will sing sweet sweet lullabies to me. We shall see though! I will be back tomorrow blogging and enjoying my day off, I promise to play catch up with pictures and some more recipes from the rest of my time at home. Being with my family was amazing but I am so happy to be back to no snow and slightly warmer temperatures!

Q: Have you made crock pot chili before? Verdict?
Q: What are your NYE plans? Taking it easy or going buck wild?

Categories: Paleo Recipes

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 replies

  1. I can’t decide if I would rather just stay in with my family or go out with my friends! I guess I’ll decide as the day goes on!

    • Last year we spent so much money on a ticket to some big party in DC with music and it just ended up being a party of standing in line for beer! I’d rather dump my dollars into a delicious feast this year!!

  2. I totally agree with you about the egg … it does make everything better! I’m kinda an egg addict! I haven’t made chili in the crock pot before, but have made it on the stove. I’m sure I’ll give it a shot at some point. I love using my crock pot to make anything!

    • It’s taunting in the middle of the night though! The kitchen isn’t too far from the bath room and the smell is intoxicating when you cook over night!!

      • I can relate to that when I cook bone broth. I let it cook in the crock pot for 24-48 hours, so during the night, it’s all I can smell. I live in a very small place, so the smell fills up the whole house!

  3. We live for crockpot chili! I love it and it freezes so well. Great idea to throw in all the veggies. I’ve done mushrooms but never carrots and celery. Our NYE tradition involves a quiet night in, with a fancy dinner (crab legs), and champagne. I love it!

  4. My mom makes crock pot chili a lot and I just eat it. I don’t make it myself though, Maybe I’ll give her this recipe because I bet my family would really enjoy it.

  5. Ohhhh this looks so good! It seems similar to my mom’s crock pot beef stew, she puts a lot of the same ingredients in her stew! Hope you had a wonderful low key new years with the boyfriend 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Eating and Running is My Jam. « Food & Fitness
  2. Crockpotting Obsession « Food & Fitness
  3. The 50s Work Out « Food & Fitness
  4. Living Rugged « Food & Fitness
  5. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

