M & M Go Snowshoeing


The other M would by my Mom. Aka Mary. Charming isn’t it? My parents house got DUMPED with snow from the storm that went on Wednesday night in the north east. I was greeted this morning with mounds and mounds of snow outside. All of these mounds were determined to force my little baby Corolla to be trapped in the driveway. The snow won.IMG_4136 IMG_4139For in case you were wondering the answer is yes, I was the captain of the Geneseo Snow Shoveling Team. Shoveling meant that I needed to prepare a kick as breakfast, which I did. This blog is supposed to be about food so here is a recipe that you MUST try!

Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

1/2 of a sweet potato, grated
1/2 of a small yellow onion
1/4-1/2 cup ground sausage
1 egg – I would have used 2 if there were 2, unfortunately there was only 1!
EVOO, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and garlic powder

Grate the sweet potato on a cheese grater, I used the biggest holes for this, then chop up your onion finely. Mix in a small bowl with some EVOO, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and some garlic powder. Cook until the potato shreds start to get golden brown. On the side cook up an over easy egg with the same seasoning. When the hash is done put it at the bottom of a bowl and add your egg on top!! SO YUMMY.IMG_4130 IMG_4132 IMG_4134 IMG_4135Taking advantage of the snow fall my Mom and I broke out the snow shoes she bought last year for Christmas. There was no snow last year for her and my Dad to use them in so this was their first time out in the wild. It was also the first time that either of us had snowshoed before. It was a ton of fun! We went for just shy of an hour and covered over a mile.IMG_4153 IMG_4155 IMG_4156 IMG_4157 IMG_4160 IMG_4161 Because I love you guys all so much I will leave you with this beautiful picture. The boy got a new camera for Christmas that takes GORGEOUS photos. This one reminds me of something you could find in a National Geographic magazine. “Puppies in the wild!!!” I have a ton more pictures of Sasha and her wild adventures in the snow that I promise to share shortly with you guys!IMG_4162

Q: What did you do with all the snow this week?

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , ,

18 replies

  1. We have the exact same car. Same color and everything! Haha. And that breakfast looks delicious! I’ve never made a breakfast hash with potatoes like that before, I really need to try it out.

    • I normally get nervous because I undercook potatoes like its my job. Since the shreds are so itty bitty though you are guaranteed to cook them through! Plus it all took about 10 minutes from start to finish!

  2. Wish we had gotten some of that snow down here in Georgia!

  3. Wow, you guys got so much more snow than we did in CT! PS I also have a Corolla too and the snow always wins!

    • She’s a beauty. I got in a parking lot fender bender with her back in March 2010 and refuse to fix it until Dec 2013 when I turn it in from the lease. Plus a hub cab freed itself so she is in definite need of a facelift!

  4. Chicago missed the snow this week (and last). Hopefully we will get a little snow this evening. I’ve tried snowshoeing before — it is a lot like work! I enjoy riding my bike in the snow a lot more than snowshoeing (and I can travel a lot further that way).

    • I thought about the face masks that you reviewed a little while ago when I was snowshoeing! I was perfectly warm except for my face and thought “this would be a perfect time for that face mask…”

  5. Looks like you had a blast! I am going to rent some snowshoes and head out of town one of these good days!!

  6. Yay, the snow looks so fun! I missed having snow for Christmas. We only get it in the mountains here. Snow rarely ever sticks when we get it in Portland. Winter = rainy season.

    • I really am not a snow fan. I love living in Virginia and the lack of snow we get. It is nice for a week but I am looking forward to getting home to temperatures that are out of the 20s!!

  7. That breakfast looks delicious!

    I just got a set of snow shoes. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do. I took a quick test walk around the yard last night and was amazed at how easy it was. Tonight going out to a park for a real walk. I think it will be a blast.

  8. That is tons of snow! I want to go snowshoeing! It looks like you guys had a wonderful time! And it’s good exercise : )

Trackbacks

  1. Just Can’t Get Enough « Food & Fitness
  2. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

