Semi Guest Blogger


Good evening every one. I am sad to announce that yours truly is coming down with a slight head cold, sigh. Just in time for Christmas! I have been pulling some long days at work this week and decided that I will get to work by 7, at the latest, tomorrow, and head out at noon and hit the road. Originally I had planned on leaving Saturday morning but there is a storm coming and I am sick and frankly I want my parents to coo over my poor sick self. People are starting to stare at me in meetings because I’m coughing, chugging tea, and blowing my noes in anything I can find, adorable right? So what is a girl to do on a Thursday night after working way to many hours, her boyfriend is 400 miles away, and she is stuffed up? Make a yummy dinner, have a beauty date with her face, and snuggle with a kitty obviously.

Alrighty for dinner I boiled up some kale to soften it up, then I added it to a pan with some yellow zucchini squash, tomatoes, garlic, and a little seasoning. Meanwhile a Logan’s Salvadorian Sausage cooks up in a neighboring pan. Add a little butter to melt, plate with 1/2 an avocado, and top with the sausage. YUM!IMG_3983I finished this off and then proceeded to eat two oranges : ) I was told they were in season a few weeks ago and have been buying 5lb bags and devouring them, so juicy!! I then proceeded to spend some quality time with my mirror fixing up my eyebrows and gawking at how ridiculously dry my face was. I was just about to lotion up my face post plucking session when I remembered I had bought clay masks back in ohhhh say 2009. I took one for a ride and turned into this. Photo on 12-20-12 at 8.01 PMI felt pretty fabulous I’m not going to lie. The masks I have are this warming clay stuff that smells like pomegranate, mmm. After proceeding to make a wet soggy mess out of my entire vanity trying to clean this off I hopped on the computer to catch up on some blog reading. Work has been crazy lately, no reading for this lady during the day : ) Some one decided she wanted to join in on the reading.Photo on 12-20-12 at 8.13 PM Photo on 12-20-12 at 8.13 PM #2 Photo on 12-20-12 at 8.13 PM #3My mom is super anti animal-in-her-house so Jax gets to stay at home while I go visit my parentals. She has Gidget (roommates kitty) to keep her company and we have people stopping by to say hello and watch after them. Spoiled little kitties.

I am SOOOOO excited to be getting to my parents earlier than expected. You are probably wondering “But Megan, what about all that produce you have to use up?” Well the left our ingredients include some sweet potatoes, kale, zucchini squash, and a bell pepper. All of which can easily be transported in my car! It’s cold out and the trunk will stay chilly so they can hang in there. Breakfast will be a big one and I’ll finish off the last Logan sausage with my eggs and sweet potato so I can make the drive quickly and not need to stop for sustenance.

If you just recently started following my blog then there are a few things you need to know about my parents.
1) Their kitchen is to die for.IMG_2888IMG_28892) They live on a lake and have the best view in the world.IMG_2919 IMG_3588

So yea you could say that I LOVE being at their house. Everywhere you look it just screams homey. I have never actually lived there but I adore being there. Plus I have some AWESOME presents to fork over on Tuesday. EEEEK!!! Well I am off to pack up for my big journey north tomorrow. I will probably not have time to post tomorrow so I hope every has an amazing Friday and if you are travelling anywhere be safe!!!

Q: What is your favorite part about visiting your family?!

Categories: Food, Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I think I said this at vacation but I’d go visit your parents just for the kitchen! Holy moley I’d kill to live in a house like that!

    • Isn’t it gorgeous! They bought the house a few years ago and completely gutted it and redid it. It was a HOT MESS when they bought it, my mother is apparently an architect in her free time!

  2. Oh no I hope you feel better!! Omg that kitchen rocks, I’m always jealous of people with so much space. And what a view! I love going home and sitting on my parents super comfy couch!!

  3. KITTYYY!! SO cute. I love your parents kitchen. Each time I see it I want to jump into the picture and make a mess!

  4. I wanna go to your parents house too!! Haha, just kidding. Sort of. Seriously what a beautiful house, have a great time!!

  5. Other than the fact that mom greets me with red wine and malt balls after a long day of work…prob all the laughing and catching up that goes on. When I lived far away, I used to get so excited to go home. Now I get there about 1xweek and I love it. In the mornings, my mom makes me eggs with veggies. Have a wonderful time at ‘home’!

    Ps your cat is so cute!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

