Veggie / Vegan Dinner


If you have been following this blog for a while you know that I went veggie and vegan for a few months this year. I was a vegetarian from 2006-2010 and then played with veggie and then vegan April – June this year. I didn’t mind it at all and came up with a few really awesome recipes. A peak into my veggie / vegan world can be found in a few places: Asparagus and More Asparagus, Day 2 – No Meat, Day 3- No Meat, Protein Pack Vegetarian Meals, Rain Rain Go Away, and Snacks! Why am I talking about my old veggie ways? I had a vegetarian dinner guest last night and decided to just go veggie for the meal. I would normally make myself some sort of meat but I chose not to to avoid any sort of cross contamination. On to dinner.

Menu:
Baked Portobello Steaks, Sweet Potato Fries, & Zucchini and Red Onion Ribbons.
Time:
45 minute marinade, 30 minutes cooking, serves 2

Ingredients:
2 portobello caps
1/2 giant sweet potato (aka a normal sized sweet tot)
1/2 giant zucchini (aka a normal sized zucchini)
1/4 red onion
1/2 cup evoo
1/2 cup balsamic
1/4 cup lemon juice
4 cloves of garlic, chopped
Seasoned Salt
Dinosaur Barbeque Cajun Foreplay
Wildtree Seafood Seasoning

Process
In a plastic bag mix EVOO, balsamic, lemon juice, and two garlic cloves, add mushrooms and let sit for 45 minutes to an hour. Preheat oven to 350F. Line two baking pans with tin foil. Thinly slice zucchini and red onion so they are about the same thickness and set aside. Cut up the sweet potato into equal sized fries, toss with a little EVOO, Cajun Foreplay, and Seasoned Salt. Place mushroom caps open end up on one of the baking sheets. Feel free to pour extra juices into the caps! On the other baking sheet spread out your sweet potato fries. Bake for 20 minutes. With five minutes left on the timer heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add a bit of EVOO and add in two garlic cloves, zucchini, and red onion. When the 20 minutes is up remove the mushrooms from the oven. Mix the fries and return to oven and increase temperature to 450 degrees. Set the timer for another five minutes. Continue to cook vegetables and fries until the timer goes off. Serve and enjoy!photo 1(9)Technically this recipe is vegetarian, vegan, AND paleo. Go me! After Audrey left I parked myself in front of the tv to watch Gossip Girl. I unfortunately missed the first ten minutes but I think I will live. Only one more episode left until the series is done! I think it’s about time because things have just gotten wayyyy to dramatic. I still watch it though because I have seen ohhh every single episode of the series. So has Jax.photo 2(9)

Q: When is the last time you hosted dinner?
Q: What did you make?
Q: Do you have a bucket list? I just started mine – check it out!

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Looks delicious! As a fellow vegetarian, I want to eat every morsel 🙂

  2. I’m going to make a winter break bucket list this weekend I think. There’s so much I need to get done in a short amount of time! I can’t imagine being vegan… it would be so hard for me!

    • I was only vegan for a month, I don’t think I could do it full time. Honestly any real eating restriction is tough in my opinion. I eat paleo mon-fri but the weekends I typically go rogue, then feel like shit, and vow to stop. But I continue 🙂

  3. Hey that looks like my wife’s dinner (a common one for her). It is funny but i usually start eating off her plate too!

  4. Yummooo dinner!! Looks like my kind of meal, well not the mushroom but close enough!

  5. That looks delish!! That’s awesome that you were vegan for a few months… I just can’t give up my Chobani lol

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

