Flirting with Fast


I came up with this title while I was running. Catchy right? I set a mini goal to run 5 miles a day for the next 7 days, to keep track of this and to keep myself motivated I made this here handy dandy chart.minichallengeFancy right? Now you are probably thinking “Woah Megan, didn’t you get all happy about running a 7:39 min/mile recently? Where is this 7:37 coming from??” Well folks, I think I’m getting faster!! My splits for this run were 7:37, 7:58, 8:44, 8:38, and 8:00. For a gal whose happy place is normally an 8:45 I’m kind of blown away. Especially since when I was training for the half marathon I ran in June I never saw an 8:00-8:30 mile. Pretty sweet! If I get back to my happy runners weight I’ll be even faster! I ended up running a good amount of hills too! Every down hill it was that “ugh I have to run back up this don’t I”. The 4 mile radius I run around my office has way to many hills for my liking.

Post run I had to scoot to a meeting so I chowed down a banana to hold me over before getting back to my desk. I never wait until 2pm to eat, my stomach was grumbling to say the least. I made a chicken burger this morning and paired it with a heaping serving of mixed greens. I used up the rest of the balsamic vinaigrette that I had in the office and polished lunch off quickly. A quick and easy guide to making salad dressing: 2 part EVOO, 1 part vinegar (I personally like red wine, apple cider, balsamic, and soy sauce), a bit of sea salt, and a bit of pepper. You can make this more fancy by adding things like spicy or brown mustard (love), hot sauce, lemon juice, or lime juice.photo(3)I haven’t purchased ground chicken in a while, I normally go with turkey if I get ground anything and the switch up was a nice change of pace. The burger came out really good, I used greek seasoning and some smoked paprika and cooked it in a frying pan. I put off grocery shopping until after 9pm last night so the butcher was closed. I made the executive decision to get what I needed for breakfast and lunch today and then go back this evening for the rest of my shopping. I am having my friend Audrey over for dinner tonight and am excited to cook for her. I haven’t had a dinner guest (besides the bf) in a while, plus she is a veg so I will be making a veggie friendly meal. So far on the menu is portobella mushrooms with a balsamic reduction, zucchini and red onion ribbons, and sweet potato fries. Last time Audrey was over for dinner I made pizzas, I had thrown out sweet potato fries as an option and I knew she was sad that they weren’t made in the end so I knew I had to make them tonight.

Q: Do you like cooking dinner for friends? Do you normally split duties or rotate hosting?
Q: Are you a DIY salad dressing person or store bought?

Categories: Running

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Way to go!! Love those fast splits 🙂 I like my long slow runs better and find them to be more beneficial for training, but every once in awhile you just get that need for speed!

  2. Woohoo! YAY for being faster 😀 that’s awesome! Man, you motivate me to run.. I am a big slacker lately 🙂 Hope you have a great time making dinner tonight!

  3. what is the menu for our dinner date when i return?

Trackbacks

  1. Veggie / Vegan Dinner « Food & Fitness
  2. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

