Salsa “Pasta”


When I went to the kitchen to start thinking about dinner last night I realized my groceries were a little off balance. Not the end of the world, just meant I needed to get a little creative. I still have a ton of NoOodles left from the Groupon I did forever ago so I decided to make a dinner with them. What I ended up with was a nice, filling, soupy, salsa, and chicken dinner.

Ingredients
4 oz chicken breast
8oz package of NoOodles
mushrooms
slices red onion
artichoke hearts
garlic
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 cup broth
EVOO
salt
pepper
crushed red pepper

Process
Saute onions, mushrooms, chicken, salt, and pepper over medium heat until chicken is cooked through. Remove chicken from pan. Add in salsa, broth and garlic. Let reduce by about half. Once sauce is at the consistency you want add in NoOodles and chicken, toss. Put in a plate, top with your artichoke hearts and some crushed red pepper. This ended up being almost soup like, yummy, filling, relativity Paleo (NoOodles are just yam flour), and pretty calorie light.photo 1(2)photo 2(2)In other news I accidentally made pie last night. I started with a recipe for Paleo gingerbread cakes and quickly realized that the measurements for the spices were way off. So after adding a tablespoon of ginger, nutmeg, and ground clove I had a big pile of incredibly spicy grossness. So I started to tinker. I added in more almond milk, a banana, some sweetener, and tested a cupcake scoop size in the oven. Still no good. So I added more coconut flour, more almond milk, an egg or two, and another banana. The dough tasted good at that point so I put it in a pie tin and cooked for 30 minutes, like the original recipe said. I added dark chocolate pieces on part of the dough. My roommate gets headaches from chocolate so I decided to leave some so she could have it if she wanted. What came out of the oven was interesting to say the least, nothing like bread for sure. I popped it in the freezer to cool down. An hour or so later I took it out and magically it had the flavor and texture of pumpkin pie. Not what I had been originally hoping for but I’m not going to complain about it.photo 3(2)photo 4(3)Now a little bit on the fitness front. I can’t find my Garmin : ( I used it in NYC on Saturday morning and remember putting it in my coat when I went to retrieve my car on Sunday from the garage. My room is a mess so it may be in there but I have checked my car, my coat, and the bags I brought with me and it appears to have vanished, I even called the hotel and nada!! I’m quite sad about it. I have the charger though which is odd… Wahhh. I also went to the doctors this morning because I had a bump on my lip and was convinced I was dying, yours truly had a pimple : ) I don’t get them often and having one on my lip sent me in a slight tailspin thinking the worst. Besides the good news I baffled the doctors with my pulse! The pulse checker clocked me in at 48 beats per minutes so they rechecked because they thought it was too low but I prevailed, 48 is pretty exciting! A normal heart rate is 60-100 and only super awesome athletes, like me duh, have super awesome low heart rates.

Q: Do you know what your resting heart rate is?
Q: Have you ever gone to the dr thinking the worse to learn you were being a nervous nelly for no reason?

Categories: Food, Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. Wait I need to make that gingerbread cake. I think I might. Today.

  2. I’m normally not nervous when I go to the doctor, in fact I usually get excited to go..ha! I lovee using up food from the pantry yay for this last minute recipe!

  3. 1. I have never accidentally made a pie, ever or on purpose (that I can remember in recent years)! 2. Sorry to hear about your Garmin! That stinks! 3. I have so many pimples you can’t even count them! πŸ™‚

  4. Oooh, Megan.. So sorry for the mixup with the tsp/tbsp.. Hope the “pumpkin pie” was good enough for you to eat at least! x πŸ™‚

  5. That pumpkin pie cookie thing you made looks so good!! I do the same sometimes, totally mess up recipes and then add a few random things and hope for the best! Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t but in your case it looks AWESOME! Hope you find your Garmin – fingers crossed!

Trackbacks

  1. 20min Circuit & Impromptu Dinner Date « Food & Fitness
  2. Slow Run, TSO, More Noms « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

