New York, New York


Hello world, I have missed you! I made the decision to not bring my computer with me to NYC this weekend. It was weird being totally separate from this little blogging family, all my friends were laughing at my obsession with taking pictures of everything, but hey, it happens. The drive was pretty quick and painless and so was finding the hotel. I lucked out and my hotel gave me a discount for the parking garage (25$ for 24 hours), which is great considering that otherwise its $40 for 24 hours. The prices for parking really amazed me all weekend. One hour in a garage is $21, how insane! The view from my hotel room was pretty amazing. IMG_3691[1]After getting in I got ready for dinner and waited for my friend to get out of class. We went to a place called Seven Bar and Grill. I was a waitress back in college and a restaurant I worked at had some of the best olive oil dip for bread, ever. Naturally I requested all of the ingredients to recreate the dip for the bread we were given. To make this beauty you need some olive oil, balsamic, fresh pepper, grated parmesan, and some crushed red pepper. After I was finished concocting the dip we enjoyed some bread and then our appetizer of tuna tar tar arrived. Drool.IMG_3700[1]IMG_3702[1]IMG_3704[1]IMG_3703[1]For dinner we both ordered off of the specials menu. I ended up with one of the most amazing pork shanks ever, it was served with tots and baby bok choy but I opted to go double vegetable. My date got a seafood dish, she loved it but I wasn’t wild about it, in my opinion the lemon juice they used was way to over powering for the fish and there was no balance to the acid. The only picture I snapped of her dish was blurry so I’m not going to bother sharing it, sorry about that! Obviously I was hating on the dish a bit : )IMG_3706[1]IMG_3707[1]We ended up out at some club until 4am (ugh) and asleep shortly after. I woke up at 6am (thank you internal clock) and attempted to sleep until 7:30am. Still half asleep and filled with wine, I went for a 5 mile run around Central Park. I’m not exactly sure why I did this but it happened. I felt pretty horrible until about noon when we finally collected ourselves and left the hotel. We started our day by finding some food. We went to Eataly – amazing collection of an indoor market, meat shop, Italian grocery, and 5 or 6 restaurants. We landed on a meat and cheese standing bar. It was just enough food to put a little something in our bellies without making us feel full because we were walking around.IMG_3716[1]Yes I know, none of this bread and cheese is Paleo. BUT I was in a giant Italian market… how do you tell them no thanks, I don’t eat cheese and bread? The answer is you don’t and you just relax and enjoy yourself! After lunch we walked to the Museum of Sex, crazy experience, if you are old enough you should definitely check it out, Rockefeller Center, and Times Square.IMG_3729[1]After 4 1/2 hours of wandering and playing tourist we finally started on our walk home around 4:30pm and stopped at Baked By Melissa. A cupcake shop of mini (I’m talking the size of a quarter) cupcakes. They were so yummy!! I went for a peanut butter cup (fav), cookie dough, and their snowball special.IMG_3735[1]After a short regroup we decided on sushi for dinner. We landed on Ajisai in the Hell’s Kitchen are of NYC. I ordered seaweed salad, miso soup, and two specialty rolls. The first was the Manhattan – tuna, avocado topped with yellowtail, jalapeño, onion, with jalapeño citrus sauce, I actually thought it was pretty boring. The tuna was great but the yellowtail on top had no flavor. The second roll I picked was the Viking – eel, avocado, crunchy inside, tuna, salmon, yellowtail on the top with spicy sauce, and that one was amazing!IMG_3736[1]IMG_3738[1]IMG_3743[1]So yummy! After dinner I went back to the hotel to get ready for the evening. All of the cheese / bread / everything else non paleo I had been eating, started to catch up to me at this point and I got really bad heart burn / a yucky belly. I sucked it up and went out for a few hours but called it quits at 2am. We didn’t take enough pictures but I think I was semi fake smiling because my heart burn was in full swing and I was sooooo sleepy. I used up my energy supply on Friday!photoI do not know how people stay out until 4am every night in NYC. I was exhausted and booze was the last thing in the world I wanted to be around. I also realized how much I value my space and decided to walk the 2 miles back to my hotel. It was nice to have a little alone time. The street was well lit don’t worry! I did get proposition half a dozen times on the walk though, my favorite “Its 2am in NYC baby, you ready to have some fun” – I started laughing and continued on ha! All in all NYC was a lot of fun and super tiring. I am glad to be back home. I am very happy that I live in DC vs NYC, I really enjoy trees and the suburbs. NYC was too busy for me and while it was a blast I was SO happy to be home. I spent the night cooking (post soon to come) and snuggling with the boy and puppy. Home sweet home.

Q: How was your weekend?

Categories: Random Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 replies

  1. Spent half the weekend debating whether to go to NYC for Christmas! Still up in the air but this post is pushing us for sure…

    • It was crazy in the Rockefeller / Times Square area. The side walk corners were 20+ people deep in all directions, my friends who live there said they have never seen it that bad before. Be careful!

  2. I’m so jealous you went to New York! The view from your hotel is amazing! You inspired my roommate and I to go to New York next weekend during finals week 🙂

  3. Looks like you had an amazing weekend and glad you enjoyed it. I try to not bring my laptop to quick vacations because I’ll find myself just blogging or tweeting or something…LOL and it gives me a nice break too!

  4. I can’t believe you did that run after clubbing! AHHH!! Love the dipping oil combination- I definitely have to try that, I never think to add cheese! I actually almost went out in Manhattan this weekend, but going downtown and back to the suburbs in a night is a pain in the ass so I ended up just eating and decorating my parent’s Christmas tree with them.

    • It was so silly. I don’t get hang overs often any more but I do have the lingering “drunk” if you will. I thought the run/shower/I wasn’t thinking would sober me up. Unfortunately it did not! I could imagine that being horrible! That area is just so crazy busy!

  5. Looks like you had a lot of fun! I’ve been wanting to go to NY nearly my whole life, and what’s funny is I used to be so close, living in Michigan and all. I especially want to go during the holiday season. It seems kinda magical. The tree in Rockefeller Center is gorgeous, as usual. I’d totally visit that sex museum … sounds fascinating!

  6. I would have been whoa scared walking alone with crazies asking me to have fun. HAHA. This sounds fun, but yes VERY busy!! I am not a big party animal these days so my wildest nights involve staying up watching movies or playing games. HA!

    • I was easily the saddest looking person ever on Saturday. My friend took the slow route to college and is in a dorm with girls 18-21 so I felt old and lame. I hid in the hotel for a little to get some quite at one point!

  7. Definitely not as exciting as yours! I was in class all day Sat and Sun : (
    I love NYC this time of year and that dinner looks incredible! There will be plenty of time for Paleo when you get back home…ha ha!

  8. Is that two people doing it in the window in that first picture?

Trackbacks

  1. Citrus Tuna & Bok Choy « Food & Fitness
  2. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

