Citrus Tuna & Bok Choy


After having some yummy sushi in NYC I was inspired to do some rawish cooking of my own. I absolutely adore tuna steaks and it has been forever since I made them. I called the boy on my drive home and he was more than happy to get a tuna dinner made for him! I wanted to serve the tuna with baby bok choy and he offered to pick it up. The grocery store ended up only having bok choy though so we made that work.

Pan-Seared Tuna with Lime Pepper Crust
Ingredients:
2 6 ounce tuna steaks
Zest and juice of 1 lime*
1 teaspoons dried thyme leaves
1/2 teaspoons fresh ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
EVOO
As much bok choy / baby bok choy as you want
*feel free to swap lemon for lime to switch it up!

Process:
Rinse the tuna steaks and pat dry with paper towels. Grate the zest from the lime, cut the lime in half and set aside. In a small bowl, combine lime zest, thyme, salt, and pepper. Rub both sides of the tuna steaks with olive oil. Rub the seasoning mix on the tuna steaks, make sure to coat them well!

Clean the bok choy. I cut the stems and the greens in pieces so it would all fit in the pan, feel free to leave whole. In a large sauté pan add a bit of EVOO and heat on medium, add in bok choy and season to taste with salt and pepper. Cook for 3-5 minutes until you see a slight brown on the greens. Reduce heat to low and lid the pan.

Using a heavy bottomed sauté pan or a cast-iron pan, warm a bit more olive oil. Increase the heat to high and place the tuna in the pan. Sear for 1 minute, then turn over carefully, reducing the heat to medium. Sear for 1 minute to 1.5 minutes. Add bok choy to plate, place a small pat of butter if you wish, place tuna on top, squeeze lime half over tuna, serve lime on side.photo 1(1)While I was cooking up dinner the oven was busy at work making my “lunch meat” for the week. I typically eat salads for lunch because I love getting all the vegetables mid day and I have a weak spot for homemade salad dressings. I have been lazy lately and instead of precooking meat for the salads I have been going to the deli. I mentioned that I am going to be less frugal with my groceries but the deli is just a plain waste of money. I can buy a pound of Boar’s Head for $10 or buy a pound of chicken at the butcher counter for $1.99… you do the math. I set aside a pound of chicken this week to make lunch meat. I did this by marinating the chicken in a ziplock bag for about 20 minutes. The combo I used was: EVOO, red wine vinegar, spicy mustard, garlic, frank’s thick red hot, salt, and pepper. It was so yummy!! Place chicken on a tin foil lined pan (no dishes!!) and bake at 425F for 25 minutes. Let the chicken rest and cool down before you start slicing and dicing.
photo 2(1)After we were done making a mess it was time for dishes. A certain furry decided she would help do dishes and stole the wooden spoon that was used for making risotto. (It was out of a box so no special recipe there and I didn’t make it so nothing to report on it!) After a little coaxing we were able to get the spoon back but it was definitely funny seeing her lunge into the dishwasher. She tried to go for the chef’s knife though so she got booted out of the kitchen. Silly girl.photo 3(1)photo 4(1)

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , ,

2 replies

  1. I loveee bok choy. This was a vegetable that was surprisingly delicious to me!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

