Sweet Tots and Snausage


My run this afternoon was a success. I did 4 miles @ 8:38 rawr! Unfortunately timing forced me to skip over any mini work out I had in mind post run. It’s good to be busy again at work though, it definitely makes the day go by much quicker. Breakfast and lunch were pretty boring today. 3 eggs for breakfast, apple mid morning, and soup with some turkey (shocking) for lunch. Obviously dinner tonight needed to be yummy! I went with hot sausage with mixed veggies.It’s slightly annoying when you read sausage labels in a grocery store. Mine only has one brand that the ingredients are just sausage and spices. Every other brand has sugar and a bunch of other ingredients I can’t pronounce. If you don’t believe me you can read an earlier rant and a great recipe here. I started the sausage whole in the pan and once it looked tough enough to slice I sliced it. That pile of vegetables consists of 1/2 a zucchini, 4 white mushrooms, olive oil, butter, salt, pepper, and dill. I also had some mixed green with soy sauce vinaigrette!

While I was downloading this picture off of my phone I spotted my breakfast from yesterday that I snapped pictures of and wanted to share. I was reading Corrine’s blog Sunday morning and spotted her cooking up some sweet potato homefries. I decided I needed to copy her so I did the same. I cooked up some sausage too, because, well why not.I sliced up my sweet potato super small so it would cook faster. I mixed the potatoes with olive oil, sea salt, pepper, rosemary, and thyme. My dad hijacked the oven I was using half-way through cooking so the time on this is far from accurate. I put them in the oven at 350F for about 15 minutes. Then the oven was stolen. So I put them in a cold oven and set it to convection at 425F and watched them crisp up and pulled them when they were ready. Use your best judgement!

It’s amusing looking at the quality of plate differential between the pictures that were taken at my parents house vs at mine. I am happy to be home but my pictures really appreciate their granite counter tops and designer fashion dish-ware. For in case you think I am crazy compare the first picture in this post to the last. Then compare the first picture to the plate in Thanksgiving and Family, Happy Thanksgiving!!, and Pumpkin GranolaDon’t it always seem to go, that you don’t know what you’ve got till its gone. They paved paradise and introduced dollar store dish-ware.

Q: What is a little luxury you never realized or appreciated until moving out on your own?
Q: Have you managed to shake your Monday Blues if you had any?

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. Wow, I totally haven’t had that sausage in a while. Sorry-super random but now your blog is making me crave it. That stuff is so good!

Trackbacks

  1. Mixing Things Up A Bit « Food & Fitness
  2. The Running Bug « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

