Thanksgiving Practice Run


I spent Friday night updating the work out section of the blog. There is still work to be done but the circuits by time section has a few great work outs already up! I woke up nice and early Saturday morning and went for a 6 1/2 mile bike ride and then to yoga for an hour. It was freezing outside and I REALLY need to get my hands on a headband to cover up my ears! My legs were still pretty sore from my legs work out last week so the biking was anything but “fun”. The rest of the weekend included cooking and meeting a new furry friend. More on that shortly : )

I’m still at the age where I travel to upstate NY to see my parents for Thanksgiving and other major holidays. I thought it would be fun to make my own Thanksgiving dinner in DC, for the inevitable future of having my parents down here for a holiday. I am going to visit Wednesday and decided cooking an entire turkey would be slightly wasteful considering I won’t be around for left overs. I ended up getting a small frozen turkey breast and went to work.


And now for some recipes!

Cheesy Baked Mashed Potatoes (only non Paleo menu item):
I didn’t make this or eat it but heard that it was pretty delicious!
Ingredients
1 bag gold potatoes
Mixed variety shredded cheese
Milk
Green Onions
Salt
Pepper
Process
Bring a large pot of water to boil. Cut potatoes into equal size pieces, these potatoes were peeled and cut in 4 pieces. Boil in salted water for about 20 minutes, until folk tender. In a large bowl mash potatoes and mix in 1/2 a cup of milk, large handful of cheese, green onions, salt, and pepper to taste. Start small with the milk and add more to get to desired consistency. I would recommend keeping the potatoes a bit chunky. Transfer to a casserole bowl and top with cheese. Put on broil for a few minutes, until top is golden. If you do not have a top broil feature (this oven did not) place in a 450 oven for about 5 minutes.

Sweet Potato Mash:
Ingredients
1 1/2 sweet potatoes
1/2 cup chicken stock (or turkey if you have it)
Green Onions
Salt
Pepper
Garlic Powder
Process
Bring a large pot of water to boil. Cut potatoes into equal size pieces, leave the skin on. Boil in salted water for about 20 minutes, until folk tender. In a large bowl mash potatoes and mix in 1/2 cup of stock, green onions, garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste. Start small with the broth and add more to get to desired consistency. I like my mashed potatoes really chunky so I didn’t mash for very long! Serve hot! *This was my first attempt and sweet potato mash, I was in heaven and ate it for dinner, breakfast the next morning and I have turkey and mash for today’s lunch and dinner. I couldn’t be happier.

Roasted Herb Butter Turkey:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. In a large oven safe pan place 1 celery bunch, 2 carrots, and half an onion (all chopped). In a small mixing bowl combine 2 – 3 tbsp room temperature butter, rubbed sage, thyme, and rosemary. Mix up with hands and massage all over turkey. Place the turkey on top of all the veggies skin side up. Cook to an internal temp of 165 – 175 F. The turkey breast I used ended up being 1 big and 2 little pieces and only required about an hour and 15 minutes. Look online for time based on lbs for your turkey! Remove from oven and let turkey rest, tent with tin foil for about 5 – 10 minutes.

Mirepoix Gravy:
Take all of the vegetables and turkey drippings from the pan that the turkey was roasted in and place in a blender. Start blending on high and add additional stock as needed. If you want to thicken the sauce at all add some cornstarch. This is NOT a traditional brown gravy, I loved it though!

Sautéed Green Beans:
In a large saute pan add fresh green beans with butter and garlic. Cook until soft. About 10 minutes. Dinner time!!!!

On to the furry friend. My boyfriend picked up his puppy this weekend! She is a beautiful german shepard and I was lucky enough to hang out with them all day yesterday. Every one say hello to the newest member of our now 3 animal, 2 person, split residency little happy family. This little beauty is only 8 weeks old and already weighs almost 18lbs! She is going to be one big doggy!

Q: Is this your first year cooking Thanksgiving dinner or are you a seasoned veteran?
Q: What is your favorite breed of dog?
Q: Are you travelling or staying put for the Thanksgiving holiday?

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. PUPPPYYY!! SO cutee.

    Also – there is now a pink fleece headband on the back of the couch! I got 3 of them super cheap a little while ago – this one is unused and YOURS. Not the fanciest thing around, but it will keep you warm 🙂

  2. Ooooh that all looks really good! I’m in charge of making the popovers at my thanksgiving feast and I help out with the green beans. Those are the only two dishes I eat soooo…. But that’s exciting that you get to cook. And the puppy is so cute!!!

    • I found a bunch of paleo recipes for my dad to make, he isn’t thriled about it but he will do it. I figured I should at least practice the mashed sweet potatoes so that if he won’t cook extra stuff I can do it sneaky on the side : ) I think I would be awful at making popovers!!

  3. Everything looks so delicious!! Good job, I would probably epically fail at everything! 😀 and yay! for an added family member – SO adorable!

  4. YES to Upstate! LOL, it’s like we are trading places. Love the new workout section. I need to update mine but I’ve been busying writing posts instead…hahaha.

    • Exactly!! And typically people don’t go to the work out tab any way, it only pops up if a google search grabs it, so its lots of work that might not even be appreciated! But it kept me busy! — I just bought some fleece lined leggings in anticipation of the upstate NY runs, ughhhh, bring on the cold!

  5. Gahh that pup is sooo cute!! YAY for a new running partner?! When she’s older maybe haah.

Trackbacks

  1. The $2.99 Diet « Food & Fitness
  2. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

