Paleo Bread Attempt


Let’s start this out with being honest. Not every cooking adventure is a great success. As much as I would love to say that everything that comes out of my kitchen is gold that is not the case. This bread came out with a heavier consistency than I was expecting. It still tastes good and was perfect with two over easy eggs for breakfast this morning, but it is heavier than I was hoping. I will eat it but it will be in baby pieces with breakfast : ) No sandwiches for this gal. I followed this recipe exactly with ingredients, switched up the loaf pan for a 5 inch bottom baking dish and did a bake time of 40 minutes. Something I learned was that when you mix cold eggs in with melted coconut oil it solidifies, I have no clue how to avoid this. If you do please comment and let me know.

Ingredients:
-1/2 Cup Coconut Flour
-1 1/4 Cups Almond Flour
-1/4 Cup Ground Chia Seeds or Flaxseeds
– 5 Eggs
-1/4 Teaspoon Sea Salt
-3 Tablespoons Coconut Oil
-1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
-1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda

Process:
1. Blend all dry ingredients in bowl and all wet ingredients in separate bowl.
2. Combine wet and dry ingredients.
3. Pour into a 7.5 “x 3.5″ loaf pan and smooth the top. *In my case a lovely round correlle
4. Bake at 350 degrees for 40 to 50 minutes.
5. Let cool before slicing.
Q: What is your favorite Paleo bread recipe?

Categories: Food

Tags: , , ,

14 replies

  1. ooh! I think I know how to fix that problem…It’s called tempering… I think you need to add a little bit of the oil to the eggs while whisking and then add a little bit more oil while whisking and then you transfer that whole thing back into the eggs. I think the goal is to slowly add the hot oil to the eggs so the eggs don’t cook. Here’s a post I found on it: http://bakingbites.com/2009/09/how-do-you-temper-eggs/

  2. I think this counts as a Paleo bread. It is super yummy! Almond butter plus bananas are always a great combo!
    http://luvwhatyoudo.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/really-good-chili/

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate & Walnut Paleo Cookie Success | Food & Fitness
  2. Turn that frown upside down | Food & Fitness
  3. Face Lift « Food & Fitness
  4. Early WOD and Friday Ideas « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

