Sweet Potato Slow Cooker Casserole


I mentioned yesterday that I used up some left over sweet potatoes in my breakfast bake. I alluded to using these sweet potatoes in a delicious casserole. Well that casserole is complete and it is time to share! I wish I could take credit for coming up with this meal on my own but I cannot. I found this recipe on Paleo Pot. I will spell out the ingredients and how I did it which was pretty similar but I screwed up one IMPORTANT thing. I forg0t to get bacon at the grocery store. It’s a travesty really.

Ingredients
2 pounds of lean ground beef – I used 1.72lbs because thats what was in the package I bought, I found this to be perfect
1/2 pound of bacon – I left this at the store, do not make the same mistake!!
8 eggs
3 large sweet potatoes
1 large white onion – I used 1/2 of a monster yellow
1 large red onion
Spices: Cayenne, paprika, garlic, black pepper, oregano
1 large deep rimmed skillet or pan
Coconut Oil to grease your slow cooker – I used non-stick spray

Le Process
-> Peel sweet potatoes, microwave for 4 – 5 minutes until softish, CAREFULLY cut into thin strips to mimic lasagna noodles, between Bren and I we sliced a combined 3 fingers (2 of which were mine)
-> Dice bacon and fry until crispy! Set aside for later.
-> Dice your onions into large chunks and add to your pan along with your ground beef. I did this in two different batches, the pan I had at my disposal was not big enough to take on the whole monty.
-> Season your beef as you wish and cook until fully browned and onions are cooked to your liking. I followed the recipe and used a bunch of paprika, black pepper, garlic powder, oregano, and a bit less of cayenne. – I would drain a little bit of the fat out of the pan at this time, mine had a bunch hanging at the bottom of the pot, I was able so easily scoop it out but just a tip!
-> Beat your 8 eggs in a large bowl. Add in the same seasons you used earlier or go wild and mix it up.

Now to Assemble!
Spray you trusty crock pot so none of the goodness gets stuck and for an easy clean up. Start with the potatoes and make a layer on the bottom. Scoop in some of the beef and onion mixture and repeat. Keep the layers of meat smaller than you think you need, one to two scoops of a serving spoon is plenty. Keep going until you run out of meat and end with meat on top. Next take the egg mixture and pour over the top so it gets into all the nooks and crannies. NOTE – As you can see there is no mention of bacon, I would mix the bacon in every aspect of this dish if I were you! Cook this on low for 5 1/2 hours. When your time goes off remove from heat and let sit for 30 minutes. This way the egg can set and you can eat it right away. If you don’t want to eat it right away then let it cool off and throw in the fridge! I reheated this already today for lunch and it was delicious!



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I hope that this recipe will make you realize the endless possibilities of the crock pot and sweet potatoes! I am loving exploring new ways to cook and incorporate them into my food!

On a completely random tangent I also want to share with you what was cooking side by side with this meal. Seeing as it takes 6 hours of cooking we needed lunch! We had extra ground beef so we took a pound of it, browned it with half an onion, cooked with some taco seasoning (very fancy I know), and served it with bib lettuce to make tacos! I also cooked up some mushrooms and chunky garlic to add in. Happy Paleo lunch! My one recommendation for this is to have lots of napkins on hand!

Well that is all for my Sunday cooking adventures! I am holed up inside for the day waiting out hurricane Sandy. We have tons of left overs so I doubt anything fancy will be coming out of the kitchen. If you are a fellow east coaster stay safe and dry! If you are getting a little stir crazy – like I am – remember most apartments have a gym! We went over around 11 this morning and I did intervals for 30 minutes on the treadmill and am feeling way better now. If all else fails jumping jacks, sit ups, push ups, lunges, squats, burpees, and many many more can be done in the comfort of your living room!

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 replies

  1. This looks super duper good…. I love my sweet potatoes and anything with a crock pot – excellent….. It makes cooking so easy peasy!

  2. oh my gosh that is beautiful! I love everything that is sweet potato (and would be just fine to skip the bacon)…ha ha!

  3. Trying This ASAP! Love your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Burgers, WOD Report, Musings | Food & Fitness
  2. Fly Like the Windddd | Food & Fitness
  3. Psyched Out Of My Fanny Pack | Food & Fitness
  4. Crockpotting Obsession « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

