Spicy Italian Sausage and Kale Soup


Sunday was a busy day in the kitchen. On top of the chicken quarters I also continued with the soup theme of the month (paleo and non paleo). Let’s jump right in shall we?

Ingredients
Spicy Italian sausage, removed from case
Medium yellow onion
2 celery stalks
1 or 2 carrots
Baby bella sliced mushrooms
1 medium green bell pepper
Kale
1 medium zucchini squash
8 cups beef broth
EVOO

Process
Add the chopped onion, sausage, a bit of EVOO to a large soup pot over medium heat. Using a wooden spoon break up the sausage and keep stirring until sausage is brown. You don’t need to salt because of the addition of the beef broth and I didn’t even both seasoning the pot because the sausage was so powerful. I did however check all the sausage labels and went for the ONLY company (ridiculous) that didn’t list corn syrup as an ingredient!! All the other packages listed it as second, crazyness. When it comes to the vegetables cut everything into similar sized chunks.

Logan’s Hot Italian Sausage

Because of the massive amounts of vegetables I used I cooked this for another 10-20 minutes. I wanted the vegetables to all get a little softened. Next up is adding the broth. I added in 3 beef bullion cubes and 8 cups of water. Bring the put to a boil and then cover and reduce to low for about 30 minutes. Add in your stemmed and ripped kale and cook for another 10 minutes.
And enjoy!

I maybe had 2 bowls in a row : )

This ended up tasting delicious and it has the perfect kick to it too! If you don’t like spicy I would recommend using a sweet sausage then. The best part about my cooking adventures was that between this soup and the chicken quarters the dishes only amounted to this:
This does not include the pot and pan that I used for the cooking but still, not bad at all for the amount of food that was chopped, cooked, cleaned, and produced.

Once all the cooking was done in my kitchen my stove looked a little like this:
So much food! I had to let everything cool down for a little before I put it in the fridge so I ended up closing up the kitchen so that the fury friends in the apartment couldn’t get to the food.

Not amused

I have never seen Jax steal food but the other fury creature I live with has been stealing food off the counters lately, I figured shutting the doors was the safest bet.

In addition to the soup and chicken my Friday and Saturday were also filled with delicious food!

Saturday ‘brunch’ – balsamic glazed pork chops served with an over easy egg and scrambled eggs with caramelized onions

Saturday soup produce

Veggie, sweet potato, and kale soup with turkey meatballs. Wonderful night with my cousin and her family!

Saturday 2am ‘snack’ – bison hash (aka ground bison) with poached eggs and guac… drool

The beginnings of the scraps to make homemade vegetable stock!

All in all this was a fabulous weekend filled with yoga, family, friends, and a ton of delicious noms!! The best part about it, I ate so much food and am still watching my weight creep down thanks to this little Paleo shift in my eating habits. I’m a believer!

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I’m still waiting on Gidgets blog debut!! 🙂

  2. I love the picture of the puss at the door. So cute. Spicy foods are my favorite!! YAY for your success with Paleo!

  3. omg that soup looks to die for. I need to make it!! Also sounds sooo easy!! YUMMO. So happy you stumbled across my blog because I am already in love with yours!! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. I think I’m getting old : ( | Food & Fitness
  2. A little self indulgence | Food & Fitness
  3. Turn that frown upside down | Food & Fitness
  4. Sweet Tots and Snausage « Food & Fitness
  5. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness
  6. Roasted Rosemary and Lavender Chicken Thigh Quarters « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

