Yeast Free Whole Wheat Pizza


Watch out world, this Italian has learned how to make pizza… it only took a little over 24 years : )

The title gives away what is to come but let me explain myself – A) I try to avoid white flour at all costs, wheat is so much more delicious, B) I’m on a budget and a trip to the store for yeast was out of the question, and C) pizza dough with out yeast is super easy

For this you will need:
Handy dandy kitchenaid mixer
2 1/2 cups wheat flour
2 3/4 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1ish or more cups of water
toppings to your hearts content

Preheat oven to 400F. Mix the dry ingredients, add in 3/4 – 1 cup water. Stir until it forms a ball, add water if needed. Because of the wheat flour I have found I end up using about 1 – 1 1/4 cups of water. Sprinkle your counter with some flour and knead the dough for 3-4 minutes. Roll out the dough into one large or a few mini pizzas. Place dough on a pizza pan and cook for 5 – 10 minutes. Remove and add on toppings and bake for another 10 – 15 minutes.

Once I learned how to make this I went on a little pizza binge… My pizzas varied big time, a few combos I came up with and loved included: marinara and provolone, honey ginger sauce with chicken, asian ginger sauce with spinach and chicken, artichoke spread with corn and chicken, and marinara with garlic and roasted vegetables. The sky is the limit so just pile on what you want!

I have been saying I will make this dough by itself and use as bread but I haven’t gotten around to it. If it was rolled out super thin and cut into square pieces I think it would be perfect for sandwiches. You could even bake in some nuts, seeds, or grains!

                    

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

Trackbacks

  1. Flirting with Fast « Food & Fitness
  2. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

