Not quite running shape


The world is ending. I have my second Tough Mudder this Saturday. Kill me now and PLEASE put me out of my misery. I have been “running” a little the last week or so. 4 miles today, < 3 miles yesterday, soccer thursday, and a 4 mile run sometime before last thursday. They were all horrible. I used to be able to run a 5k in sub 25 minutes… today’s 5k time rang in at… dun dun dunnnnn 27:39 : (

I admittedly have not been running much because I am a total wuss and can not handle the heat or humidity to save my life. I am actually convinced that I handle heat worse than the average Jane. I get hot flashes periodically at work and have a fan to counter act said events. When I step outside in this humidity I feel as though I am surrounded by a wet blanket (thank you CC for that phrase) and that my internal temperature shoots up to about 700 degrees. My breathing is labored and my limbs feel like they belong to a 1200 pound elephant. I used to be able to easy peasy run a 8:20 – 8:45 pace no matter the distance! (My half marathon was a 8:45 average!!) My lazy days were a 9:20 pace, yet today, and every run for the past week it has been a struggle and a half to keep it under a 10 min pace. Now I am not knocking on any one who runs at any of these paces that I’m complaining about but for me it means a decline in my running ability.

Oh another fun side effect of not running… weight gain!! I was looking back and some time in June I posted all excited about breaking a plateau… not so much any more! I have gained a lovely 10lbs in the last 2.5 months. BIG sad face on that one. So no more eating out and back to running. The temperatures should chill out a little in the near future so there is hope! Until then I will keep cross fitting / weight lifting over lunch at work, running on Saturday’s to yoga, soccer once a week, and sneaking in a few more runs during the week before work.

So hopping on the scale set me back on track, eating habits should reflect the amount that you are exerting from exercise. My exercise went down and my eating should have as well : ) I’m not concerned about nixing the weight but it is a wee bit obnoxious. I don’t feel as comfortable in my own skin and to me that is a bigger indicator than a scale. So the game plan is to get those clothes loose again and to be able to start wearing the new stuff I bought in smaller sizes. Hey you need to buy what you want to be able to wear right? I was damn close too!

Have you had a wake up call before? A time when you realized you couldn’t pretend that things were changing? What did you do to get back on track?

Categories: Food, Running

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. There’s that moment when you realize your running shorts are tight. That was my ‘oh dang’ moment. I like to tell myself it happens to everyone…lol.
    You’ve got this! You’re still pretty speedy!!

    • I had my thighs lubed up in Vaseline to nix the chaffing because my long shorts were dirty!! Holy hell, let’s talk about shorts too tight AND sticking haha, I’m the definition of sex appeal, come and get it boys…

  2. Wow, I can totally relate. Between a busy summer and a broken toe, my running has gotten slow and the weight has been rising. I had a total wake up call…read here…

    http://luvwhatyoudo.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/healthy-habits-and-on-we-go/

    Because my clothes are way too tight and looking not so cute. So, I have been focusing on changing my habits for the fall and am hoping to have loose clothes again SOON!

  3. Weather makes all the difference!! All summer, my long run pace has averaged around the 10:45-11 range. The last one I had it was 70 degrees (as opposed to 90) and I had a 10:00 pace! (which is good for me) I am so ready for fall to be here! We don’t get much season change in Texas though. Good luck at your Tough Mudder!!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one hobbling around! Its really obnoxious when my watch is just yelling “you’re slow, go faster” and my legs are screaming and I feel like I’m being suffocated by the air around me! The Mudder was good thanks! I’ll post on that soon!!

Trackbacks

  1. Catching my Eye « Luv What You Do
  2. I’m Alive! | Food & Fitness
  3. One Year Blogaversary – Part II « Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

