Smoothie and Early Morning Running


It is currently 7:45am, I do not have to work today and yet I have already completed a 7 mile run, showered and am now enjoying a delicious breakfast smoothie! Let’s talk about productive! Since coming back from Firefly I have been doing circuit work outs instead of running because the heat and humidity are still holding steady at 100 degrees and 75% +. Not ideal running weather. Perhaps I’m a wuss but so be it. I feel like I’m drowning out there and it is less than pleasant. I feel like I haven’t slept since last Wednesday so after playing a little tennis last night I crashed at 9pm : ) Being the wretched sleeper that I am, I was awake at 5:45am and decided it was a better time than ever to get up and run. The sun rise over the Potomac was beautiful!! Its very serene watching the sun rise behind the Washington Monument and the Capitol Building. I felt pretty good until mile 5 when I hit a nice solid wall. I skipped dinner last night because I was sleepy so I hadn’t eaten since 3ish and hadn’t drank water since about 6. Poor planning I know. I did manage to make it home in one piece though and keep an over all 9 min pace. Not amazing but it will do.

As you can guess my body was dying for some food. I didn’t feel like eating anything warm so I opted for a smoothie. My roommate is always freezing bananas to use in smoothies and I started playing copy cat a few months ago and they are so nice to have laying around the the house! The smoothie went as follows:

Ingredients:
1 frozen banana – I cut mine up and it was about 10 slices, so about 1 large
1 small apple
3 tablespoons egg white
4oz non fat milks

Cut up the apple into baby pieces and throw every one in the blender and go to town on it.

Nutritional Breakdown:

270 calories, 1 gram fat, 60 grams carb, 10 grams protein, 8 grams fiber

Categories: Food, Running

Tags: , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Doesn’t really seem like enough of a breakfast after a mid-distance run and no food since 3pm the day before! Get some bacon down you!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

