Upping the protein


I have realized that my meat intake has been pretty weak lately and I was bugging a friend of mine about wanting my arms to becoming more defined. I mentioned I for the most part have been eating a plant based diet and he scolded me and told me to eat more animal protein. He also said something about amino acids and blah I don’t know. But the gist of the convo was that my grocery bill is about to go up again. It was fun while it lasted : (

I am leaving for Philadelphia again for the rest of the week and managed to eat all my groceries prior to lunch today and had slim pickings to create a protein meal. I ended on some fat free cottage cheese and for the main course I julienned the majority of a cucumber and dumped a can of tuna on it with some sugar free balsamic dressing. This “salad” was 130 calories and 22 grams of protein. I don’t think I could have followed advice any better than that! 

Speaking of meat I went out to an AMAZING dinner last night and ended up with some gazpacho and a fantastic piece of bison that was served with berries, beets and a balsamic glaze! These pictures are just for drooling purposes, I can not take any credit for them.

Yum yum yum. Well on top of this I need to eat meat thing another friend I hit up who has GREAT arms gave me a brutal work out to do tonight and I am about to head up to the roof with a friend to weep publicly as we attempt to slam out this baby:

Set 1:

10 burpees
10 r leg front, 10 r leg back, 10 l leg front, 10 l leg back (25 lb weight counterbalance)
10 burpees
20 squats (30 lb counter)
10 burpees
10 jump squats, 10 knee slaps

REST for 60 seconds

Set 2:

20 pushups
60 second plank
20 triangle pushups
30 second plank right leg up, 30 second plank left leg up
20 spiderman pushups
60 seconds mountain climbers

Set 3:

10lb weights for curls, presses, and flies (it doesn’t seem like a lot at first, but trust me)

10 bicep curls, 10 shoulder presses (arnold style), 10 deltoid flies, 10 tricep dips
10 crunches, 20 bicycles, 10 toe-reaches, 20 bicycles, 10 crunches
20 bicep curls, 20 shoulder presses, 20 deltoid flies, 20 tricep dips
10 crunches, 20 bicycles, 10 toe-reaches, 20 bicycles, 10 crunches
10 burpees
10 pushups (chataranga), 10 pushups (regular)

I’ll report back how I ended up doing but I am assuming it will involve being incredibly sore yesterday.

I was bad and didn’t run Fri, Sat, Sun OR Mon so I went for a 6 mile run yesterday and on the first 3 averaged 8:35 and on the way back 8:15! I was super excited about that. Some ones getting faster…

Q: what is your suggestion for cheap animal based protein sources?

Categories: Food, Running, Workouts

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. You can’t live off protein powder but you can buy a whey isolate w a great profile for less than a dollar a scoop, which is like 23g right there. For more cash you could get a solid vegan powder. They are not to be your only source of protein but they are really convenient for when you have no time, are portable, and don’t fill you up!

    • Awesome! Thanks for the idea! I literally just finished a whey protein id had in the house for over a year, I should get a new one for an added oomph in a smoothie!

Trackbacks

  1. Protein Packed Breakfast Sammy | Food & Fitness
  2. Total Weak Sauce | Food & Fitness
  3. Adobo Lime Tilapia & Habanero Vegetables | Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

