Day 2 – on the road eats


I was swamped yesterday at work so food was the last thing on my mind BUT I still managed to find some yummy things for when I did realize it had been a few too many hours since the last time I ate. For breakfast I went to a fresh food market and grabbed some hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit and pistachios for later in the day! I made it through half of the fruit, had one full egg, one egg white and put the rest in the fridge for later in the week.

2pm rolled around and I realized if I had any intention of running after work (which I did) I would need to fuel up a bit. I went for tofu spring rolls and an arugula salad with craisons and sliced almonds. How pretty!

Now the super exciting meal I had was dinner. I have noticed this place called Fuel a few times in passing. The store front boasts that everything on the menu is under 500 calories. I was in the mood for something light and healthy so I headed that way post run. (5.53 miles / 46 min!) This restaurant was fricken AWESOME. If you are in the area check out the menu for sure and stop by! I had been craving a smoothie so I was thrilled they had a juice bar! I ended up starting out dinner with an orange banana blast smoothie, it had OJ, banana, rasberries and non fat yogurt. The menu claims 200 calories! It totally hit the spot too, plus I could tell that there was no sugar or any extra filler junk added in!

For dinner I landed on the roasted portobello and eggplant wheat bread panini with roasted red peppers, olive tapenade, provolone cheese and a garlic spread. It came with some mesclun greens with balsamic vinegar as well. This thing was fricken awesome. The menu says only 250 calories and 9 grams of protein! Holla!


This again was amazing, I know I’m sounding like a broken record but the food was just wonderful. I also had green tea because I was cold for some reason and my bill was only $15!! All in all this was a good day for on the road food and I ended the day feeling great. I have noticed that if you aren’t careful the big thing that will get you in the sodium! Breakfast and lunch had no sodium that I know of (the dressing I suppose for the salad) and I’m optimistic that dinner wasn’t too overloaded. I am thinking I’ll be back at Fuel for some more meals this week. The rest of the menu looks way too good to not go back…

Categories: Food, Running

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. OMG that panini sounds so good and for only 250 cals how can you go wrong! That is def good on the road food!

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

