My worst run ever & the best vegetables I have ever eaten


My body is officially shutting down from the double on Tuesday and my run on Wednesday, sigh. I tried to go for a run yesterday and lasted all of oh FOURTEEN minutes. Woof. I covered 1.5 miles and burned 180 calories, better than nothing right? My legs literally felt worse than the did in the last mile of my half marathon. What the french toast is up with that? But whatever, I will live. I headed up to my apartment gym to lift and feel a little better about myself after the really poor performance I just had. I ended up getting a really great lift in and was using heavier weights than I normally do so I gave myself a small pat on the back.

Now on to the good stuff, food!

Let’s start with some salads I made earlier this week. First up is a tofu masterpiece I crafted. For this baby I used mesclun greens, tomatoes, avocado, cucumber, RF cheese, mushrooms and tofu. The mushrooms and tofu were thrown in a saute pan and cooked in EVOO with a touch of garlic. Salt and pepper were also clearly present. For the dressing I used a kraft low sodium fat free italian. I rarely ever buy dressings but it was on sale and yours truly was feeling a wee bit lazy…

Next up is one of the fruitiest, most fantabulous salads I have made to date! For this babe you will need: 1 small banana, 1 small peach, 1 small apple, spinach and your favorite berry dressing. Alright alright, my apple wasn’t that small.

drool…

Moving on to last nights dinner. On the menu was panko crusted salmon, jazzed up couscous and to die for roasted vegetables! For starters preheat the over to 425 degrees fahrenheit. Pots and pans you will need for this meal include: 1 small pot for the couscous, a medium nonstick pan for sauteing garlic, onions and spinach, 1 tin foil lined baking sheet for vegetables and one over safe frying pan for the salmon (salmon instructions can be found here).

Game, set, match, GO.

Out of the spice cabinet we will need:

Extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
Garlic with rosemary oil
Balsamic vinegar
Tarragon Shallot Citrus Seasoning
Sea salt
Pepper

Next up some vegetables, I used: 1 large red bell pepper, 1 container of baby bella mushrooms and 1 med/large sweet potato.

Cut every one up so they are about the same size, it is okay for the potatoes to be smaller because they take longer to cook. Next up we need to add the seasoning. I actually had a friend do this as a learning activity and my instructions went as follows: drizzle rosemary oil until every one looks to be covered, add half as much balsamic, healthy amount of salt, not so much pepper and enough tarragon citrus so that all the pieces look to be equally bathed. Got it? Good! Now with clean hands mix every one in the bowl. Spread evenly on lined baking sheet and pop into the oven. Set the timer for 15 minutes and go sit on the porch with some wine…

And we are back! Give the vegetables a good stir at the 15 minutes mark, these should start to smell awesome right now. For however much couscous you are making bring to a boil double the amount of water in your small pot. In your medium saute pan get some EVOO and sliced onions going, cook until they start to brown and turn off the heat. Now is when you would start making the salmon. Once the salmon has finished on the stove and heads to the oven give the vegetables another mix up while you are in there. Timer goes off, so does the oven, out comes the fish and on goes the lid  for 5 minutes. Once the salmon is out continue to let the vegetables hang in the oven while you finish up your couscous.

To finish the couscous – once the water is brought to a boil, salt it, mix in couscous, remove from heat, cover with lid and let sit. Turn back on the burner with your onions and throw in a good handful of spinach and some minced garlic. Cook until the spinach is wilted and then add to the couscous and mix. Grab your vegetables out of the oven, they should look like this:

Oh em gee, I know. It was my reaction too, so I immediately had to take a taste, let me tell you they are fricken FANTASTIC. Now load your plate up and go back to the balcony with more wine and enjoy, please.

Last but not least I have two more things to touch on briefly. First… my beautiful cousin and her husband had a BEAUTIFUL baby girl last night and mom and baby are doing great and I am an aunt!!! I can not wait until Mom and baby are ready for visits, she is easily the cutest nugget I have ever seen.

Finally, for those of you out there who play word with friends – I think we should start a revolution:

Um, jean shorts are jorts and it most certainly is a word.

Categories: Food, Running

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Ha ha!
    Love words with friends and I try EVERY single option out there!

    Your fresh salads look amazing!!!

  2. Oh yummy, that all looks awesome, making me hungry! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Paleo 1 month challenge | Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

