Solitary, just a girl with her thoughts… And an iPad


Best commercial ever – hence the name of this post.

For being in an IT field my personal gadgets are severely lacking. I have a super nice Mac for work that died today. Awful I know! I will be up and running again for work tomorrow on my old computer luckily, it seems as though my hard drive is still fine which is a small light at the end of the tunnel. None the less I am computerless until tomorrow which is very sad. I have a Toshiba that is approximately the same age as the dinosaurs and takes almost 30 minutes to turn on and get logged in. Now if you are feeling over zealous and decide you want to do anything with said machine you will need to give up at least the next few hours of your life. So she is out of the question. So I come to you live from my iPad, that is also works property. Sigh.

In a fun twist of fate my roommate ended up with double groceries this week and has decided to share! She gets a box of beautiful organic fruits and vegetables, sometimes dairymites too, delivered weekly to our apartment. The apartment complex screwed up yesterday and said her box never came so she told her provider and they delivered another one today. I double checked with the package people and found her original box so our fridge is full!

20120412-154910.jpg

What I ended up getting out of this sweet mix up is some bananas, a head of cabbage and a head of broccoli! First order of business was obviously to make banana bread! There were actually 3 bananas in the house from last week so it was the perfect way to use those up now that the are about 10+ more in the house. I did some hunting online and rested on a combination of recipes and it came out pretty good.

Ingredients:
3 over ripe bananas
1/2 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup all purpose white flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mash the bananas in a bowl. Add in sugar and keep mixing. Next add in the eggs and vanilla and mix until nice and liquidy. Add in the dry indigents and mix until everything is incorporated. Bake at 325 F for an hour, or until tooth pick comes out clean. If I made this again and wasn’t just trying to use up stuff around the house I definitely would had added in some walnuts and a bit of applesauce to add a little more moisture into the bread. Still good though!

20120412-161449.jpg

20120412-161456.jpg

Nom nom nom. Next up is the broccoli, I’m thinking this will end up being a bake of sorts. Something with broccoli, chicken, cheddar cheese and whatever else I can find in the house. Suggestions are welcome and highly encouraged!!

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. I love your iPad’s autocorrect – I didn’t realize I get dairymites delivered to the apartment!! 🙂 I’m glad I have tomorrow off from work – I’m going to need the whole day to wash all my kale!

  2. This is awesome! Also, I just love the lay-out of your blog. Nice and clean without being cold. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Brekki | Food & Fitness
  2. Quick Stir Fry and Coleslaw | Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

