Stuffed Chicken & Couscous


This recipe was inspired by an email I got yesterday from allrecipes.com, it was called Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups. My Only problem with this recipe was the 33 grams of fat and the fact that it called for mayonaise, which I don’t even keep in the house because I don’t use it. Who needs mayonaise when you have such a variety of mustards?? Not mustards I have about 3 on hand minimum at all times.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Start with the couscous before anything, bring equal parts of water and couscous to a boil and reduce to a simmer and cover until water is absorbed ~ 10-15 minutes.

Meanwhile take a 3 – 4 oz chicken breast and pound it out so it is nice and thin. Make sure to cover with saran wrap, wax paper or parchment paper so you don’t have chicken love flying around your kitchen. Gross.

On the flattened chicken breast place your favorite cheese and veggie inside. The only items I had in the house were peas and my roommate donated some Jarlsberg cheese to me because she is an angel! Then sprinkle on your favorite seasoning blend. I went for a Tuscany Blend I’ve been into lately. Suggestion – next time I make this I think I’m going to use feta, regular or if I can find a basil or Mediterranean blend, and asparagus.

Line an oven safe pan / bowl / whatever with tine foil. I don’t like doing dishes so I am going to assume you are like me. Next carefully roll your chicken up and place on the tin foil seam down. Sprinkle with your favorite bread crumbs (I used whole grain) and some more of whatever spice blend you put on the inside (I did the Tuscany Blend again).

Put the chicken in the oven for about 25 minutes. I pulled mine out with about 3 minutes left because it looked done. I have mentioned earlier that I am no good as cooking rice, couscous, or anything really that needs to have a lid on it to absorb water because I always peak. So at this point I went and took a shower so that the kitchen could do its thang. Plus I was in a rush to get out of the house so I was multi tasking!

When I returned to the kitchen my couscous was done and the chicken had a few more minutes left, perfect right? I added the extra peas I had to the couscous so as not to be wasteful : ) I then added in some seasoned salt, garlic powder and fresh cracked pepper.

Yum! This ended up coming out super yummy. I think if I were to do anything differently with the cooking I may have tented the chicken for the first 15 minutes and then uncovered the last 5-10 minutes. The chicken was not dry by any means but I think it could have been even jucier. I’m assuming that is why the original recipe called for mayonnaise.

I posted earlier this week about how I eat the same thing for weeks at a time and I finally took a picture before diving in this morning. Fact – I have eaten this every day for 2 weeks now. NOM.

 

In running news, yesterday I mentioned I was going to be doing my first tempo run! The run was supposed to be a mile warm up, 4 miles @ 8:50 pace and then a mile cool down. Well I ended up feeling fantastic while I was running so I bumped up the pace and tacked on an extra mile. I did the warm up and cool down miles at a 9:42 pace and then 5 miles at 8:35. So my total for the week so far (thanks to daily mile) is at 16 miles. I will be doing 2-3 miles & lifting today, lifting Saturday and then 10 miles Sunday so it will be a 28 – 29 mile week. Which is great because I’d been slacking last week and only did 18. Oh fun fact, I’m down another pound! Go meeeeee. San Juan here I come!

Categories: Food, Half Marathon Training, Running, Tough Mudder Progress

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Ohhhh snaaaapp!! Watch outttt you are on fire!! Awesome run!! It must be this awesome food you’re eating. I hate hate mayo and never keep it in my house either, it repulses me. Mustard for the win.

  2. I miss home cooked food q.q

    Good luck on the run. I have my first 10-miler tomorrow

  3. Yah, congrats on being down another pound!

Trackbacks

  1. Delicious Salmon, as promised | Food & Fitness

Don't be shy... You know you wanna...

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Food & Fitness

foodies and fitness addicts are one in the same

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Librarian. Dreamer. Wife & Runner.

Let me live, love, and say it well in good sentences. - Sylvia Plath

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Change of Pace

Chronicles of my passion for running, fitness & adventure

Run Like a Grl

Rock the run

MJ Runs

It's more than just a workout, it's a necessity.

